Active Report Report ID: EDU-127060-2026

University of Denver

Denver, CO 80208

Acceptance rate77.81%Broad access
Tuition$61,398Published sticker
Avg. net price$36,131After aid
Graduation rate75.60%150% time
Median salary$71,15510yr post-entry

About University of Denver

University of Denver is a private research university in Denver, Colorado, serving roughly 6,025 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 77.81% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $71,155 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of Denver charges about 2.1× the national private non-profit median tuition ($61,398).
  • Versus the Colorado median, sticker tuition is about 6.2×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 75.60%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $71,155.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of Denver is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 392% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

University of Denver awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 117 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of Denver$61,398$36,1311
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Colorado (state median)$9,958$12,04543
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 41% below published tuition at University of Denver

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of Denver's average net price ($36,131) is 41% below published tuition ($61,398).
  • University of Denver charges about 2.1× the national private non-profit median tuition ($61,398).
  • Versus the Colorado median, sticker tuition is about 6.2×.
Published sticker

University of Denver tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $61,398

Finding University of Denver charges about 2.1× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $61,398. That is about 2.1× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Colorado median ($9,958), sticker tuition is about 6.2×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 5.2×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of Denver versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of Denver versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of Denver is $36,131.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $36,131 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $24,086 above the Colorado median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $16,078 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway University of Denver’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 41% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

University of Denver: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Denver—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$61,398

Avg. net price

$36,131

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$20,097
$30,001–$48,000$16,211
$48,001–$75,000$22,940
$75,001–$110,000$31,759
$110,001+$47,222

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $245,592. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention88.9%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$57,118Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 11% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1355
  • Midpoint ACT: 29

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of Denver a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Denver is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Denver.

Campus

Location

Denver, CO

City / state

ZIP
80208
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 1.8× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Rocky Mountains
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

6,025

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
7,522
Graduate
6,199
Full-time share
95%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$21,844

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
14.25%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$144,524Estimated 4-year total cost
$36,131Average annual net price (after aid)
$245,5924-year tuition
$17,759Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,000Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$80,157Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$320,628Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Denver.

Financial Aid by Income Level

14.25% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
27.90% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Denver was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Denver in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$40,707$40,707$29,362
2014$42,090$42,090$29,771
2015$44,178$44,178$28,839
2016$46,422$46,422$29,453
2017$48,669$48,669$32,174
2018$50,556$50,556$28,991
2019$52,515$52,515$32,361
2020$53,775$53,775$33,830
2021$54,819$54,819$32,618
2022$56,439$56,439$34,737
2023$59,340$59,340$36,037

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

77.81%Acceptance rate
19,214Total applicants
13,679Students admitted
1,458First-time students enrolled
10.66%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1355SAT average
29ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.60Estimated median GPA
3.5–3.7Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Denver reported total enrollment of about 6,025 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 45% male and 55% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (66.9%), Hispanic or Latino (14.4%), and Two or More Races (6.4%). About 14.25% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 19.0% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

95.4% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Denver in 2024 is 6,025 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 7,522 students. Graduate enrollment is about 6,199 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

88.9%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

66.9%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian66.9%
  • Hispanic or Latino14.4%
  • Two or More Races6.4%
  • Asian3.8%
  • Black or African American3.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien2.9%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.5%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

66.30% 100% Completion Time

75.60% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 66.30% of students graduating from University of Denver completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Social Work: 12% male / 88% female
  • Business/Commerce, General: 53% male / 47% female
  • Law: 35% male / 65% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

3,115White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian3,115
  • Hispanic or Latino668
  • Black or African American220
  • Two or More Races220
  • Asian195
  • American Indian or Alaska Native19
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander4

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Denver graduates earn a median of $71,155 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Denver.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $71,155. Median federal loan debt: $21,844. Average net price used in cost models: $36,131.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Denver graduates report median earnings of $71,155 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

392%Modeled return on investment
$21,844Median student debt
$71,155Median annual earnings (10 years)
30.70%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.1 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Denver.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (117 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Social Work 590
  2. Law 233
  3. Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy, General 185
  4. Information Science/Studies 134

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Denver.

Employment Outcomes

$71,155Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$57,118Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$63,910Median earnings (8 years after entry)
88.11%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Denver graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Denver—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$1.02B

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $990.3M

Year change: $32.4M

  • Colorado median 65× the median ($15.8M)
  • Rocky Mountains median 53× the median ($19.5M)
  • U.S. median 39× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $91,922

  • Colorado median 16× the median ($5,882)
  • Rocky Mountains median 8.9× the median ($10,274)
  • U.S. median 7.6× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 53.0%
    • Colorado median 14.9 pp below median (67.9%)
    • Rocky Mountains median 20.3 pp below median (73.3%)
    • U.S. median 5.0 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $13,010
    • Colorado median 1.8× the median ($7,318)
    • Rocky Mountains median 1.7× the median ($7,458)
    • U.S. median 1.7× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $19,940
    • Colorado median 3.0× the median ($6,731)
    • Rocky Mountains median 2.9× the median ($6,852)
    • U.S. median 2.7× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of Denver at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Denver

Denver, CO 80208 · Private Non-profit · Rocky Mountains

University of Denver is a private non-profit institution in Denver, CO, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.

Tuition$61,398
Avg. net price$36,131
Enrollment6,025
Acceptance rate77.81%
Completion (150%)75.60%
Average SAT1355
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Social WorkBusiness/Commerce, GeneralLaw
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian66.9%
Hispanic or Latino14.4%
Two or More Races6.4%
Nearby

Schools near University of Denver

Other campuses in Denver, CO when available, plus nearby institutions in Colorado.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Colorado, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Denver located?

University of Denver is located in Denver, CO.

What is University of Denver's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of Denver is 77.8% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 19,214 applicants and 13,679 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of Denver's tuition?

University of Denver tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $61,398 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $36,131 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of Denver cost?

Reported tuition is $61,398 and average net price is $36,131 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $17,759 annually.

Why is University of Denver's net price so much lower than tuition?

At University of Denver, published tuition is $61,398 while average net price is $36,131—about 41% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains University of Denver's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($36,131), completion (75.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($71,155). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of Denver?

University of Denver reports undergraduate enrollment of about 7,522 students, White (66.9%), Hispanic or Latino (14.4%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of Denver?

About 19.0% of students at University of Denver are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for University of Denver?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of Denver reports midpoint SAT about 1355 and midpoint ACT about 29.

What do graduates of University of Denver earn?

Median earnings are $57,118 six years after entry and $71,155 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Denver?

The 150%-time completion rate is 75.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of Denver students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $21,844.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.