Active Report Report ID: EDU-141839-2026

University of Hawaii Maui College

Kahului, HI 96732-1617

Tuition$3,284Published sticker
Avg. net price$8,061After aid
Graduation rate27.75%150% time
Median salary$34,45310yr post-entry
ROI969%10yr vs net cost

About University of Hawaii Maui College

University of Hawaii Maui College is a public community college in Kahului, Hawaii, enrolling about 1,700 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $8,061 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $3,284. Student demographics in federal data include Asian (31.9%) and Two or More Races (27.6%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • University of Hawaii Maui College charges about 0.6× the national public median tuition ($3,284).
  • Versus the Hawaii median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
  • Average net price runs below the Hawaii median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 27.75%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $34,453.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of Hawaii Maui College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 969% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of Hawaii Maui College$3,284$8,0611
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Hawaii (state median)$7,107$8,55616
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is University of Hawaii Maui College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of Hawaii Maui College charges about 0.6× the national public median tuition ($3,284).
  • Versus the Hawaii median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
  • Average net price runs below the Hawaii median net price.
Published sticker

University of Hawaii Maui College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $3,284

Finding University of Hawaii Maui College charges about 0.6× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $3,284. That is about 0.6× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Hawaii median ($7,107), sticker tuition is about 0.5×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.3×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of Hawaii Maui College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of Hawaii Maui College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of Hawaii Maui College is $8,061.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $8,061 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $494 below the Hawaii median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $6,910 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At University of Hawaii Maui College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

University of Hawaii Maui College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Hawaii Maui College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$3,284

Out-of-state tuition

$8,420

Avg. net price

$8,061

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$7,386
$30,001–$48,000$6,194
$48,001–$75,000$9,388
$75,001–$110,000$9,119
$110,001+$14,937

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $13,136. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

$28,263Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is University of Hawaii Maui College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Hawaii Maui College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Hawaii Maui College.

Campus

Location

Kahului, HI

City / state

ZIP
96732-1617
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 0.5× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Larger Programs

Size

Enrollment

1,700

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
3,913
Full-time share
35%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$13,040

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
20.55%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$32,244Estimated 4-year total cost
$8,061Average annual net price (after aid)
$13,1364-year in-state tuition
$33,6804-year out-of-state tuition
$22,501Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,360Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$27,145Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$108,580Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Hawaii Maui College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

20.55% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
4.34% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Hawaii Maui College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Hawaii Maui College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$2,670$7,422$6,706
2014$2,862$7,710$7,156
2015$3,006$7,998$6,360
2016$3,150$8,286$8,772
2017$3,158$8,294$10,446
2018$3,218$8,354$10,139
2019$3,278$8,414$9,816
2020$3,278$8,414$11,312
2021$3,278$8,414$8,642
2022$3,284$8,420$9,003
2023$3,284$8,420$9,421

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Hawaii Maui College reported total enrollment of about 1,700 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 34% male and 66% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Asian (31.9%), Two or More Races (27.6%), and Hispanic or Latino (17.1%). About 20.55% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 49.8% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

35.1% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Hawaii Maui College in 2024 is 1,700 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 3,913 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

31.9%Asian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Asian31.9%
  • Two or More Races27.6%
  • Hispanic or Latino17.1%
  • White or Caucasian13.5%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander6.1%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.9%
  • Black or African American0.9%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.8%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

7.69% 100% Completion Time

27.75% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 7.69% of students graduating from University of Hawaii Maui College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 30% male / 70% female
  • Culinary Arts & Related Services: 42% male / 58% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 8% male / 92% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

173Asian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Asian173
  • Two or More Races98
  • White or Caucasian53
  • Hispanic or Latino50
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander20
  • Black or African American0
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Hawaii Maui College graduates earn a median of $34,453 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Hawaii Maui College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $34,453. Median federal loan debt: $13,040. Average net price used in cost models: $8,061.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Hawaii Maui College graduates report median earnings of $34,453 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

969%Modeled return on investment
$13,040Median student debt
$34,453Median annual earnings (10 years)
37.85%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.8 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Hawaii Maui College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (21 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Culinary Arts & Related Services 48
  2. Building Construction Technology/Technician 15
  3. Natural Sciences 11

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Hawaii Maui College.

Employment Outcomes

$34,453Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$28,263Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$32,572Median earnings (8 years after entry)
74.24%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Hawaii Maui College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Hawaii Maui College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$381,380

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $353,663

Year change: $27,717

  • Hawaii median 0.01× the median ($40M)
  • Far West median 0.02× the median ($16.8M)
  • U.S. median 0.01× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $330

  • Hawaii median 0.11× the median ($3,124)
  • Far West median 0.05× the median ($7,260)
  • U.S. median 0.03× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 50.0%
    • Hawaii median 13.6 pp below median (63.6%)
    • Far West median 4.3 pp above median (45.7%)
    • U.S. median 8.0 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,124
    • Hawaii median near the median ($10,124)
    • Far West median 1.1× the median ($9,635)
    • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $24,155
    • Hawaii median 1.8× the median ($13,771)
    • Far West median 3.4× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 3.3× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of Hawaii Maui College at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Hawaii Maui College

Kahului, HI 96732-1617 · Public · Far West

University of Hawaii Maui College is a public institution in Kahului, HI, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Larger Programs.

Tuition$3,284
Avg. net price$8,061
Enrollment1,700
Completion (150%)27.75%
Pell Grant share20.55%
First-generation49.8%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesCulinary Arts & Related ServicesRegistered Nursing/Registered Nurse
Largest enrollment groups
Asian31.9%
Two or More Races27.6%
Hispanic or Latino17.1%
Nearby

Schools near University of Hawaii Maui College

Other campuses in Kahului, HI when available, plus nearby institutions in Hawaii.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within Hawaii, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Hawaii Maui College located?

University of Hawaii Maui College is located in Kahului, HI.

What is University of Hawaii Maui College's tuition?

University of Hawaii Maui College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $3,284 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $8,061 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of Hawaii Maui College cost?

Reported tuition is $3,284 and average net price is $8,061 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $22,501 annually.

What explains University of Hawaii Maui College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($8,061), completion (27.8% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($34,453). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of Hawaii Maui College?

University of Hawaii Maui College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 3,913 students, Asian (31.9%), Two or More Races (27.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of Hawaii Maui College?

About 49.8% of students at University of Hawaii Maui College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of University of Hawaii Maui College earn?

Median earnings are $28,263 six years after entry and $34,453 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Hawaii Maui College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 27.8% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of Hawaii Maui College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $13,040.

Is University of Hawaii Maui College public or private?

University of Hawaii Maui College is a public institution located in Kahului, HI.

Is University of Hawaii Maui College an HBCU?

No. University of Hawaii Maui College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is University of Hawaii Maui College a tribal college?

No. University of Hawaii Maui College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.