Active Report Report ID: EDU-219383-2026

University of Sioux Falls

Sioux Falls, SD 57105-1699

Acceptance rate82.89%Broad access
Tuition$21,750Published sticker
Avg. net price$21,383After aid
Graduation rate62.91%150% time
Median salary$54,52110yr post-entry

About University of Sioux Falls

University of Sioux Falls is a private research university in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, enrolling about 1,218 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 82.89% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $54,521 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of Sioux Falls charges 26% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($21,750).
  • Versus the South Dakota median, sticker tuition is about 2.5×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 62.91%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $54,521.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of Sioux Falls is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 537% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of Sioux Falls$21,750$21,3831
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
South Dakota (state median)$8,845$15,91119
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 2% below published tuition at University of Sioux Falls

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of Sioux Falls's average net price ($21,383) is 2% below published tuition ($21,750).
  • University of Sioux Falls charges 26% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($21,750).
  • Versus the South Dakota median, sticker tuition is about 2.5×.
Published sticker

University of Sioux Falls tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $21,750

Finding University of Sioux Falls charges 26% below the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $21,750. That is 26% below the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the South Dakota median ($8,845), sticker tuition is about 2.5×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 1.8×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of Sioux Falls versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of Sioux Falls versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of Sioux Falls is $21,383.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $21,383 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $5,472 above the South Dakota median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $3,335 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway University of Sioux Falls’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 2% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

University of Sioux Falls: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Sioux Falls—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$21,750

Avg. net price

$21,383

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$18,145
$30,001–$48,000$17,804
$48,001–$75,000$17,992
$75,001–$110,000$21,375
$110,001+$24,038

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $87,000. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention74.5%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$46,712Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 15% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of Sioux Falls a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Sioux Falls is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Sioux Falls.

Campus

Location

Sioux Falls, SD

City / state

ZIP
57105-1699
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 18% above the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Plains
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Small Programs

Size

Enrollment

1,218

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,361
Graduate
209
Full-time share
92%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$23,249

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
28.84%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$85,532Estimated 4-year total cost
$21,383Average annual net price (after aid)
$87,0004-year tuition
$9,270Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,000Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$32,020Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$128,080Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Sioux Falls.

Financial Aid by Income Level

28.84% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
67.01% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Sioux Falls was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Sioux Falls in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$24,550$24,550$19,372
2014$25,480$25,480$19,267
2015$26,240$26,240$20,345
2016$27,160$27,160$20,650
2017$27,980$27,980$20,014
2018$18,280$18,280$20,989
2019$18,910$18,910$19,893
2020$19,520$19,520$21,662
2021$19,900$19,900$21,076
2022$20,290$20,290$20,959
2023$20,740$20,740$20,874

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

82.89%Acceptance rate
2,478Total applicants
2,034Students admitted
310First-time students enrolled
15.24%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Sioux Falls reported total enrollment of about 1,218 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 39% male and 61% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (75.5%), Hispanic or Latino (6.9%), and Two or More Races (5.8%). About 28.84% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 24.7% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

92.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Sioux Falls in 2024 is 1,218 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,361 students. Graduate enrollment is about 209 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

74.5%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

75.5%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian75.5%
  • Hispanic or Latino6.9%
  • Two or More Races5.8%
  • Black or African American4.7%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown3.5%
  • Asian1.8%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.1%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.3%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

49.15% 100% Completion Time

62.91% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 49.15% of students graduating from University of Sioux Falls completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business Administration and Management, General: 57% male / 43% female
  • Psychology, General: 14% male / 86% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 13% male / 87% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

406White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian406
  • Two or More Races22
  • Hispanic or Latino19
  • Black or African American16
  • Asian12
  • American Indian or Alaska Native5
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Sioux Falls graduates earn a median of $54,521 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Sioux Falls.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $54,521. Median federal loan debt: $23,249. Average net price used in cost models: $21,383.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Sioux Falls graduates report median earnings of $54,521 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

537%Modeled return on investment
$23,249Median student debt
$54,521Median annual earnings (10 years)
42.64%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.3 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Sioux Falls.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (45 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Sioux Falls.

Employment Outcomes

$54,521Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$46,712Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$51,245Median earnings (8 years after entry)
95.43%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Sioux Falls graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Sioux Falls—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$35.2M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $32M

Year change: $3.2M

  • South Dakota median near the median ($34M)
  • Plains median 1.5× the median ($24.1M)
  • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $25,555

  • South Dakota median near the median ($25,074)
  • Plains median 1.7× the median ($15,020)
  • U.S. median 2.1× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • South Dakota median 34.3 pp above median (65.7%)
    • Plains median 35.3 pp above median (64.7%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,056
    • South Dakota median near the median ($7,234)
    • Plains median near the median ($7,194)
    • U.S. median 0.93× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,358
    • South Dakota median 0.85× the median ($7,480)
    • Plains median 0.78× the median ($8,150)
    • U.S. median 0.87× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of Sioux Falls at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Sioux Falls

Sioux Falls, SD 57105-1699 · Private Non-profit · Plains

University of Sioux Falls is a private non-profit institution in Sioux Falls, SD, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Small Programs.

Tuition$21,750
Avg. net price$21,383
Enrollment1,218
Acceptance rate82.89%
Completion (150%)62.91%
Pell Grant share28.84%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business Administration and Management, GeneralPsychology, GeneralRegistered Nursing/Registered Nurse
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian75.5%
Hispanic or Latino6.9%
Two or More Races5.8%
Nearby

Schools near University of Sioux Falls

Other campuses in Sioux Falls, SD when available, plus nearby institutions in South Dakota.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within South Dakota, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Sioux Falls located?

University of Sioux Falls is located in Sioux Falls, SD.

What is University of Sioux Falls's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of Sioux Falls is 82.9% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 2,478 applicants and 2,034 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of Sioux Falls's tuition?

University of Sioux Falls tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $21,750 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $21,383 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of Sioux Falls cost?

Reported tuition is $21,750 and average net price is $21,383 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,270 annually.

Why is University of Sioux Falls's net price so much lower than tuition?

At University of Sioux Falls, published tuition is $21,750 while average net price is $21,383—about 2% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains University of Sioux Falls's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($21,383), completion (62.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($54,521). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of Sioux Falls?

University of Sioux Falls reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,361 students, White (75.5%), Hispanic or Latino (6.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of Sioux Falls?

About 24.7% of students at University of Sioux Falls are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of University of Sioux Falls earn?

Median earnings are $46,712 six years after entry and $54,521 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Sioux Falls?

The 150%-time completion rate is 62.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of Sioux Falls students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $23,249.

Is University of Sioux Falls public or private?

University of Sioux Falls is a private nonprofit institution located in Sioux Falls, SD.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.