South Dakota State University
Brookings, SD 57007-1898
About South Dakota State University
South Dakota State University is a public research university in Brookings, South Dakota, serving roughly 9,198 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 98.34% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $55,070 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- South Dakota State University charges 69% above the national public median tuition ($9,299).
- Versus the South Dakota median, sticker tuition is 5% above.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 62.35%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $55,070.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at South Dakota State University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 594% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
South Dakota State University awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 110 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| South Dakota State University | $9,299 | $19,841 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| South Dakota (state median) | $8,845 | $15,911 | 19 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is South Dakota State University really?
Key findings
- South Dakota State University charges 69% above the national public median tuition ($9,299).
- Versus the South Dakota median, sticker tuition is 5% above.
South Dakota State University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $9,299
Finding South Dakota State University charges 69% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $9,299. That is 69% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the South Dakota median ($8,845), sticker tuition is 5% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 22% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at South Dakota State University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at South Dakota State University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at South Dakota State University is $19,841.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $19,841 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,930 above the South Dakota median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $4,870 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At South Dakota State University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
South Dakota State University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for South Dakota State University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$9,299
Out-of-state tuition
$12,809
Avg. net price
$19,841
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $14,266 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $15,248 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $18,073 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $20,706 |
| $110,001+ | $21,886 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $37,196. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What South Dakota State University is known for
Top program completions
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse354
- Business/Managerial Economics155
- General Studies97
- Animal Sciences, General96
- 00.001082
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 39% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1120
- Midpoint ACT: 22
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is South Dakota State University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
South Dakota State University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for South Dakota State University.
Campus
Location
Brookings, SD
City / state
- ZIP
- 57007-1898
- NCES locale
- Town remote
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 33% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Plains
- Carnegie
- Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity
Size
Enrollment
9,198
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 12,489
- Graduate
- 1,337
- Full-time share
- 88%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$23,250
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 16.82%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for South Dakota State University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at South Dakota State University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for South Dakota State University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $7,713 | $9,795 | $15,538 |
| 2014 | $7,713 | $10,485 | $16,152 |
| 2015 | $8,172 | $11,053 | $21,762 |
| 2016 | $8,172 | $11,403 | $21,070 |
| 2017 | $8,441 | $11,689 | $19,415 |
| 2018 | $8,764 | $12,128 | $19,503 |
| 2019 | $9,114 | $12,589 | $19,252 |
| 2020 | $9,200 | $12,675 | $18,578 |
| 2021 | $9,299 | $12,809 | $18,402 |
| 2022 | $9,299 | $12,809 | $18,125 |
| 2023 | $9,299 | $12,809 | $18,219 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1120 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 22 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
South Dakota State University reported total enrollment of about 9,198 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 46% male and 54% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (84.2%), Non-Resident Alien (4.2%), and Hispanic or Latino (3.0%). About 16.82% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 20.2% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
88.3% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at South Dakota State University in 2024 is 9,198 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 12,489 students. Graduate enrollment is about 1,337 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
83.8%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
46.04% 100% Completion Time
62.35% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 46.04% of students graduating from South Dakota State University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 13% male / 87% female
- Business/Managerial Economics: 65% male / 35% female
- General Studies: 55% male / 45% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
South Dakota State University graduates earn a median of $55,070 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of South Dakota State University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $55,070. Median federal loan debt: $23,250. Average net price used in cost models: $19,841.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway South Dakota State University graduates report median earnings of $55,070 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for South Dakota State University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (110 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at South Dakota State University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for South Dakota State University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for South Dakota State University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$236.8M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- South Dakota median 7.0× the median ($34M)
- Plains median 9.8× the median ($24.1M)
- U.S. median 9.0× the median ($26.4M)
- South Dakota median near the median ($25,074)
- Plains median 1.7× the median ($15,020)
- U.S. median 2.1× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 80.7%
- South Dakota median 15.0 pp above median (65.7%)
- Plains median 15.9 pp above median (64.7%)
- U.S. median 22.7 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,231
- South Dakota median 1.4× the median ($7,234)
- Plains median 1.4× the median ($7,194)
- U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $10,257
- South Dakota median 1.4× the median ($7,480)
- Plains median 1.3× the median ($8,150)
- U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
South Dakota State University at a glance
South Dakota State University
South Dakota State University is a public institution in Brookings, SD, classified as Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Registered Nursing/Registered NurseBusiness/Managerial EconomicsGeneral Studies
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian84.2%Non-Resident Alien4.2%Hispanic or Latino3.0%
Schools near South Dakota State University
Other campuses in Brookings, SD when available, plus nearby institutions in South Dakota.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within South Dakota, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is South Dakota State University located?
South Dakota State University is located in Brookings, SD.
What is South Dakota State University's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at South Dakota State University is 98.3% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 5,884 applicants and 5,808 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is South Dakota State University's tuition?
South Dakota State University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $9,299 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $19,841 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does South Dakota State University cost?
Reported tuition is $9,299 and average net price is $19,841 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $10,176 annually.
What explains South Dakota State University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($19,841), completion (62.4% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($55,070). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at South Dakota State University?
South Dakota State University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 12,489 students, White (84.2%), Non-Resident Alien (4.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend South Dakota State University?
About 20.2% of students at South Dakota State University are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for South Dakota State University?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, South Dakota State University reports midpoint SAT about 1120 and midpoint ACT about 22.
What do graduates of South Dakota State University earn?
Median earnings are $49,564 six years after entry and $55,070 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at South Dakota State University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 62.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do South Dakota State University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $23,250.
Is South Dakota State University public or private?
South Dakota State University is a public institution located in Brookings, SD.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- South Dakota college profile
- South Dakota college costs
- South Dakota colleges by ROI
- South Dakota State University vs University of South Dakota vs Dakota State University
- Plains regional profile
- Town college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in South Dakota
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.