Active Report Report ID: EDU-230764-2026

University of Utah

Salt Lake City, UT 84112-9008

Acceptance rate85.98%Broad access
Tuition$9,620Published sticker
Avg. net price$16,200After aid
Graduation rate65.05%150% time
Median salary$67,17010yr post-entry

About University of Utah

University of Utah is a public research university in Salt Lake City, Utah, enrolling about 27,264 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 85.98% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $67,170 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of Utah charges 75% above the national public median tuition ($9,620).
  • Versus the Utah median, sticker tuition is 11% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 65.05%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $67,170.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of Utah is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 937% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

University of Utah awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 189 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of Utah$9,620$16,2001
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Utah (state median)$8,658$10,36021
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is University of Utah really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of Utah charges 75% above the national public median tuition ($9,620).
  • Versus the Utah median, sticker tuition is 11% above.
Published sticker

University of Utah tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $9,620

Finding University of Utah charges 75% above the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $9,620. That is 75% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Utah median ($8,658), sticker tuition is 11% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 19% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of Utah versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of Utah versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of Utah is $16,200.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $16,200 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $5,840 above the Utah median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $1,848 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At University of Utah, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

University of Utah: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Utah—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$9,620

Out-of-state tuition

$30,860

Avg. net price

$16,200

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$13,123
$30,001–$48,000$13,424
$48,001–$75,000$14,246
$75,001–$110,000$17,663
$110,001+$21,533

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $38,480. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention86.2%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$55,239Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 28% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1257
  • Midpoint ACT: 26

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of Utah a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Utah is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Utah.

Campus

Location

Salt Lake City, UT

City / state

ZIP
84112-9008
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 10% below the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Rocky Mountains
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

27,264

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
32,800
Graduate
8,830
Full-time share
87%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$19,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
19.59%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$64,800Estimated 4-year total cost
$16,200Average annual net price (after aid)
$38,4804-year in-state tuition
$123,4404-year out-of-state tuition
$13,315Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,240Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$24,175Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$96,700Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Utah.

Financial Aid by Income Level

19.59% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
20.51% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Utah was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Utah in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$7,457$23,736$14,114
2014$7,835$25,057$13,874
2015$8,197$26,022$13,969
2016$8,518$27,039$12,674
2017$8,884$28,127$13,728
2018$9,222$29,215$14,364
2019$8,615$27,220$14,773
2020$8,615$27,220$13,572
2021$8,893$28,345$7,937
2022$9,315$29,837$9,422
2023$9,315$29,837$13,172

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

85.98%Acceptance rate
22,996Total applicants
20,046Students admitted
5,560First-time students enrolled
27.74%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1257SAT average
26ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.40Estimated median GPA
3.3–3.5Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Utah reported total enrollment of about 27,264 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 52% male and 48% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (63.6%), Hispanic or Latino (14.0%), and Two or More Races (6.1%). About 19.59% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 29.4% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

86.8% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Utah in 2024 is 27,264 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 32,800 students. Graduate enrollment is about 8,830 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

86.2%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

63.6%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian63.6%
  • Hispanic or Latino14.0%
  • Two or More Races6.1%
  • Asian5.9%
  • Non-Resident Alien5.4%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.9%
  • Black or African American1.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.4%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.4%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

36.68% 100% Completion Time

65.05% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 36.68% of students graduating from University of Utah completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Research and Experimental Psychology, Other: 24% male / 76% female
  • Business Administration and Management, General: 69% male / 31% female
  • Computer Science: 85% male / 15% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

5,929White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian5,929
  • Hispanic or Latino1,166
  • Asian536
  • Two or More Races474
  • Black or African American126
  • American Indian or Alaska Native29
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander27

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Utah graduates earn a median of $67,170 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Utah.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $67,170. Median federal loan debt: $19,000. Average net price used in cost models: $16,200.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Utah graduates report median earnings of $67,170 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

937%Modeled return on investment
$19,000Median student debt
$67,170Median annual earnings (10 years)
28.29%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.8 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Utah.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (189 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Computer Science 331
  2. Social Work 328
  3. Information Science/Studies 294
  4. Communication and Media Studies 261

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Utah.

Employment Outcomes

$67,170Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$55,239Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$61,202Median earnings (8 years after entry)
89.69%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Utah graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Utah—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$1.59B

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $1.36B

Year change: $228.8M

  • Utah median 28× the median ($57.7M)
  • Rocky Mountains median 82× the median ($19.5M)
  • U.S. median 60× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $49,815

  • Utah median 9.1× the median ($5,500)
  • Rocky Mountains median 4.8× the median ($10,274)
  • U.S. median 4.1× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 87.6%
    • Utah median 17.1 pp above median (70.5%)
    • Rocky Mountains median 14.3 pp above median (73.3%)
    • U.S. median 29.6 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $12,776
    • Utah median 1.5× the median ($8,316)
    • Rocky Mountains median 1.7× the median ($7,458)
    • U.S. median 1.7× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $17,724
    • Utah median 2.8× the median ($6,230)
    • Rocky Mountains median 2.6× the median ($6,852)
    • U.S. median 2.4× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of Utah at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Utah

Salt Lake City, UT 84112-9008 · Public · Rocky Mountains

University of Utah is a public institution in Salt Lake City, UT, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.

Tuition$9,620
Avg. net price$16,200
Enrollment27,264
Acceptance rate85.98%
Completion (150%)65.05%
Average SAT1257
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Research and Experimental Psychology, OtherBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralComputer Science
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian63.6%
Hispanic or Latino14.0%
Two or More Races6.1%
Nearby

Schools near University of Utah

Other campuses in Salt Lake City, UT when available, plus nearby institutions in Utah.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Utah, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Utah located?

University of Utah is located in Salt Lake City, UT.

What is University of Utah's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of Utah is 86.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 22,996 applicants and 20,046 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of Utah's tuition?

University of Utah tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $9,620 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $16,200 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of Utah cost?

Reported tuition is $9,620 and average net price is $16,200 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $13,315 annually.

What explains University of Utah's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($16,200), completion (65.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($67,170). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of Utah?

University of Utah reports undergraduate enrollment of about 32,800 students, White (63.6%), Hispanic or Latino (14.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of Utah?

About 29.4% of students at University of Utah are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for University of Utah?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of Utah reports midpoint SAT about 1257 and midpoint ACT about 26.

What do graduates of University of Utah earn?

Median earnings are $55,239 six years after entry and $67,170 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Utah?

The 150%-time completion rate is 65.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of Utah students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $19,000.

Is University of Utah public or private?

University of Utah is a public institution located in Salt Lake City, UT.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.