Active Report Report ID: EDU-223472-2026

Vet Tech Institute of Houston

Houston, TX 77027

Acceptance rate80.95%Broad access
Tuition$16,544Published sticker
Avg. net price$12,761After aid
Graduation rate76.19%150% time
Median salary$40,27810yr post-entry

About Vet Tech Institute of Houston

Vet Tech Institute of Houston is a private for-profit two-year college in Houston, Texas, enrolling about 200 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $12,761 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $16,544. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (42.5%) and White (28.0%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Vet Tech Institute of Houston charges 1% below the national private for-profit median tuition ($16,544).
  • Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is 65% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 76.19%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $40,278.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Vet Tech Institute of Houston is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 689% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Vet Tech Institute of Houston$16,544$12,7611
Private For-profit (national median)$16,757—494
Texas (state median)$10,008$7,932185
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,860$20,6601,347
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 23% below published tuition at Vet Tech Institute of Houston

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Vet Tech Institute of Houston's average net price ($12,761) is 23% below published tuition ($16,544).
  • Vet Tech Institute of Houston charges 1% below the national private for-profit median tuition ($16,544).
  • Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is 65% above.
Published sticker

Vet Tech Institute of Houston tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $16,544

Finding Vet Tech Institute of Houston charges 1% below the national private for-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $16,544. That is 1% below the national private for-profit median ($16,757). Versus the Texas median ($10,008), sticker tuition is 65% above. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is 36% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private for-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Vet Tech Institute of Houston versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Vet Tech Institute of Houston versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Vet Tech Institute of Houston is $12,761.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $12,761 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,829 above the Texas median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $7,898 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Vet Tech Institute of Houston’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 23% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Vet Tech Institute of Houston: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Vet Tech Institute of Houston—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$16,544

Avg. net price

$12,761

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$12,115
$30,001–$48,000$12,406
$48,001–$75,000$14,576
$110,001+$19,901

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $66,176. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention73.9%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$35,267Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 53% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Vet Tech Institute of Houston a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Vet Tech Institute of Houston is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Vet Tech Institute of Houston.

Campus

Location

Houston, TX

City / state

ZIP
77027
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 38% below the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,660 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Southwest
Carnegie
Special Focus Two-Year: Health Professions

Size

Enrollment

200

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
368
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$12,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
73.00%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$51,044Estimated 4-year total cost
$12,761Average annual net price (after aid)
$66,1764-year tuition
$7,400Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$992Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$24,936Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$99,744Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Vet Tech Institute of Houston.

Financial Aid by Income Level

73.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
79.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Vet Tech Institute of Houston was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Vet Tech Institute of Houston in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$13,570$13,570$14,546
2014$14,120$14,120$14,902
2015$14,200$14,200$14,616
2016$14,320$14,320$15,619
2017$14,640$14,640$15,741
2018$14,700$14,700$14,418
2019$14,900$14,900$16,432
2020$15,020$15,020$15,879
2021$15,100$15,100$14,070
2022$15,240$15,240$14,435
2023$16,024$16,024$16,179

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

80.95%Acceptance rate
52Total applicants
43Students admitted
23First-time students enrolled
53.49%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Vet Tech Institute of Houston reported total enrollment of about 200 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 10% male and 90% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (42.5%), White (28.0%), and Black or African American (17.5%). About 73.00% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 50.0% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Vet Tech Institute of Houston in 2024 is 200 students.

Over a full year, about 368 undergraduates enroll.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

73.9%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

42.5%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino42.5%
  • White or Caucasian28.0%
  • Black or African American17.5%
  • Two or More Races6.5%
  • Asian3.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.5%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

76.19% 100% Completion Time

76.19% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 76.19% of students graduating from Vet Tech Institute of Houston completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Veterinary/Animal Health Technology/Technician and Veterinary Assistant: 9% male / 91% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

55Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino55
  • White or Caucasian35
  • Black or African American14
  • Two or More Races4
  • Asian1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Vet Tech Institute of Houston graduates earn a median of $40,278 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Vet Tech Institute of Houston.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $40,278. Median federal loan debt: $12,000. Average net price used in cost models: $12,761.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Vet Tech Institute of Houston graduates report median earnings of $40,278 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

689%Modeled return on investment
$12,000Median student debt
$40,278Median annual earnings (10 years)
29.79%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.0 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Vet Tech Institute of Houston.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 1 programs by IPEDS completions (2 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Vet Tech Institute of Houston.

Employment Outcomes

$40,278Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$39,189Median earnings for graduates (5 years after graduation)
$35,267Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$38,290Median earnings (8 years after entry)
86.18%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Vet Tech Institute of Houston graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Vet Tech Institute of Houston—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 66.7%
    • Texas median 6.6 pp above median (60.1%)
    • Southwest median 6.9 pp above median (59.7%)
    • U.S. median 8.7 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,170
    • Texas median 0.86× the median ($7,150)
    • Southwest median 0.87× the median ($7,078)
    • U.S. median 0.81× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $4,893
    • Texas median near the median ($5,060)
    • Southwest median 0.86× the median ($5,699)
    • U.S. median 0.67× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Vet Tech Institute of Houston at a glance

Institution snapshot

Vet Tech Institute of Houston

Houston, TX 77027 · Private For-profit · Southwest

Vet Tech Institute of Houston is a private for-profit institution in Houston, TX, classified as Special Focus Two-Year: Health Professions.

Tuition$16,544
Avg. net price$12,761
Enrollment200
Acceptance rate80.95%
Completion (150%)76.19%
Pell Grant share73.00%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Veterinary/Animal Health Technology/Technician and Veterinary Assistant
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino42.5%
White or Caucasian28.0%
Black or African American17.5%
Nearby

Schools near Vet Tech Institute of Houston

Other campuses in Houston, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Vet Tech Institute of Houston located?

Vet Tech Institute of Houston is located in Houston, TX.

What is Vet Tech Institute of Houston's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Vet Tech Institute of Houston is 81.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 52 applicants and 43 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Vet Tech Institute of Houston's tuition?

Vet Tech Institute of Houston tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $16,544 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $12,761 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Vet Tech Institute of Houston cost?

Reported tuition is $16,544 and average net price is $12,761 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $7,400 annually.

Why is Vet Tech Institute of Houston's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Vet Tech Institute of Houston, published tuition is $16,544 while average net price is $12,761—about 23% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Vet Tech Institute of Houston's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($12,761), completion (76.2% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($40,278). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Vet Tech Institute of Houston?

Vet Tech Institute of Houston reports undergraduate enrollment of about 368 students, Hispanic or Latino (42.5%), White (28.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Vet Tech Institute of Houston?

About 50.0% of students at Vet Tech Institute of Houston are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Vet Tech Institute of Houston earn?

Median earnings are $35,267 six years after entry and $40,278 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Vet Tech Institute of Houston?

The 150%-time completion rate is 76.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Vet Tech Institute of Houston students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $12,000.

Is Vet Tech Institute of Houston public or private?

Vet Tech Institute of Houston is a private for-profit institution located in Houston, TX.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.