Active Report Report ID: EDU-234030-2026

Virginia Commonwealth University

Richmond, VA 23284-2512

Acceptance rate92.62%Broad access
Tuition$16,945Published sticker
Avg. net price$23,433After aid
Graduation rate63.18%150% time
Median salary$58,12810yr post-entry

About Virginia Commonwealth University

Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) is a public research university in Richmond, Virginia, with about 20,753 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 92.62% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $58,128 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Virginia Commonwealth University charges about 3.1× the national public median tuition ($16,945).
  • Versus the Virginia median, sticker tuition is 4% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 63.18%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $58,128.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Virginia Commonwealth University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 520% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

Virginia Commonwealth University awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 143 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Virginia Commonwealth University$16,945$23,4331
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Virginia (state median)$16,364$8,852107
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Virginia Commonwealth University really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Virginia Commonwealth University charges about 3.1× the national public median tuition ($16,945).
  • Versus the Virginia median, sticker tuition is 4% above.
Published sticker

Virginia Commonwealth University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $16,945

Finding Virginia Commonwealth University charges about 3.1× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $16,945. That is about 3.1× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Virginia median ($16,364), sticker tuition is 4% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 42% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Virginia Commonwealth University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Virginia Commonwealth University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Virginia Commonwealth University is $23,433.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $23,433 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $14,581 above the Virginia median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $5,385 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Virginia Commonwealth University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Virginia Commonwealth University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Virginia Commonwealth University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$16,945

Out-of-state tuition

$40,109

Avg. net price

$23,433

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$17,512
$30,001–$48,000$17,777
$48,001–$75,000$20,925
$75,001–$110,000$24,691
$110,001+$32,739

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $67,780. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention85.3%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$47,161Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 25% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1137
  • Midpoint ACT: 25

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Virginia Commonwealth University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Virginia Commonwealth University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Virginia Commonwealth University.

Campus

Location

Richmond, VA

City / state

ZIP
23284-2512
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 30% above the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

20,753

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
22,937
Graduate
7,254
Full-time share
90%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$21,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
31.19%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$93,732Estimated 4-year total cost
$23,433Average annual net price (after aid)
$67,7804-year in-state tuition
$160,4364-year out-of-state tuition
$18,254Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,250Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$36,449Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$145,796Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Virginia Commonwealth University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

31.19% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
38.78% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Virginia Commonwealth University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Virginia Commonwealth University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$12,002$29,473$18,354
2014$12,398$30,459$20,723
2015$12,772$31,464$21,741
2016$13,130$32,287$21,405
2017$13,624$33,656$21,655
2018$14,493$35,834$21,313
2019$14,596$35,904$22,021
2020$14,710$36,048$20,490
2021$15,319$36,657$18,904
2022$15,828$37,786$20,405
2023$16,458$39,042$19,452

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

92.62%Acceptance rate
19,052Total applicants
17,729Students admitted
4,519First-time students enrolled
25.49%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1137SAT average
25ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Virginia Commonwealth University reported total enrollment of about 20,753 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 37% male and 63% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (38.8%), Black or African American (23.2%), and Asian (13.9%). About 31.19% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 27.6% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

89.7% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Virginia Commonwealth University in 2024 is 20,753 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 22,937 students. Graduate enrollment is about 7,254 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

85.3%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

38.8%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian38.8%
  • Black or African American23.2%
  • Asian13.9%
  • Hispanic or Latino12.1%
  • Two or More Races8.2%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.8%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.6%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

45.59% 100% Completion Time

63.18% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 45.59% of students graduating from Virginia Commonwealth University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Psychology, General: 17% male / 83% female
  • Social Work: 10% male / 90% female
  • Biology/Biological Sciences, General: 28% male / 72% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

3,422White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian3,422
  • Black or African American1,224
  • Asian994
  • Hispanic or Latino778
  • Two or More Races523
  • American Indian or Alaska Native13
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander6

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Virginia Commonwealth University graduates earn a median of $58,128 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Virginia Commonwealth University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $58,128. Median federal loan debt: $21,500. Average net price used in cost models: $23,433.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Virginia Commonwealth University graduates report median earnings of $58,128 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

520%Modeled return on investment
$21,500Median student debt
$58,128Median annual earnings (10 years)
36.99%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.7 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Virginia Commonwealth University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (143 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Social Work 455
  2. Health Teacher Education 278
  3. Medicine 175

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Virginia Commonwealth University.

Employment Outcomes

$58,128Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$47,161Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$54,212Median earnings (8 years after entry)
88.60%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Virginia Commonwealth University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Virginia Commonwealth University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$2.58B

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $2.41B

Year change: $174M

  • Virginia median 84× the median ($30.9M)
  • Southeast median 133× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 98× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $99,821

  • Virginia median 7.6× the median ($13,171)
  • Southeast median 11× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 8.3× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 61.0%
    • Virginia median 0.0 pp at median (61.0%)
    • Southeast median 1.6 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 3.1 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $12,401
    • Virginia median 1.5× the median ($8,196)
    • Southeast median 1.8× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 1.6× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $16,705
    • Virginia median 2.3× the median ($7,382)
    • Southeast median 2.5× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 2.3× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Virginia Commonwealth University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Virginia Commonwealth University

Richmond, VA 23284-2512 · Public · Southeast

Virginia Commonwealth University is a public institution in Richmond, VA, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.

Tuition$16,945
Avg. net price$23,433
Enrollment20,753
Acceptance rate92.62%
Completion (150%)63.18%
Average SAT1137
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Psychology, GeneralSocial WorkBiology/Biological Sciences, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian38.8%
Black or African American23.2%
Asian13.9%
Nearby

Schools near Virginia Commonwealth University

Other campuses in Richmond, VA when available, plus nearby institutions in Virginia.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Virginia, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is VCU located?

Virginia Commonwealth University is located in Richmond, VA. The institution is also known as VCU.

What is VCU's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) is 92.6% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 19,052 applicants and 17,729 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is VCU's tuition?

Virginia Commonwealth University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $16,945 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $23,433 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does VCU cost?

Reported tuition is $16,945 and average net price is $23,433 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $18,254 annually.

What explains VCU's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($23,433), completion (63.2% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($58,128). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at VCU?

Virginia Commonwealth University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 22,937 students, White (38.8%), Black or African American (23.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend VCU?

About 27.6% of students at Virginia Commonwealth University are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Virginia Commonwealth University?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Virginia Commonwealth University reports midpoint SAT about 1137 and midpoint ACT about 25.

What do graduates of Virginia Commonwealth University earn?

Median earnings are $47,161 six years after entry and $58,128 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Virginia Commonwealth University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 63.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Virginia Commonwealth University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $21,500.

Is Virginia Commonwealth University public or private?

Virginia Commonwealth University is a public institution located in Richmond, VA.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.