Active Report Report ID: EDU-237950-2026

West Virginia University Institute of Technology

Beckley, WV 25801

Acceptance rate36.68%Selective
Tuition$8,424Published sticker
Avg. net price$9,337After aid
Graduation rate32.96%150% time
Median salary$55,93910yr post-entry

About West Virginia University Institute of Technology

West Virginia University Institute of Technology is a public four-year university in Beckley, West Virginia, enrolling about 981 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 36.68% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $55,939 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Versus the West Virginia median, sticker tuition is 12% below.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 32.96%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $55,939.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at West Virginia University Institute of Technology is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1398% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
West Virginia University Institute of Technology$8,424$9,3371
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
West Virginia (state median)$9,574$9,11436
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is West Virginia University Institute of Technology really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • West Virginia University Institute of Technology charges 53% above the national public median tuition ($8,424).
  • Versus the West Virginia median, sticker tuition is 12% below.
Published sticker

West Virginia University Institute of Technology tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $8,424

Finding West Virginia University Institute of Technology charges 53% above the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $8,424. That is 53% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the West Virginia median ($9,574), sticker tuition is 12% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 29% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at West Virginia University Institute of Technology versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at West Virginia University Institute of Technology versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at West Virginia University Institute of Technology is $9,337.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $9,337 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $222 above the West Virginia median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $5,634 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At West Virginia University Institute of Technology, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

West Virginia University Institute of Technology: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for West Virginia University Institute of Technology—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$8,424

Out-of-state tuition

$21,072

Avg. net price

$9,337

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$6,998
$30,001–$48,000$6,752
$48,001–$75,000$9,137
$75,001–$110,000$11,861
$110,001+$14,797

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $33,696. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention61.8%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$45,181Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 50% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1033
  • Midpoint ACT: 22

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is West Virginia University Institute of Technology a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

West Virginia University Institute of Technology is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for West Virginia University Institute of Technology.

Campus

Location

Beckley, WV

City / state

ZIP
25801
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 38% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions

Size

Enrollment

981

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,410
Full-time share
95%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$22,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
27.38%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$37,348Estimated 4-year total cost
$9,337Average annual net price (after aid)
$33,6964-year in-state tuition
$84,2884-year out-of-state tuition
$12,986Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$950Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$22,360Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$89,440Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for West Virginia University Institute of Technology.

Financial Aid by Income Level

27.38% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
24.34% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at West Virginia University Institute of Technology was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for West Virginia University Institute of Technology in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$5,808$14,616$7,811
2014$6,048$15,192$7,947
2015$6,336$15,936$7,785
2016$6,648$16,728$7,964
2017$6,960$17,544$8,710
2018$7,464$18,648$10,200
2019$7,560$18,912$10,569
2020$7,560$18,912$10,095
2021$7,728$19,296$11,124
2022$7,848$19,584$10,838
2023$8,064$20,120$9,957

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

36.68%Acceptance rate
1,005Total applicants
613Students admitted
308First-time students enrolled
50.24%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1033SAT average
22ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

West Virginia University Institute of Technology reported total enrollment of about 981 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 57% male and 43% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (77.2%), Non-Resident Alien (10.5%), and Two or More Races (3.9%). About 27.38% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 30.4% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

95.2% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at West Virginia University Institute of Technology in 2024 is 981 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,410 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

61.8%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

77.2%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian77.2%
  • Non-Resident Alien10.5%
  • Two or More Races3.9%
  • Black or African American3.3%
  • Hispanic or Latino3.1%
  • Asian1.2%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.8%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

25.48% 100% Completion Time

32.96% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 25.48% of students graduating from West Virginia University Institute of Technology completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration: 41% male / 59% female
  • Biology/Biological Sciences, General: 44% male / 56% female
  • Psychology, General: 33% male / 67% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

117White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian117
  • Black or African American8
  • Two or More Races7
  • Hispanic or Latino4
  • Asian1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

West Virginia University Institute of Technology graduates earn a median of $55,939 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of West Virginia University Institute of Technology.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $55,939. Median federal loan debt: $22,500. Average net price used in cost models: $9,337.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway West Virginia University Institute of Technology graduates report median earnings of $55,939 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,398%Modeled return on investment
$22,500Median student debt
$55,939Median annual earnings (10 years)
40.22%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.0 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for West Virginia University Institute of Technology.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (23 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Computer Systems Analysis/Analyst 8
  2. Construction Management, General 8

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at West Virginia University Institute of Technology.

Employment Outcomes

$55,939Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$45,181Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$52,556Median earnings (8 years after entry)
87.20%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for West Virginia University Institute of Technology graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for West Virginia University Institute of Technology—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 69.2%
    • West Virginia median 10.4 pp above median (58.7%)
    • Southeast median 9.7 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 11.2 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,140
    • West Virginia median 1.3× the median ($6,342)
    • Southeast median 1.2× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,243
    • West Virginia median 0.85× the median ($7,346)
    • Southeast median 0.95× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 0.86× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

West Virginia University Institute of Technology at a glance

Institution snapshot

West Virginia University Institute of Technology

Beckley, WV 25801 · Public · Southeast

West Virginia University Institute of Technology is a public institution in Beckley, WV, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions.

Tuition$8,424
Avg. net price$9,337
Enrollment981
Acceptance rate36.68%
Completion (150%)32.96%
Average SAT1033
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement AdministrationBiology/Biological Sciences, GeneralPsychology, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian77.2%
Non-Resident Alien10.5%
Two or More Races3.9%
Nearby

Schools near West Virginia University Institute of Technology

Other campuses in Beckley, WV when available, plus nearby institutions in West Virginia.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within West Virginia, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is West Virginia University Institute of Technology located?

West Virginia University Institute of Technology is located in Beckley, WV.

What is West Virginia University Institute of Technology's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at West Virginia University Institute of Technology is 36.7% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1,005 applicants and 613 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is West Virginia University Institute of Technology's tuition?

West Virginia University Institute of Technology tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $8,424 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $9,337 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does West Virginia University Institute of Technology cost?

Reported tuition is $8,424 and average net price is $9,337 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,986 annually.

What explains West Virginia University Institute of Technology's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($9,337), completion (33.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($55,939). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at West Virginia University Institute of Technology?

West Virginia University Institute of Technology reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,410 students, White (77.2%), Non-Resident Alien (10.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend West Virginia University Institute of Technology?

About 30.4% of students at West Virginia University Institute of Technology are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for West Virginia University Institute of Technology?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, West Virginia University Institute of Technology reports midpoint SAT about 1033 and midpoint ACT about 22.

What do graduates of West Virginia University Institute of Technology earn?

Median earnings are $45,181 six years after entry and $55,939 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at West Virginia University Institute of Technology?

The 150%-time completion rate is 33.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do West Virginia University Institute of Technology students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $22,500.

Is West Virginia University Institute of Technology public or private?

West Virginia University Institute of Technology is a public institution located in Beckley, WV.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.