Barber School of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA 15216
About Barber School of Pittsburgh
Barber School of Pittsburgh is a private for-profit trade school in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, enrolling about 86 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 64.52% at 150% of normal time. Student demographics in federal data include White (41.9%) and Black or African American (39.5%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 64.52%.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Barber School of Pittsburgh | — | $17,488 | 1 |
| Private For-profit (national median) | $16,637 | — | 477 |
| Pennsylvania (state median) | $19,450 | $17,754 | 181 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Barber School of Pittsburgh really?
Key findings
- Average net price runs below the Pennsylvania median net price.
Evidence: average net price at Barber School of Pittsburgh versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Barber School of Pittsburgh is $17,488.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $17,488 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $266 below the Pennsylvania median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $2,565 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Barber School of Pittsburgh: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Barber School of Pittsburgh—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.
Financial profile
Avg. net price
$17,488
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $15,450 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $19,309 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $16,142 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $22,128 |
| $110,001+ | $20,695 |
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Barber School of Pittsburgh is known for
Top program completions
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Barber School of Pittsburgh a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Barber School of Pittsburgh is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Barber School of Pittsburgh.
Campus
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
City / state
- ZIP
- 15216
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 13% below the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Private For-profit
Control
- Region
- Mid East
Size
Enrollment
86
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 131
- Full-time share
- 100%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$13,583
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 58.68%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Barber School of Pittsburgh.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Barber School of Pittsburgh was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Barber School of Pittsburgh in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2014–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2014 | — | — | $11,569 |
| 2015 | — | — | $16,837 |
| 2016 | — | — | $17,171 |
| 2017 | — | — | $15,763 |
| 2018 | — | — | $16,972 |
| 2019 | — | — | $16,533 |
| 2020 | — | — | $18,525 |
| 2021 | — | — | $16,088 |
| 2022 | — | — | $18,716 |
| 2023 | — | — | $18,910 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Barber School of Pittsburgh reported total enrollment of about 86 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 80% male and 20% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (41.9%), Black or African American (39.5%), and Two or More Races (5.8%). About 58.68% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 47.8% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
100.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Barber School of Pittsburgh in 2024 is 86 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 131 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
84.6%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
64.52% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Barber School of Pittsburgh completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Barbering/Barber: 88% male / 12% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
What do Barber School of Pittsburgh graduates earn—and in which programs?
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Barber School of Pittsburgh.
Evidence Median federal loan debt: $13,583. Average net price used in cost models: $17,488.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Barber School of Pittsburgh.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 1 programs by IPEDS completions (2 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Barber School of Pittsburgh.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Barber School of Pittsburgh graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Barber School of Pittsburgh—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,680
- Pennsylvania median 0.31× the median ($8,615)
- Mid East median 0.29× the median ($9,164)
- U.S. median 0.37× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Barber School of Pittsburgh at a glance
Barber School of Pittsburgh
Barber School of Pittsburgh is a private for-profit institution in Pittsburgh, PA.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Barbering/Barber
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian41.9%Black or African American39.5%Two or More Races5.8%
Schools near Barber School of Pittsburgh
Other campuses in Pittsburgh, PA when available, plus nearby institutions in Pennsylvania.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Pennsylvania, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Barber School of Pittsburgh located?
Barber School of Pittsburgh is located in Pittsburgh, PA.
How much does Barber School of Pittsburgh cost?
Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $17,488 in the latest College Scorecard data.
What is the student body demographics at Barber School of Pittsburgh?
Barber School of Pittsburgh reports undergraduate enrollment of about 131 students, White (41.9%), Black or African American (39.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Barber School of Pittsburgh?
About 47.8% of students at Barber School of Pittsburgh are first-generation college students.
What is the graduation rate at Barber School of Pittsburgh?
The 150%-time completion rate is 64.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Barber School of Pittsburgh students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $13,583.
Is Barber School of Pittsburgh public or private?
Barber School of Pittsburgh is a private for-profit institution located in Pittsburgh, PA.
Is Barber School of Pittsburgh an HBCU?
No. Barber School of Pittsburgh is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Barber School of Pittsburgh a tribal college?
No. Barber School of Pittsburgh is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is Barber School of Pittsburgh a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Barber School of Pittsburgh does not meet that proxy (reported share 3.5%).
Is Barber School of Pittsburgh religiously affiliated?
No religious affiliation is reported for Barber School of Pittsburgh in IPEDS institutional characteristics.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- Pennsylvania college profile
- Pennsylvania college costs
- Pennsylvania colleges by ROI
- Pennsylvania trade schools profile
- Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania city profile
- Mid East regional profile
- Urban (City) college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in Pennsylvania
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.