Active Report Report ID: EDU-144175-2026

City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College

Chicago, IL 60628-1696

Tuition$4,590Published sticker
Avg. net price$9,038After aid
Graduation rate21.24%150% time
Median salary$31,11410yr post-entry
ROI761%10yr vs net cost

About City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College

City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College is a public certificate and vocational school in Chicago, Illinois, enrolling about 1,661 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. Typical net price after grant aid is about $9,038 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $4,590. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $31,114 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College charges 17% below the national public median tuition ($4,590).
  • Versus the Illinois median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 21.24%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $31,114.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 761% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College$4,590$9,0381
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Illinois (state median)$13,248$7,399131
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College charges 17% below the national public median tuition ($4,590).
  • Versus the Illinois median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
Published sticker

City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $4,590

Finding City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College charges 17% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $4,590. That is 17% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Illinois median ($13,248), sticker tuition is about 0.3×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College is $9,038.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $9,038 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $1,639 above the Illinois median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $11,015 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$4,590

Out-of-state tuition

$15,150

Avg. net price

$9,038

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$8,527
$30,001–$48,000$7,373
$48,001–$75,000$10,607
$75,001–$110,000$14,177
$110,001+$10,119

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $18,360. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention44.4%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$23,378Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College.

Campus

Location

Chicago, IL

City / state

ZIP
60628-1696
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 0.5× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Great Lakes
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

1,661

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
5,111
Full-time share
45%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$7,646

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
33.31%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$36,152Estimated 4-year total cost
$9,038Average annual net price (after aid)
$18,3604-year in-state tuition
$60,6004-year out-of-state tuition
$8,128Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,920Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$14,638Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$58,552Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

33.31% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
3.09% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$3,070$7,498$7,777
2014$3,070$7,891$7,951
2015$3,506$11,906$11,857
2016$3,506$11,906$6,094
2017$3,506$11,906$5,158
2018$3,504$11,544$4,838
2019$3,504$11,544$4,574
2020$4,380$14,430$3,802
2021$4,380$14,430$5,196
2022$4,380$14,430$6,586
2023$4,380$14,430$5,749

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College reported total enrollment of about 1,661 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 47% male and 53% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (66.9%), Hispanic or Latino (23.9%), and Two or More Races (4.9%). About 33.31% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 46.9% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

45.4% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College in 2024 is 1,661 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 5,111 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

44.4%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

66.9%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American66.9%
  • Hispanic or Latino23.9%
  • Two or More Races4.9%
  • White or Caucasian2.9%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.7%
  • Asian0.4%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

11.50% 100% Completion Time

21.24% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 11.50% of students graduating from City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Forklift Operation/Operator: 88% male / 12% female
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 18% male / 82% female
  • Criminal Justice/Safety Studies: 56% male / 44% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

488Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American488
  • Hispanic or Latino144
  • Two or More Races42
  • White or Caucasian20
  • Asian7
  • American Indian or Alaska Native4
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College graduates earn a median of $31,114 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $31,114. Median federal loan debt: $7,646. Average net price used in cost models: $9,038.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College graduates report median earnings of $31,114 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

761%Modeled return on investment
$7,646Median student debt
$31,114Median annual earnings (10 years)
24.57%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.5 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (19 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College.

Employment Outcomes

$31,114Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$23,378Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$26,133Median earnings (8 years after entry)
84.91%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 31.1%
    • Illinois median 19.7 pp below median (50.8%)
    • Great Lakes median 26.9 pp below median (58.1%)
    • U.S. median 26.8 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $11,930
    • Illinois median 1.4× the median ($8,563)
    • Great Lakes median 1.5× the median ($8,046)
    • U.S. median 1.6× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,155
    • Illinois median 1.1× the median ($7,575)
    • Great Lakes median 1.1× the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College at a glance

Institution snapshot

City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College

Chicago, IL 60628-1696 · Public · Great Lakes

City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College is a public institution in Chicago, IL, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Nontraditional.

Tuition$4,590
Avg. net price$9,038
Enrollment1,661
Completion (150%)21.24%
Pell Grant share33.31%
First-generation46.9%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Forklift Operation/OperatorLiberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesCriminal Justice/Safety Studies
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American66.9%
Hispanic or Latino23.9%
Two or More Races4.9%
Nearby

Schools near City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College

Other campuses in Chicago, IL when available, plus nearby institutions in Illinois.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within Illinois, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College located?

City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College is located in Chicago, IL.

What is City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College's tuition?

City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $4,590 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $9,038 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College cost?

Reported tuition is $4,590 and average net price is $9,038 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $8,128 annually.

What explains City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($9,038), completion (21.2% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($31,114). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College?

City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 5,111 students, Black or African American (66.9%), Hispanic or Latino (23.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College?

About 46.9% of students at City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College earn?

Median earnings are $23,378 six years after entry and $31,114 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 21.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $7,646.

Is City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College public or private?

City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College is a public institution located in Chicago, IL.

Is City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College an HBCU?

No. City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College a tribal college?

No. City Colleges of Chicago-Olive-Harvey College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.