Active Report Report ID: EDU-417637-2026

Southern Missouri Technical Institute

West Plains, MO 65775

Avg. net price$22,260After aid
Graduation rate82.86%150% time
Median salary$31,46010yr post-entry
ROI253%10yr vs net cost

About Southern Missouri Technical Institute

Southern Missouri Technical Institute is a public certificate and vocational school in West Plains, Missouri, enrolling about 90 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 82.86% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $31,460 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $31,460.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Southern Missouri Technical Institute is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 253% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Southern Missouri Technical Institute$22,2601
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Missouri (state median)$14,822$12,95481
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Southern Missouri Technical Institute really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at Southern Missouri Technical Institute versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Southern Missouri Technical Institute is $22,260.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $22,260 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $9,306 above the Missouri median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $7,289 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Southern Missouri Technical Institute: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Southern Missouri Technical Institute—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$22,260

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$22,145
$30,001–$48,000$22,144
$48,001–$75,000$22,916
$75,001–$110,000$21,428

Student outcomes

First-year retention89.5%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$34,305Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Southern Missouri Technical Institute a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Southern Missouri Technical Institute is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Southern Missouri Technical Institute.

Campus

Location

West Plains, MO

City / state

ZIP
65775
NCES locale
Town remote

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 49% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Plains

Size

Enrollment

90

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
157
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
60.00%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$89,040Estimated 4-year total cost
$22,260Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Southern Missouri Technical Institute.

Financial Aid by Income Level

60.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
27.69% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Southern Missouri Technical Institute was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Southern Missouri Technical Institute in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$12,495
2014$9,858
2015$10,988
2016$10,534
2017$12,531
2018$15,013
2019$11,108
2020$14,976
2021$19,198
2022$19,248
2023$21,721

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Southern Missouri Technical Institute reported total enrollment of about 90 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 49% male and 51% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (96.7%), Hispanic or Latino (2.2%), and Two or More Races (1.1%). About 60.00% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 50.9% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Southern Missouri Technical Institute in 2024 is 90 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 157 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

89.5%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

96.7%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian96.7%
  • Hispanic or Latino2.2%
  • Two or More Races1.1%
  • Black or African American0.0%
  • Asian0.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

82.86% 100% Completion Time

82.86% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 82.86% of students graduating from Southern Missouri Technical Institute completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training: 5% male / 95% female
  • Surgical Technology/Technologist: 8% male / 92% female
  • Electrical and Power Transmission Installation/Installer, General: 100% male / 0% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

51White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian51
  • Hispanic or Latino2
  • Two or More Races1
  • Black or African American0
  • Asian0
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Southern Missouri Technical Institute graduates earn a median of $31,460 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Southern Missouri Technical Institute.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $31,460. Average net price used in cost models: $22,260.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Southern Missouri Technical Institute graduates report median earnings of $31,460 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

253%Modeled return on investment
$31,460Median annual earnings (10 years)

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Southern Missouri Technical Institute.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 5 programs by IPEDS completions (6 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Southern Missouri Technical Institute.

Employment Outcomes

$31,460Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$34,305Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$36,350Median earnings (8 years after entry)
84.09%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Southern Missouri Technical Institute graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Southern Missouri Technical Institute—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,922
    • Missouri median 1.2× the median ($7,371)
    • Plains median 1.1× the median ($8,150)
    • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Southern Missouri Technical Institute at a glance

Institution snapshot

Southern Missouri Technical Institute

West Plains, MO 65775 · Public · Plains

Southern Missouri Technical Institute is a public institution in West Plains, MO.

Avg. net price$22,260
Enrollment90
Completion (150%)82.86%
Pell Grant share60.00%
First-generation50.9%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse TrainingSurgical Technology/TechnologistElectrical and Power Transmission Installation/Installer, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian96.7%
Hispanic or Latino2.2%
Two or More Races1.1%
Nearby

Schools near Southern Missouri Technical Institute

Other campuses in West Plains, MO when available, plus nearby institutions in Missouri.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Missouri, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Southern Missouri Technical Institute located?

Southern Missouri Technical Institute is located in West Plains, MO.

How much does Southern Missouri Technical Institute cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $22,260 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What explains Southern Missouri Technical Institute's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($22,260), completion (82.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($31,460). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Southern Missouri Technical Institute?

Southern Missouri Technical Institute reports undergraduate enrollment of about 157 students, White (96.7%), Hispanic or Latino (2.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Southern Missouri Technical Institute?

About 50.9% of students at Southern Missouri Technical Institute are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Southern Missouri Technical Institute earn?

Median earnings are $34,305 six years after entry and $31,460 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Southern Missouri Technical Institute?

The 150%-time completion rate is 82.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is Southern Missouri Technical Institute public or private?

Southern Missouri Technical Institute is a public institution located in West Plains, MO.

Is Southern Missouri Technical Institute an HBCU?

No. Southern Missouri Technical Institute is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Southern Missouri Technical Institute a tribal college?

No. Southern Missouri Technical Institute is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Southern Missouri Technical Institute a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Southern Missouri Technical Institute does not meet that proxy (reported share 2.2%).

Is Southern Missouri Technical Institute religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Southern Missouri Technical Institute in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.