Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology
Sweetwater, TN 37874-3026
About Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology
Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology is a private for-profit trade school in Sweetwater, Tennessee, enrolling about 22 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 78.43% at 150% of normal time. Student demographics in federal data include White (90.9%) and Hispanic or Latino (9.1%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 78.43%.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology | — | $2,636 | 1 |
| Private For-profit (national median) | $16,637 | — | 477 |
| Tennessee (state median) | $15,120 | $7,802 | 69 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology really?
Key findings
- Average net price runs below the Tennessee median net price.
Evidence: average net price at Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology is $2,636.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $2,636 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $5,166 below the Tennessee median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $12,335 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.
Financial profile
Avg. net price
$2,636
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $2,208 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $2,226 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $8,226 |
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology is known for
Top program completions
- Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General22
- Real Estate Development22
- Cosmetology, Barber/Styling, and Nail Instructor4
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology.
Campus
Location
Sweetwater, TN
City / state
- ZIP
- 37874-3026
- NCES locale
- Town fringe
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 0.2× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Private For-profit
Control
- Region
- Southeast
Size
Enrollment
22
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 99
- Full-time share
- 100%
Student aid
Debt & aid
- Pell grant share
- 48.04%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2023–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | — | — | $1,124 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology reported total enrollment of about 22 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 5% male and 95% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (90.9%), Hispanic or Latino (9.1%), and Black or African American (0.0%). About 48.04% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
100.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology in 2024 is 22 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 99 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
95.0%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
78.43% 100% Completion Time
78.43% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 78.43% of students graduating from Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General: 5% male / 95% female
- Real Estate Development: 0% male / 100% female
- Cosmetology, Barber/Styling, and Nail Instructor: 0% male / 100% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
What do Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology graduates earn—and in which programs?
Financial value and program completions for Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology from College Scorecard and IPEDS extracts.
Return on Investment
ROI data is not available for this institution.
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 3 programs by IPEDS completions (4 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology.
Employment Outcomes
Employment outcome data is not available for this institution.
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $4,430
- Tennessee median 0.65× the median ($6,831)
- Southeast median 0.67× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 0.61× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology at a glance
Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology
Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology is a private for-profit institution in Sweetwater, TN.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, GeneralReal Estate DevelopmentCosmetology, Barber/Styling, and Nail Instructor
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian90.9%Hispanic or Latino9.1%Black or African American0.0%
Schools near Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology
Other campuses in Sweetwater, TN when available, plus nearby institutions in Tennessee.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Tennessee, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology located?
Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology is located in Sweetwater, TN.
How much does Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology cost?
Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $2,636 in the latest College Scorecard data.
What is the student body demographics at Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology?
Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology reports undergraduate enrollment of about 99 students, White (90.9%), Hispanic or Latino (9.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.
What is the graduation rate at Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology?
The 150%-time completion rate is 78.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
Is Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology public or private?
Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology is a private for-profit institution located in Sweetwater, TN.
Is Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology an HBCU?
No. Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology a tribal college?
No. Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology does not meet that proxy (reported share 9.1%).
Is Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology religiously affiliated?
No religious affiliation is reported for Sweetwater Institute of Cosmetology in IPEDS institutional characteristics.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.