Active Report Report ID: EDU-221485-2026

Southwest Tennessee Community College

Memphis, TN 38134

Tuition$5,217Published sticker
Avg. net price$5,091After aid
Graduation rate18.96%150% time
Median salary$38,11710yr post-entry
ROI1,772%10yr vs net cost

About Southwest Tennessee Community College

Southwest Tennessee Community College is a public community college in Memphis, Tennessee, serving roughly 5,047 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $5,091 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $5,217. Student demographics in federal data include Black or African American (63.0%) and White (20.2%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Southwest Tennessee Community College charges 8% below the national public median tuition ($5,217).
  • Versus the Tennessee median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
  • Average net price runs below the Tennessee median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 18.96%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $38,117.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Southwest Tennessee Community College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1772% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Southwest Tennessee Community College$5,217$5,0911
Public (national median)$5,700—1,692
Tennessee (state median)$14,921$9,04970
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,860$20,6601,347
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 2% below published tuition at Southwest Tennessee Community College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Southwest Tennessee Community College's average net price ($5,091) is 2% below published tuition ($5,217).
  • Southwest Tennessee Community College charges 8% below the national public median tuition ($5,217).
  • Versus the Tennessee median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
  • Average net price runs below the Tennessee median net price.
Published sticker

Southwest Tennessee Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $5,217

Finding Southwest Tennessee Community College charges 8% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $5,217. That is 8% below the national public median ($5,700). Versus the Tennessee median ($14,921), sticker tuition is about 0.3×. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is about 0.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Southwest Tennessee Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Southwest Tennessee Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Southwest Tennessee Community College is $5,091.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $5,091 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,958 below the Tennessee median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $15,568 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Southwest Tennessee Community College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 2% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Southwest Tennessee Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Southwest Tennessee Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$5,217

Out-of-state tuition

$8,246

Avg. net price

$5,091

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$4,987
$30,001–$48,000$4,526
$48,001–$75,000$5,001
$75,001–$110,000$6,923
$110,001+$8,180

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $20,868. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention45.7%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$33,407Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Southwest Tennessee Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Southwest Tennessee Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Southwest Tennessee Community College.

Campus

Location

Memphis, TN

City / state

ZIP
38134
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 0.2× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,660 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Traditional

Size

Enrollment

5,047

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
9,827
Full-time share
55%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
46.36%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$20,364Estimated 4-year total cost
$5,091Average annual net price (after aid)
$20,8684-year in-state tuition
$32,9844-year out-of-state tuition
$10,000Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,600Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$16,817Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$67,268Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Southwest Tennessee Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

46.36% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
0.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

Not reported 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Southwest Tennessee Community College was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Southwest Tennessee Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$3,641$14,081$5,011
2014$3,843$14,907$4,861
2015$3,963$15,363$4,246
2016$4,059$15,723$3,818
2017$4,155$16,131$4,918
2018$4,255$16,543$5,463
2019$4,352$16,928$4,931
2020$4,343$16,919$5,193
2021$4,430$17,246$6,067
2022$4,430$17,246$5,546
2023$4,550$17,750$4,588

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Southwest Tennessee Community College reported total enrollment of about 5,047 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 32% male and 68% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (63.0%), White (20.2%), and Hispanic or Latino (9.7%). About 46.36% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 45.7% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

54.7% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Southwest Tennessee Community College in 2024 is 5,047 students.

Over a full year, about 9,827 undergraduates enroll.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

45.7%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

63.0%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American63.0%
  • White or Caucasian20.2%
  • Hispanic or Latino9.7%
  • Two or More Races2.9%
  • Asian2.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.1%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.7%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

8.36% 100% Completion Time

18.96% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 8.36% of students graduating from Southwest Tennessee Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 30% male / 70% female
  • Emergency Medical Technology/Technician (EMT Paramedic): 78% male / 22% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 8% male / 92% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

523Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American523
  • White or Caucasian291
  • Hispanic or Latino95
  • Two or More Races32
  • Asian22
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander3
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Southwest Tennessee Community College graduates earn a median of $38,117 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Southwest Tennessee Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $38,117. Average net price used in cost models: $5,091.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Southwest Tennessee Community College graduates report median earnings of $38,117 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,772%Modeled return on investment
$38,117Median annual earnings (10 years)

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (37 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Electrical, Electronic, and Communications Engineering Technology/Technician 14

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Southwest Tennessee Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$38,117Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$44,864Median earnings for graduates (5 years after graduation)
$33,407Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$37,180Median earnings (8 years after entry)
88.72%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Southwest Tennessee Community College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Southwest Tennessee Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$1.9M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $1.8M

Year change: $165,608

  • Tennessee median 0.06× the median ($30.3M)
  • Southeast median 0.10× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.07× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $513

  • Tennessee median 0.03× the median ($17,566)
  • Southeast median 0.06× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.04× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 46.2%
    • Tennessee median 18.3 pp below median (64.4%)
    • Southeast median 13.3 pp below median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 11.8 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,874
    • Tennessee median near the median ($7,010)
    • Southeast median near the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.90× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,314
    • Tennessee median 0.92× the median ($6,831)
    • Southeast median near the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 0.87× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Southwest Tennessee Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Southwest Tennessee Community College

Memphis, TN 38134 · Public · Southeast

Southwest Tennessee Community College is a public institution in Memphis, TN, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Traditional.

Tuition$5,217
Avg. net price$5,091
Enrollment5,047
Completion (150%)18.96%
Pell Grant share46.36%
First-generation45.7%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesEmergency Medical Technology/Technician (EMT Paramedic)Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American63.0%
White or Caucasian20.2%
Hispanic or Latino9.7%
Nearby

Schools near Southwest Tennessee Community College

Other campuses in Memphis, TN when available, plus nearby institutions in Tennessee.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within Tennessee, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Southwest Tennessee Community College located?

Southwest Tennessee Community College is located in Memphis, TN.

What is Southwest Tennessee Community College's tuition?

Southwest Tennessee Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $5,217 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $5,091 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Southwest Tennessee Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $5,217 and average net price is $5,091 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $10,000 annually.

Why is Southwest Tennessee Community College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Southwest Tennessee Community College, published tuition is $5,217 while average net price is $5,091—about 2% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Southwest Tennessee Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($5,091), completion (19.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($38,117). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Southwest Tennessee Community College?

Southwest Tennessee Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 9,827 students, Black or African American (63.0%), White (20.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Southwest Tennessee Community College?

About 45.7% of students at Southwest Tennessee Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Southwest Tennessee Community College earn?

Median earnings are $33,407 six years after entry and $38,117 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Southwest Tennessee Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 19.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is Southwest Tennessee Community College public or private?

Southwest Tennessee Community College is a public institution located in Memphis, TN.

Is Southwest Tennessee Community College an HBCU?

No. Southwest Tennessee Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Southwest Tennessee Community College a tribal college?

No. Southwest Tennessee Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.