Active Report Report ID: EDU-219833-2026

Christian Brothers University

Memphis, TN 38104

Acceptance rate86.70%Broad access
Tuition$38,420Published sticker
Avg. net price$9,854After aid
Graduation rate54.71%150% time
Median salary$57,47810yr post-entry

About Christian Brothers University

Christian Brothers University is a private research university in Memphis, Tennessee, enrolling about 905 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 86.70% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $57,478 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Christian Brothers University charges 31% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($38,420).
  • Versus the Tennessee median, sticker tuition is about 2.5×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 54.71%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $57,478.

Research findings

01

Finding

Average net price at Christian Brothers University is about 74% below published tuition.

Published tuition is $38,420; average net price is $9,854 in the latest Scorecard extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.

Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.

02

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Christian Brothers University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1358% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

03

Finding

Christian Brothers University awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 57 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Christian Brothers University$38,420$9,8541
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Tennessee (state median)$15,120$7,80269
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 74% below published tuition at Christian Brothers University

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Christian Brothers University's average net price ($9,854) is 74% below published tuition ($38,420).
  • Christian Brothers University charges 31% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($38,420).
  • Versus the Tennessee median, sticker tuition is about 2.5×.
Published sticker

Christian Brothers University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $38,420

Finding Christian Brothers University charges 31% above the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $38,420. That is 31% above the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Tennessee median ($15,120), sticker tuition is about 2.5×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 3.2×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Christian Brothers University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Christian Brothers University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Christian Brothers University is $9,854.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $9,854 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $2,052 above the Tennessee median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $10,199 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Christian Brothers University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 74% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Christian Brothers University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Christian Brothers University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Completion, earnings, and net price together describe a campus where sticker price overstates typical undergraduate cost while outcomes remain at the high end of Scorecard distributions.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$38,420

Avg. net price

$9,854

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$9,466
$30,001–$48,000$11,657
$48,001–$75,000$10,023
$75,001–$110,000$12,839
$110,001+$5,843

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $153,680. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention74.9%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$48,592Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 20% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1098
  • Midpoint ACT: 22

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Christian Brothers University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Christian Brothers University is a good school for those looking for strong completion and solid mid-career earnings—especially where average net price sits well below published tuition (about 74% lower in this extract).

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomesNet price well below sticker
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Christian Brothers University.

Campus

Location

Memphis, TN

City / state

ZIP
38104
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 0.5× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Small Programs

Size

Enrollment

905

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,248
Graduate
617
Full-time share
92%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$27,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
30.98%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$39,416Estimated 4-year total cost
$9,854Average annual net price (after aid)
$153,6804-year tuition
$11,055Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,436Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$50,911Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$203,644Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Christian Brothers University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

30.98% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
29.07% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Christian Brothers University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Christian Brothers University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$28,210$28,210$6,336
2014$29,190$29,190$8,390
2015$30,166$30,166$8,065
2016$30,860$30,860$10,332
2017$31,870$31,870$9,468
2018$32,820$32,820$10,829
2019$33,840$33,840$11,900
2020$34,880$34,880$11,484
2021$34,820$34,820$13,143
2022$35,520$35,520$12,948
2023$37,300$37,300$10,896

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

86.70%Acceptance rate
1,105Total applicants
977Students admitted
200First-time students enrolled
20.47%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1098SAT average
22ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Christian Brothers University reported total enrollment of about 905 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 46% male and 54% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (23.5%), Black or African American (23.4%), and Hispanic or Latino (23.1%). About 30.98% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 35.9% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

92.3% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Christian Brothers University in 2024 is 905 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,248 students. Graduate enrollment is about 617 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

74.9%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

23.5%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian23.5%
  • Black or African American23.4%
  • Hispanic or Latino23.1%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown11.9%
  • Non-Resident Alien9.5%
  • Two or More Races6.1%
  • Asian1.8%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.5%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

41.48% 100% Completion Time

54.71% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 41.48% of students graduating from Christian Brothers University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Computer Systems Analysis/Analyst: 77% male / 23% female
  • Business Administration and Management, General: 45% male / 55% female
  • Physician Associate/Assistant: 20% male / 80% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

179White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian179
  • Black or African American113
  • Two or More Races54
  • Hispanic or Latino49
  • Asian14
  • American Indian or Alaska Native9
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Christian Brothers University graduates earn a median of $57,478 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Christian Brothers University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $57,478. Median federal loan debt: $27,000. Average net price used in cost models: $9,854.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Christian Brothers University graduates report median earnings of $57,478 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,358%Modeled return on investment
$27,000Median student debt
$57,478Median annual earnings (10 years)
46.97%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.7 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Christian Brothers University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (57 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Computer Systems Analysis/Analyst 173
  2. Engineering/Industrial Management 25
  3. Computer Science 16
  4. Accounting 15

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Christian Brothers University.

Employment Outcomes

$57,478Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$48,592Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$50,578Median earnings (8 years after entry)
92.41%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Christian Brothers University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Christian Brothers University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$41M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $46.2M

Year change: -$5.2M

  • Tennessee median 1.4× the median ($30.3M)
  • Southeast median 2.1× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 1.6× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $22,399

  • Tennessee median 1.3× the median ($17,566)
  • Southeast median 2.4× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 1.9× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Tennessee median 35.6 pp above median (64.4%)
    • Southeast median 40.6 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,036
    • Tennessee median 1.1× the median ($7,010)
    • Southeast median 1.2× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,137
    • Tennessee median 1.3× the median ($6,831)
    • Southeast median 1.4× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Christian Brothers University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Christian Brothers University

Memphis, TN 38104 · Private Non-profit · Southeast

Christian Brothers University is a private non-profit institution in Memphis, TN, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Small Programs.

Tuition$38,420
Avg. net price$9,854
Enrollment905
Acceptance rate86.70%
Completion (150%)54.71%
Average SAT1098
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Computer Systems Analysis/AnalystBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralPhysician Associate/Assistant
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian23.5%
Black or African American23.4%
Hispanic or Latino23.1%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near Christian Brothers University

Other campuses in Memphis, TN when available, plus nearby institutions in Tennessee.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Tennessee, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Christian Brothers University located?

Christian Brothers University is located in Memphis, TN.

What is Christian Brothers University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Christian Brothers University is 86.7% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1,105 applicants and 977 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Christian Brothers University's tuition?

Christian Brothers University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $38,420 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $9,854 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Christian Brothers University cost?

Reported tuition is $38,420 and average net price is $9,854 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $11,055 annually.

Why is Christian Brothers University's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Christian Brothers University, published tuition is $38,420 while average net price is $9,854—about 74% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Christian Brothers University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($9,854), completion (54.7% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($57,478). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Christian Brothers University?

Christian Brothers University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,248 students, White (23.5%), Black or African American (23.4%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Christian Brothers University?

About 35.9% of students at Christian Brothers University are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Christian Brothers University?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Christian Brothers University reports midpoint SAT about 1098 and midpoint ACT about 22.

What do graduates of Christian Brothers University earn?

Median earnings are $48,592 six years after entry and $57,478 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Christian Brothers University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 54.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Christian Brothers University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $27,000.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.