Active Report Report ID: EDU-481526-2026

The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics

Virginia Beach, VA 23452

Avg. net price$23,068After aid
Graduation rate92.65%150% time
Median salary$32,15810yr post-entry
ROI249%10yr vs net cost

About The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics

The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics is a private for-profit trade school in Virginia Beach, Virginia, enrolling about 271 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 92.65% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $32,158 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $32,158.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 249% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics—$23,0681
Private For-profit (national median)$16,757—494
Virginia (state median)$16,637$7,931110
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,860$20,6601,347
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics is $23,068.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $23,068 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $15,137 above the Virginia median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $2,408 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$23,068

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$22,370
$30,001–$48,000$23,141
$48,001–$75,000$23,381
$75,001–$110,000$25,931
$110,001+$26,285

Student outcomes

$28,755Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics.

Campus

Location

Virginia Beach, VA

City / state

ZIP
23452
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 12% above the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,660 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Southeast

Size

Enrollment

271

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
422
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$6,333

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
51.66%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$92,272Estimated 4-year total cost
$23,068Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics.

Financial Aid by Income Level

51.66% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
64.45% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013——$14,594
2014——$21,189
2015——$22,461
2016——$16,055
2017——$15,182
2018——$17,625
2019——$16,261
2020——$17,327
2021——$19,675
2022——$19,641
2023——$19,130

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics reported total enrollment of about 271 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 74% male and 99% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (39.1%), White (31.4%), and Two or More Races (12.6%). About 51.66% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 37.3% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics in 2024 is 271 students.

Over a full year, about 422 undergraduates enroll.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

39.1%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American39.1%
  • White or Caucasian31.4%
  • Two or More Races12.6%
  • Hispanic or Latino11.1%
  • Asian3.7%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1.1%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.7%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

2.94% 100% Completion Time

92.65% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 2.94% of students graduating from The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Aesthetician/Esthetician and Skin Care Specialist: 1% male / 99% female
  • Master Aesthetician/Esthetician: 0% male / 100% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

101Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American101
  • White or Caucasian88
  • Two or More Races28
  • Hispanic or Latino19
  • Asian9
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics graduates earn a median of $32,158 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $32,158. Median federal loan debt: $6,333. Average net price used in cost models: $23,068.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics graduates report median earnings of $32,158 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

249%Modeled return on investment
$6,333Median student debt
$32,158Median annual earnings (10 years)
19.69%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.0 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 2 programs by IPEDS completions (3 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics.

Employment Outcomes

$32,158Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$31,342Median earnings for graduates (5 years after graduation)
$28,755Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$33,634Median earnings (8 years after entry)
69.41%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $4,193
    • Virginia median 0.57× the median ($7,382)
    • Southeast median 0.64× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 0.58× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics at a glance

Institution snapshot

The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics

Virginia Beach, VA 23452 · Private For-profit · Southeast

The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics is a private for-profit institution in Virginia Beach, VA.

Avg. net price$23,068
Enrollment271
Completion (150%)92.65%
Pell Grant share51.66%
First-generation37.3%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Aesthetician/Esthetician and Skin Care SpecialistMaster Aesthetician/Esthetician
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American39.1%
White or Caucasian31.4%
Two or More Races12.6%
Nearby

Schools near The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics

Other campuses in Virginia Beach, VA when available, plus nearby institutions in Virginia.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Virginia, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics located?

The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics is located in Virginia Beach, VA.

How much does The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $23,068 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What explains The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($23,068), completion (92.7% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($32,158). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics?

The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics reports undergraduate enrollment of about 422 students, Black or African American (39.1%), White (31.4%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics?

About 37.3% of students at The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics earn?

Median earnings are $28,755 six years after entry and $32,158 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics?

The 150%-time completion rate is 92.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $6,333.

Is The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics public or private?

The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics is a private for-profit institution located in Virginia Beach, VA.

Is The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics an HBCU?

No. The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics a tribal college?

No. The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for The Chrysm Institute of Esthetics in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.