Adams State University
Alamosa, CO 81101
About Adams State University
Adams State University is a public research university in Alamosa, Colorado, enrolling about 1,250 students. Adams State University awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Published tuition for full-time study is about $9,824 per year before aid; net price varies by family income. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $44,372 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Adams State University charges about 1.8× the national public median tuition ($9,824).
- Versus the Colorado median, sticker tuition is 1% below.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 39.42%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $44,372.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Adams State University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 755% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adams State University | $9,824 | $12,980 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Colorado (state median) | $9,958 | $12,045 | 43 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Adams State University really?
Key findings
- Adams State University charges about 1.8× the national public median tuition ($9,824).
- Versus the Colorado median, sticker tuition is 1% below.
Adams State University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $9,824
Finding Adams State University charges about 1.8× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $9,824. That is about 1.8× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Colorado median ($9,958), sticker tuition is 1% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 17% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Adams State University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Adams State University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Adams State University is $12,980.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $12,980 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $935 above the Colorado median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $1,991 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Adams State University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Adams State University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Adams State University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$9,824
Out-of-state tuition
$21,944
Avg. net price
$12,980
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $9,947 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $10,392 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $11,921 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $15,787 |
| $110,001+ | $20,274 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $39,296. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Adams State University is known for
Top program completions
- Counseling Psychology443
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies114
- Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, Other98
- Business/Commerce, General80
- Business Administration and Management, General39
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Midpoint ACT: 21
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Adams State University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Adams State University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Adams State University.
Campus
Location
Alamosa, CO
City / state
- ZIP
- 81101
- NCES locale
- Town remote
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 13% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Rocky Mountains
- Carnegie
- Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs
Size
Enrollment
1,250
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 2,185
- Graduate
- 1,296
- Full-time share
- 73%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$19,500
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 37.80%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Adams State University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Adams State University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Adams State University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $7,449 | $18,081 | $14,319 |
| 2014 | $8,014 | $18,814 | $15,868 |
| 2015 | $8,574 | $19,086 | $16,212 |
| 2016 | $9,153 | $20,169 | $14,275 |
| 2017 | $9,440 | $20,456 | $13,742 |
| 2018 | $9,440 | $20,456 | $14,229 |
| 2019 | $9,440 | $20,864 | $14,064 |
| 2020 | $9,560 | $21,296 | $13,388 |
| 2021 | $9,680 | $17,933 | $14,305 |
| 2022 | $9,776 | $21,848 | $12,836 |
| 2023 | $9,776 | $21,848 | $14,173 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Midpoint 21 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Adams State University reported total enrollment of about 1,250 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 57% male and 43% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (41.0%), Hispanic or Latino (33.4%), and Black or African American (9.1%). About 37.80% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 41.5% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
73.2% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Adams State University in 2024 is 1,250 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,185 students. Graduate enrollment is about 1,296 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
50.7%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
19.66% 100% Completion Time
39.42% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 19.66% of students graduating from Adams State University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Counseling Psychology: 19% male / 81% female
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 42% male / 58% female
- Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, Other: 61% male / 39% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Adams State University graduates earn a median of $44,372 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Adams State University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $44,372. Median federal loan debt: $19,500. Average net price used in cost models: $12,980.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Adams State University graduates report median earnings of $44,372 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Adams State University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (31 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Adams State University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Adams State University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Adams State University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$62,673
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Colorado median 0.00× the median ($15.8M)
- Rocky Mountains median 0.00× the median ($19.5M)
- U.S. median 0.00× the median ($26.4M)
- Colorado median 0.00× the median ($5,882)
- Rocky Mountains median 0.00× the median ($10,274)
- U.S. median 0.00× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 50.4%
- Colorado median 17.5 pp below median (67.9%)
- Rocky Mountains median 22.9 pp below median (73.3%)
- U.S. median 7.6 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,123
- Colorado median near the median ($7,318)
- Rocky Mountains median near the median ($7,458)
- U.S. median 0.94× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,349
- Colorado median 1.4× the median ($6,731)
- Rocky Mountains median 1.4× the median ($6,852)
- U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Adams State University at a glance
Adams State University
Adams State University is a public institution in Alamosa, CO, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Counseling PsychologyLiberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesLiberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, Other
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian41.0%Hispanic or Latino33.4%Black or African American9.1%
Schools near Adams State University
Other campuses in Alamosa, CO when available, plus nearby institutions in Colorado.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Colorado, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Adams State University located?
Adams State University is located in Alamosa, CO.
What is Adams State University's tuition?
Adams State University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $9,824 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $12,980 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Adams State University cost?
Reported tuition is $9,824 and average net price is $12,980 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,820 annually.
What explains Adams State University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($12,980), completion (39.4% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($44,372). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Adams State University?
Adams State University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,185 students, White (41.0%), Hispanic or Latino (33.4%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Adams State University?
About 41.5% of students at Adams State University are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for Adams State University?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Adams State University reports midpoint ACT about 21.
What do graduates of Adams State University earn?
Median earnings are $38,338 six years after entry and $44,372 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Adams State University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 39.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Adams State University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $19,500.
Is Adams State University public or private?
Adams State University is a public institution located in Alamosa, CO.
Is Adams State University an HBCU?
No. Adams State University is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.