Active Report Report ID: EDU-157021-2026

American National University-Pikeville

Pikeville, KY 41501-1520

Tuition$12,456Published sticker
Avg. net price$17,010After aid
Graduation rate50.00%150% time
Median salary$28,18810yr post-entry
ROI314%10yr vs net cost

About American National University-Pikeville

American National University-Pikeville is a private for-profit two-year college in Pikeville, Kentucky, enrolling about 347 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $17,010 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $12,456. Student demographics in federal data include White (58.2%) and Black or African American (24.8%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • American National University-Pikeville charges 25% below the national private for-profit median tuition ($12,456).
  • Versus the Kentucky median, sticker tuition is 7% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 50.00%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $28,188.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at American National University-Pikeville is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 314% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
American National University-Pikeville$12,456$17,0101
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
Kentucky (state median)$11,652$5,76253
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is American National University-Pikeville really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • American National University-Pikeville charges 25% below the national private for-profit median tuition ($12,456).
  • Versus the Kentucky median, sticker tuition is 7% above.
Published sticker

American National University-Pikeville tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $12,456

Finding American National University-Pikeville charges 25% below the national private for-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $12,456. That is 25% below the national private for-profit median ($16,637). Versus the Kentucky median ($11,652), sticker tuition is 7% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 5% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private for-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at American National University-Pikeville versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at American National University-Pikeville versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at American National University-Pikeville is $17,010.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $17,010 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $11,248 above the Kentucky median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $2,039 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At American National University-Pikeville, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

American National University-Pikeville: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for American National University-Pikeville—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$12,456

Avg. net price

$17,010

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$16,977
$30,001–$48,000$19,093
$48,001–$75,000$14,394
$75,001–$110,000$16,396

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $49,824. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

$26,172Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is American National University-Pikeville a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

American National University-Pikeville is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for American National University-Pikeville.

Campus

Location

Pikeville, KY

City / state

ZIP
41501-1520
NCES locale
Town remote

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 14% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Business and Management

Size

Enrollment

347

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
564
Graduate
93
Full-time share
51%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$23,618

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
77.08%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$68,040Estimated 4-year total cost
$17,010Average annual net price (after aid)
$49,8244-year tuition
$7,960Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$882Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$21,298Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$85,192Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for American National University-Pikeville.

Financial Aid by Income Level

77.08% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
82.92% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at American National University-Pikeville was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for American National University-Pikeville in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$11,550$11,550$19,177
2014$11,550$11,550$18,179
2015$11,466$11,466$18,669
2016$14,886$14,886$18,808
2017$14,886$14,886$18,755
2018$17,361$17,361$20,312
2019$8,280$8,280$21,119
2020$11,136$11,136$20,059
2021$10,354$10,354$14,732
2022$10,314$10,314$15,782
2023$11,484$11,484$16,238

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

American National University-Pikeville reported total enrollment of about 347 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 6% male and 94% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (58.2%), Black or African American (24.8%), and Hispanic or Latino (8.9%). About 77.08% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 59.9% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

51.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at American National University-Pikeville in 2024 is 347 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 564 students. Graduate enrollment is about 93 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

58.2%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian58.2%
  • Black or African American24.8%
  • Hispanic or Latino8.9%
  • Two or More Races5.5%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.6%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.6%
  • Asian0.3%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

0.00% 100% Completion Time

50.00% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from American National University-Pikeville completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Truck and Bus Driver/Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor: 96% male / 4% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 9% male / 91% female
  • Medical/Clinical Assistant: 7% male / 93% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

47White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian47
  • Black or African American22
  • Asian17
  • Hispanic or Latino2
  • Two or More Races2
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

American National University-Pikeville graduates earn a median of $28,188 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of American National University-Pikeville.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $28,188. Median federal loan debt: $23,618. Average net price used in cost models: $17,010.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway American National University-Pikeville graduates report median earnings of $28,188 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

314%Modeled return on investment
$23,618Median student debt
$28,188Median annual earnings (10 years)
83.79%Debt-to-earnings ratio
8.4 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for American National University-Pikeville.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 9 programs by IPEDS completions (10 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at American National University-Pikeville.

Employment Outcomes

$28,188Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$26,172Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$24,935Median earnings (8 years after entry)
76.43%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for American National University-Pikeville graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for American National University-Pikeville—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $4,608
    • Kentucky median 0.75× the median ($6,182)
    • Southeast median 0.68× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.61× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $10,221
    • Kentucky median 1.8× the median ($5,808)
    • Southeast median 1.5× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

American National University-Pikeville at a glance

Institution snapshot

American National University-Pikeville

Pikeville, KY 41501-1520 · Private For-profit · Southeast

American National University-Pikeville is a private for-profit institution in Pikeville, KY, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Business and Management.

Tuition$12,456
Avg. net price$17,010
Enrollment347
Completion (150%)50.00%
Pell Grant share77.08%
First-generation59.9%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Truck and Bus Driver/Commercial Vehicle Operator and InstructorRegistered Nursing/Registered NurseMedical/Clinical Assistant
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian58.2%
Black or African American24.8%
Hispanic or Latino8.9%
Nearby

Schools near American National University-Pikeville

Other campuses in Pikeville, KY when available, plus nearby institutions in Kentucky.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Kentucky, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is American National University-Pikeville located?

American National University-Pikeville is located in Pikeville, KY.

What is American National University-Pikeville's tuition?

American National University-Pikeville tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $12,456 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $17,010 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does American National University-Pikeville cost?

Reported tuition is $12,456 and average net price is $17,010 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $7,960 annually.

What explains American National University-Pikeville's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($17,010), completion (50.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($28,188). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at American National University-Pikeville?

American National University-Pikeville reports undergraduate enrollment of about 564 students, White (58.2%), Black or African American (24.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend American National University-Pikeville?

About 59.9% of students at American National University-Pikeville are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of American National University-Pikeville earn?

Median earnings are $26,172 six years after entry and $28,188 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at American National University-Pikeville?

The 150%-time completion rate is 50.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do American National University-Pikeville students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $23,618.

Is American National University-Pikeville public or private?

American National University-Pikeville is a private for-profit institution located in Pikeville, KY.

Is American National University-Pikeville an HBCU?

No. American National University-Pikeville is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is American National University-Pikeville a tribal college?

No. American National University-Pikeville is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.