Active Report Report ID: EDU-180054-2026

Blackfeet Community College

Browning, MT 59417-0819

Tuition$3,610Published sticker
Avg. net price$5,410After aid
Graduation rate62.30%150% time
Median salary$22,95310yr post-entry
ROI961%10yr vs net cost

About Blackfeet Community College

Blackfeet Community College is a private two-year college in Browning, Montana, enrolling about 286 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $5,410 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $3,610. Student demographics in federal data include American Indian or Alaska Native (93.7%) and White (5.9%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Blackfeet Community College charges about 0.1× the national private non-profit median tuition ($3,610).
  • Versus the Montana median, sticker tuition is 27% below.
  • Average net price runs below the Montana median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 62.30%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $22,953.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Blackfeet Community College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 961% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Blackfeet Community College$3,610$5,4101
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Montana (state median)$4,961$12,03024
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Blackfeet Community College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Blackfeet Community College charges about 0.1× the national private non-profit median tuition ($3,610).
  • Versus the Montana median, sticker tuition is 27% below.
  • Average net price runs below the Montana median net price.
Published sticker

Blackfeet Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $3,610

Finding Blackfeet Community College charges about 0.1× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $3,610. That is about 0.1× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Montana median ($4,961), sticker tuition is 27% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.3×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Blackfeet Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Blackfeet Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Blackfeet Community College is $5,410.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $5,410 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $6,620 below the Montana median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Blackfeet Community College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Blackfeet Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Blackfeet Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$3,610

Avg. net price

$5,410

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$6,643
$30,001–$48,000$1,521
$48,001–$75,000$3,461
$75,001–$110,000$9,453

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $14,440. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention75.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$22,428Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Blackfeet Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Blackfeet Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Blackfeet Community College.

Campus

Location

Browning, MT

City / state

ZIP
59417-0819

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Rocky Mountains
Carnegie
Not classified (other)

Size

Enrollment

286

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
551
Full-time share
83%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
49.29%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$21,640Estimated 4-year total cost
$5,410Average annual net price (after aid)
$14,4404-year tuition
$9,734Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,300Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$14,644Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$58,576Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Blackfeet Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

49.29% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
0.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

Not reported 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Blackfeet Community College was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Blackfeet Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$2,510$2,510$10,692
2014$2,670$2,670$10,999
2015$2,890$2,890$11,787
2016$2,890$2,890$7,604
2017$3,493$3,493$7,230
2018$3,370$3,370$7,915
2019$3,370$3,370$9,462
2020$3,370$3,370$9,383
2021$3,610$3,610$8,528
2022$3,610$3,610$7,849
2023$3,610$3,610$6,319

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Blackfeet Community College reported total enrollment of about 286 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 31% male and 69% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes American Indian or Alaska Native (93.7%), White (5.9%), and Hispanic or Latino (0.4%). About 49.29% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 34.8% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

82.9% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Blackfeet Community College in 2024 is 286 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 551 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

75.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

93.7%American Indian or Alaska Native
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • American Indian or Alaska Native93.7%
  • White or Caucasian5.9%
  • Hispanic or Latino0.4%
  • Black or African American0.0%
  • Asian0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Two or More Races0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

0.00% 100% Completion Time

62.30% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Blackfeet Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Health Professions and Related Programs: 0% male / 100% female
  • Criminal Justice/Safety Studies: 38% male / 62% female
  • Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services, Other: 0% male / 100% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

53American Indian or Alaska Native
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • American Indian or Alaska Native53
  • White or Caucasian3
  • Black or African American0
  • Hispanic or Latino0
  • Asian0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
  • Two or More Races0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Blackfeet Community College graduates earn a median of $22,953 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Blackfeet Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $22,953. Average net price used in cost models: $5,410.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Blackfeet Community College graduates report median earnings of $22,953 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

961%Modeled return on investment
$22,953Median annual earnings (10 years)

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Blackfeet Community College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (17 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Health Professions and Related Programs 10
  2. Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services, Other 6
  3. Science Technologies/Technicians, Other 3
  4. Social Work 3

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Blackfeet Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$22,953Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$22,428Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$24,748Median earnings (8 years after entry)
69.92%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Blackfeet Community College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Blackfeet Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$5.3M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $16,158

Year change: $5.3M

  • Montana median 0.70× the median ($7.6M)
  • Rocky Mountains median 0.27× the median ($19.5M)
  • U.S. median 0.20× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $25,933

  • Montana median 1.9× the median ($13,979)
  • Rocky Mountains median 2.5× the median ($10,274)
  • U.S. median 2.1× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 50.0%
    • Montana median 19.6 pp below median (69.6%)
    • Rocky Mountains median 23.3 pp below median (73.3%)
    • U.S. median 8.0 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,432
    • Montana median 0.83× the median ($6,543)
    • Rocky Mountains median 0.73× the median ($7,458)
    • U.S. median 0.71× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $15,656
    • Montana median 1.6× the median ($9,613)
    • Rocky Mountains median 2.3× the median ($6,852)
    • U.S. median 2.1× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Blackfeet Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Blackfeet Community College

Browning, MT 59417-0819 · Private Non-profit · Rocky Mountains

Blackfeet Community College is a private non-profit institution in Browning, MT, classified as Not classified (other).

Tuition$3,610
Avg. net price$5,410
Enrollment286
Completion (150%)62.30%
Pell Grant share49.29%
First-generation34.8%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Health Professions and Related ProgramsCriminal Justice/Safety StudiesHuman Development, Family Studies, and Related Services, Other
Largest enrollment groups
American Indian or Alaska Native93.7%
White or Caucasian5.9%
Hispanic or Latino0.4%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near Blackfeet Community College

Other campuses in Browning, MT when available, plus nearby institutions in Montana.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Montana, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Blackfeet Community College located?

Blackfeet Community College is located in Browning, MT.

What is Blackfeet Community College's tuition?

Blackfeet Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $3,610 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $5,410 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Blackfeet Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $3,610 and average net price is $5,410 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,734 annually.

What explains Blackfeet Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($5,410), completion (62.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($22,953). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Blackfeet Community College?

Blackfeet Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 551 students, American Indian or Alaska Native (93.7%), White (5.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Blackfeet Community College?

About 34.8% of students at Blackfeet Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Blackfeet Community College earn?

Median earnings are $22,428 six years after entry and $22,953 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Blackfeet Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 62.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is Blackfeet Community College public or private?

Blackfeet Community College is a private nonprofit institution located in Browning, MT.

Is Blackfeet Community College an HBCU?

No. Blackfeet Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Blackfeet Community College a tribal college?

Yes. Blackfeet Community College is flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS (TRIBAL = Yes).

Is Blackfeet Community College a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Blackfeet Community College does not meet that proxy (reported share 0.4%).

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.