California Institute of Arts & Technology
National City, CA 91950
About California Institute of Arts & Technology
California Institute of Arts & Technology is a private for-profit trade school in National City, California, enrolling about 2,112 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. Typical net price after grant aid is about $32,637 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $22,270. Student demographics in federal data include Two or More Races (30.5%) and Black or African American (26.7%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- California Institute of Arts & Technology charges 34% above the national private for-profit median tuition ($22,270).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 2.8×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 56.10%.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| California Institute of Arts & Technology | $22,270 | $32,637 | 1 |
| Private For-profit (national median) | $16,637 | — | 477 |
| California (state median) | $8,093 | $8,343 | 287 |
| Rural (locale median) | $14,160 | $18,700 | 1,649 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is California Institute of Arts & Technology really?
Key findings
- California Institute of Arts & Technology charges 34% above the national private for-profit median tuition ($22,270).
- Versus the California median, sticker tuition is about 2.8×.
California Institute of Arts & Technology tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $22,270
Finding California Institute of Arts & Technology charges 34% above the national private for-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $22,270. That is 34% above the national private for-profit median ($16,637). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is about 2.8×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 1.9×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private for-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at California Institute of Arts & Technology versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at California Institute of Arts & Technology versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at California Institute of Arts & Technology is $32,637.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $32,637 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $24,294 above the California median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $13,937 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At California Institute of Arts & Technology, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
California Institute of Arts & Technology: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for California Institute of Arts & Technology—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$22,270
Avg. net price
$32,637
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $32,923 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $31,973 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $31,903 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $34,811 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $89,080. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What California Institute of Arts & Technology is known for
Top program completions
- Computer and Information Systems Security/Auditing/Information Assurance544
- Computer/Computer Systems Technology/Technician112
- Cloud Computing45
- Computer Software and Media Applications, Other43
- Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications15
See earnings & programs for more.
Is California Institute of Arts & Technology a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
California Institute of Arts & Technology is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for California Institute of Arts & Technology.
Campus
Location
National City, CA
City / state
- ZIP
- 91950
- NCES locale
- Rural fringe
Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 75% above the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).
Control
Institution type
Private For-profit
Control
- Region
- Far West
- Carnegie
- Special Focus Two-Year: Technical Professions
Size
Enrollment
2,112
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 3,669
- Full-time share
- 100%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$22,209
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 31.72%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for California Institute of Arts & Technology.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at California Institute of Arts & Technology was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for California Institute of Arts & Technology in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2017–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | $14,040 | $14,040 | — |
| 2018 | $14,040 | $14,040 | $36,119 |
| 2019 | $14,040 | $14,040 | $34,643 |
| 2020 | $15,390 | $15,390 | $30,633 |
| 2021 | $15,390 | $15,390 | $35,885 |
| 2022 | $15,390 | $15,390 | $35,758 |
| 2023 | $15,390 | $15,390 | $34,183 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
California Institute of Arts & Technology reported total enrollment of about 2,112 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 84% male and 16% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Two or More Races (30.5%), Black or African American (26.7%), and White (20.0%). About 31.72% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
100.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at California Institute of Arts & Technology in 2024 is 2,112 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 3,669 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
62.5%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
56.10% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from California Institute of Arts & Technology completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Computer and Information Systems Security/Auditing/Information Assurance: 82% male / 18% female
- Computer/Computer Systems Technology/Technician: 82% male / 18% female
- Cloud Computing: 80% male / 20% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
What do California Institute of Arts & Technology graduates earn—and in which programs?
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of California Institute of Arts & Technology.
Evidence Median federal loan debt: $22,209. Average net price used in cost models: $32,637.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for California Institute of Arts & Technology.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 7 programs by IPEDS completions (8 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at California Institute of Arts & Technology.
Employment Outcomes
Employment outcome data is not available for this institution.
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for California Institute of Arts & Technology graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for California Institute of Arts & Technology—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 53.7%
- California median 14.4 pp above median (39.3%)
- Far West median 8.0 pp above median (45.7%)
- U.S. median 4.2 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,595
- California median 0.55× the median ($10,166)
- Far West median 0.58× the median ($9,635)
- U.S. median 0.73× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: N/A
- California median 0.00× the median ($6,474)
- Far West median 0.00× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 0.00× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
California Institute of Arts & Technology at a glance
California Institute of Arts & Technology
California Institute of Arts & Technology is a private for-profit institution in National City, CA, classified as Special Focus Two-Year: Technical Professions.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Computer and Information Systems Security/Auditing/Information AssuranceComputer/Computer Systems Technology/TechnicianCloud Computing
- Largest enrollment groups
- Two or More Races30.5%Black or African American26.7%White or Caucasian20.0%
Schools near California Institute of Arts & Technology
Other campuses in National City, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is California Institute of Arts & Technology located?
California Institute of Arts & Technology is located in National City, CA.
What is California Institute of Arts & Technology's tuition?
California Institute of Arts & Technology tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $22,270 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $32,637 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does California Institute of Arts & Technology cost?
Reported tuition is $22,270 and average net price is $32,637 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $20,496 annually.
What is the student body demographics at California Institute of Arts & Technology?
California Institute of Arts & Technology reports undergraduate enrollment of about 3,669 students, Two or More Races (30.5%), Black or African American (26.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.
What is the graduation rate at California Institute of Arts & Technology?
The 150%-time completion rate is 56.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do California Institute of Arts & Technology students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $22,209.
Is California Institute of Arts & Technology public or private?
California Institute of Arts & Technology is a private for-profit institution located in National City, CA.
Is California Institute of Arts & Technology an HBCU?
No. California Institute of Arts & Technology is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is California Institute of Arts & Technology a tribal college?
No. California Institute of Arts & Technology is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is California Institute of Arts & Technology a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, California Institute of Arts & Technology does not meet that proxy (reported share 14.7%).
Is California Institute of Arts & Technology religiously affiliated?
No religious affiliation is reported for California Institute of Arts & Technology in IPEDS institutional characteristics.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- California college profile
- California college costs
- California colleges by ROI
- California trade schools profile
- National City, California city profile
- Far West regional profile
- Rural college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in California
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.