Active Report Report ID: EDU-110556-2026

California State University-Fresno

Fresno, CA 93740

Acceptance rate95.26%Broad access
Tuition$7,350Published sticker
Avg. net price$7,000After aid
Graduation rate56.96%150% time
Median salary$61,24410yr post-entry

About California State University-Fresno

California State University-Fresno is a public research university in Fresno, California, with about 21,605 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 95.26% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $61,244 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • California State University-Fresno charges 33% above the national public median tuition ($7,350).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is 9% below.
  • Average net price runs below the California median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 56.96%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $61,244.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at California State University-Fresno is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 2087% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

California State University-Fresno awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 97 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
California State University-Fresno$7,350$7,0001
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
California (state median)$8,093$8,343287
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 5% below published tuition at California State University-Fresno

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • California State University-Fresno's average net price ($7,000) is 5% below published tuition ($7,350).
  • California State University-Fresno charges 33% above the national public median tuition ($7,350).
  • Versus the California median, sticker tuition is 9% below.
  • Average net price runs below the California median net price.
Published sticker

California State University-Fresno tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $7,350

Finding California State University-Fresno charges 33% above the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $7,350. That is 33% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the California median ($8,093), sticker tuition is 9% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 38% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at California State University-Fresno versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at California State University-Fresno versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at California State University-Fresno is $7,000.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $7,000 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $1,343 below the California median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $13,053 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway California State University-Fresno’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 5% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

California State University-Fresno: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for California State University-Fresno—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$7,350

Out-of-state tuition

$19,950

Avg. net price

$7,000

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$5,105
$30,001–$48,000$5,429
$48,001–$75,000$7,196
$75,001–$110,000$10,291
$110,001+$16,899

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $29,400. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention81.6%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$44,012Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 19% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is California State University-Fresno a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

California State University-Fresno is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for California State University-Fresno.

Campus

Location

Fresno, CA

City / state

ZIP
93740
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 0.3× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Far West
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

21,605

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
23,850
Graduate
2,473
Full-time share
84%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$14,505

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
56.97%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$28,000Estimated 4-year total cost
$7,000Average annual net price (after aid)
$29,4004-year in-state tuition
$79,8004-year out-of-state tuition
$11,960Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,062Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$20,372Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$81,488Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for California State University-Fresno.

Financial Aid by Income Level

56.97% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
19.09% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at California State University-Fresno was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for California State University-Fresno in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$6,287$17,447$7,093
2014$6,299$17,459$6,265
2015$6,311$17,471$6,112
2016$6,313$17,473$5,874
2017$6,585$18,465$5,872
2018$6,587$18,467$6,452
2019$6,589$18,469$5,464
2020$6,643$18,523$6,230
2021$6,653$18,533$5,640
2022$6,663$18,543$6,744
2023$6,980$18,860$6,480

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

95.26%Acceptance rate
20,201Total applicants
19,469Students admitted
3,661First-time students enrolled
18.80%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

California State University-Fresno reported total enrollment of about 21,605 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 42% male and 58% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (63.2%), White (14.5%), and Asian (11.5%). About 56.97% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 53.2% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

84.4% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at California State University-Fresno in 2024 is 21,605 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 23,850 students. Graduate enrollment is about 2,473 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

81.6%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

63.2%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino63.2%
  • White or Caucasian14.5%
  • Asian11.5%
  • Black or African American3.0%
  • Two or More Races2.6%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.6%
  • Non-Resident Alien2.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

27.80% 100% Completion Time

56.96% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 27.80% of students graduating from California State University-Fresno completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business Administration and Management, General: 58% male / 42% female
  • Psychology, General: 19% male / 81% female
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 14% male / 86% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

3,507Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino3,507
  • White or Caucasian1,158
  • Asian642
  • Black or African American143
  • Two or More Races129
  • American Indian or Alaska Native20
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander9

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

California State University-Fresno graduates earn a median of $61,244 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of California State University-Fresno.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $61,244. Median federal loan debt: $14,505. Average net price used in cost models: $7,000.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway California State University-Fresno graduates report median earnings of $61,244 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

2,087%Modeled return on investment
$14,505Median student debt
$61,244Median annual earnings (10 years)
23.68%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.4 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for California State University-Fresno.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (97 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Criminology 364
  2. Agribusiness/Agricultural Business Operations 150
  3. Social Work 134

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at California State University-Fresno.

Employment Outcomes

$61,244Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$44,012Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$51,924Median earnings (8 years after entry)
92.17%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for California State University-Fresno graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for California State University-Fresno—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$218.2M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $199.9M

Year change: $18.3M

  • California median 11× the median ($19.7M)
  • Far West median 13× the median ($16.8M)
  • U.S. median 8.3× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $10,663

  • California median 1.4× the median ($7,407)
  • Far West median 1.5× the median ($7,260)
  • U.S. median 0.88× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 54.8%
    • California median 15.5 pp above median (39.3%)
    • Far West median 9.2 pp above median (45.7%)
    • U.S. median 3.1 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $11,540
    • California median 1.1× the median ($10,166)
    • Far West median 1.2× the median ($9,635)
    • U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,435
    • California median 1.5× the median ($6,474)
    • Far West median 1.3× the median ($7,030)
    • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

California State University-Fresno at a glance

Institution snapshot

California State University-Fresno

Fresno, CA 93740 · Public · Far West

California State University-Fresno is a public institution in Fresno, CA, classified as Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity.

Tuition$7,350
Avg. net price$7,000
Enrollment21,605
Acceptance rate95.26%
Completion (150%)56.96%
Pell Grant share56.97%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business Administration and Management, GeneralPsychology, GeneralLiberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino63.2%
White or Caucasian14.5%
Asian11.5%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near California State University-Fresno

Other campuses in Fresno, CA when available, plus nearby institutions in California.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within California, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is California State University-Fresno located?

California State University-Fresno is located in Fresno, CA.

What is California State University-Fresno's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at California State University-Fresno is 95.3% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 20,201 applicants and 19,469 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is California State University-Fresno's tuition?

California State University-Fresno tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $7,350 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $7,000 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does California State University-Fresno cost?

Reported tuition is $7,350 and average net price is $7,000 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $11,960 annually.

Why is California State University-Fresno's net price so much lower than tuition?

At California State University-Fresno, published tuition is $7,350 while average net price is $7,000—about 5% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains California State University-Fresno's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($7,000), completion (57.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($61,244). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at California State University-Fresno?

California State University-Fresno reports undergraduate enrollment of about 23,850 students, Hispanic or Latino (63.2%), White (14.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend California State University-Fresno?

About 53.2% of students at California State University-Fresno are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of California State University-Fresno earn?

Median earnings are $44,012 six years after entry and $61,244 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at California State University-Fresno?

The 150%-time completion rate is 57.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do California State University-Fresno students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $14,505.

Is California State University-Fresno public or private?

California State University-Fresno is a public institution located in Fresno, CA.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.