Active Report Report ID: EDU-169099-2026

Calvin Theological Seminary

Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4387

About Calvin Theological Seminary

Calvin Theological Seminary is a private research university in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Calvin Theological Seminary awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting.

School guide

Calvin Theological Seminary: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Calvin Theological Seminary—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Calvin Theological Seminary.

Campus

Location

Grand Rapids, MI

City / state

ZIP
49546-4387
NCES locale
Suburb

See Suburban college profile for median costs and outcomes at similar campuses.

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Great Lakes
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Other Health Professions Schools

Size

Enrollment

Graduate
367
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Calvin Theological Seminary.

Financial Aid by Income Level

0.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
0.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Calvin Theological Seminary was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Calvin Theological Seminary in that year.

Multi-year history is not in this profile yet. It is added when the institution cost history CSV has been collected and merged into school JSON.

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

N/A% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Calvin Theological Seminary in 2024 is N/A students.

Graduate enrollment is about 367 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

0.00% 100% Completion Time

0.00% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Calvin Theological Seminary completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Theology/Theological Studies: 86% male / 14% female
  • Divinity/Ministry: 65% male / 35% female
  • Missions/Missionary Studies: 58% male / 42% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

17White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian17
  • Asian7
  • Black or African American4
  • Hispanic or Latino4
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Two or More Races1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

What do Calvin Theological Seminary graduates earn—and in which programs?

Financial value and program completions for Calvin Theological Seminary from College Scorecard and IPEDS extracts.

Return on Investment

ROI data is not available for this institution.

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Calvin Theological Seminary.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 3 programs by IPEDS completions (4 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Missions/Missionary Studies 19

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Calvin Theological Seminary.

Employment Outcomes

Employment outcome data is not available for this institution.

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Calvin Theological Seminary graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Calvin Theological Seminary—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$56.5M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $52.4M

Year change: $4M

  • Michigan median 1.8× the median ($30.9M)
  • Great Lakes median 1.8× the median ($31.8M)
  • U.S. median 2.1× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $588,360

  • Michigan median 44× the median ($13,320)
  • Great Lakes median 35× the median ($16,690)
  • U.S. median 49× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 80.0%
    • Michigan median 15.9 pp above median (64.1%)
    • Great Lakes median 22.0 pp above median (58.1%)
    • U.S. median 22.1 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,917
    • Michigan median near the median ($8,917)
    • Great Lakes median 1.1× the median ($8,046)
    • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,881
    • Michigan median 1.4× the median ($7,240)
    • Great Lakes median 1.3× the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Calvin Theological Seminary at a glance

Institution snapshot

Calvin Theological Seminary

Grand Rapids, MI 49546-4387 · Private Non-profit · Great Lakes

Calvin Theological Seminary is a private non-profit institution in Grand Rapids, MI, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Other Health Professions Schools.

Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Theology/Theological StudiesDivinity/MinistryMissions/Missionary Studies
Nearby

Schools near Calvin Theological Seminary

Other campuses in Grand Rapids, MI when available, plus nearby institutions in Michigan.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers with the closest outcomes profile within Michigan (completion, retention, and earnings).

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Calvin Theological Seminary located?

Calvin Theological Seminary is located in Grand Rapids, MI.

How much does Calvin Theological Seminary cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is N/A in the latest College Scorecard data.

Is Calvin Theological Seminary public or private?

Calvin Theological Seminary is a private nonprofit institution located in Grand Rapids, MI.

Is Calvin Theological Seminary an HBCU?

No. Calvin Theological Seminary is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Calvin Theological Seminary a tribal college?

No. Calvin Theological Seminary is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Calvin Theological Seminary religiously affiliated?

Yes. IPEDS reports a religious affiliation for Calvin Theological Seminary: Christian Reformed Church.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.