Western Theological Seminary
Holland, MI 49423-3622
About Western Theological Seminary
Western Theological Seminary is a private research university in Holland, Michigan. Western Theological Seminary awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting.
Western Theological Seminary: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Western Theological Seminary—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
What Western Theological Seminary is known for
Top program completions
- Divinity/Ministry89
- Theology and Religious Vocations, Other62
- Theology/Theological Studies8
See earnings & programs for more.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Western Theological Seminary.
Campus
Location
Holland, MI
City / state
- ZIP
- 49423-3622
- NCES locale
- Town
See Town college profile for median costs and outcomes at similar campuses.
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Great Lakes
- Carnegie
- Special Focus Four-Year: Other Health Professions Schools
Size
Enrollment
- Graduate
- 397
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Western Theological Seminary.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Western Theological Seminary was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Western Theological Seminary in that year.
Multi-year history is not in this profile yet. It is added when the institution cost history CSV has been collected and merged into school JSON.
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
N/A% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Western Theological Seminary in 2024 is N/A students.
Graduate enrollment is about 397 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
N/A%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
0.00% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Western Theological Seminary completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Divinity/Ministry: 66% male / 34% female
- Theology and Religious Vocations, Other: 52% male / 48% female
- Theology/Theological Studies: 75% male / 25% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
What do Western Theological Seminary graduates earn—and in which programs?
Financial value and program completions for Western Theological Seminary from College Scorecard and IPEDS extracts.
Return on Investment
ROI data is not available for this institution.
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Western Theological Seminary.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 3 programs by IPEDS completions (4 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Western Theological Seminary.
Employment Outcomes
Employment outcome data is not available for this institution.
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Western Theological Seminary graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Western Theological Seminary—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$31.9M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Michigan median near the median ($30.9M)
- Great Lakes median near the median ($31.8M)
- U.S. median 1.2× the median ($26.4M)
- Michigan median 9.5× the median ($13,320)
- Great Lakes median 7.5× the median ($16,690)
- U.S. median 10× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 95.8%
- Michigan median 31.8 pp above median (64.1%)
- Great Lakes median 37.8 pp above median (58.1%)
- U.S. median 37.9 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,996
- Michigan median near the median ($8,917)
- Great Lakes median 1.1× the median ($8,046)
- U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $14,925
- Michigan median 2.1× the median ($7,240)
- Great Lakes median 1.9× the median ($7,690)
- U.S. median 2.0× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Western Theological Seminary at a glance
Western Theological Seminary
Western Theological Seminary is a private non-profit institution in Holland, MI, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Other Health Professions Schools.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Divinity/MinistryTheology and Religious Vocations, OtherTheology/Theological Studies
Schools near Western Theological Seminary
Other campuses in Holland, MI when available, plus nearby institutions in Michigan.
Similar schools
Peers with the closest outcomes profile within Michigan (completion, retention, and earnings).
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Western Theological Seminary located?
Western Theological Seminary is located in Holland, MI.
How much does Western Theological Seminary cost?
Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is N/A in the latest College Scorecard data.
Is Western Theological Seminary public or private?
Western Theological Seminary is a private nonprofit institution located in Holland, MI.
Is Western Theological Seminary an HBCU?
No. Western Theological Seminary is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Western Theological Seminary a tribal college?
No. Western Theological Seminary is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is Western Theological Seminary religiously affiliated?
Yes. IPEDS reports a religious affiliation for Western Theological Seminary: Reformed Church in America.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.