Active Report Report ID: EDU-172635-2026

Wayne County Community College District

Detroit, MI 48226

Tuition$3,112Published sticker
Avg. net price$7,656After aid
Graduation rate22.11%150% time
Median salary$29,07910yr post-entry
ROI850%10yr vs net cost

About Wayne County Community College District

Wayne County Community College District is a public community college in Detroit, Michigan, serving roughly 7,423 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $7,656 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $3,112. Student demographics in federal data include Black or African American (63.7%) and White (22.6%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Wayne County Community College District charges about 0.6× the national public median tuition ($3,112).
  • Versus the Michigan median, sticker tuition is about 0.2×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 22.11%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $29,079.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Wayne County Community College District is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 850% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

Wayne County Community College District awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 53 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Wayne County Community College District$3,112$7,6561
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Michigan (state median)$15,221$7,36896
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Wayne County Community College District really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Wayne County Community College District charges about 0.6× the national public median tuition ($3,112).
  • Versus the Michigan median, sticker tuition is about 0.2×.
Published sticker

Wayne County Community College District tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $3,112

Finding Wayne County Community College District charges about 0.6× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $3,112. That is about 0.6× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Michigan median ($15,221), sticker tuition is about 0.2×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.3×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Wayne County Community College District versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Wayne County Community College District versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Wayne County Community College District is $7,656.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $7,656 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $288 above the Michigan median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $12,397 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Wayne County Community College District, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Wayne County Community College District: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Wayne County Community College District—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$3,112

Out-of-state tuition

$4,067

Avg. net price

$7,656

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$7,641
$30,001–$48,000$7,139
$48,001–$75,000$8,058
$75,001–$110,000$10,306
$110,001+$14,026

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $12,448. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention54.4%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$21,336Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Wayne County Community College District a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Wayne County Community College District is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Wayne County Community College District.

Campus

Location

Detroit, MI

City / state

ZIP
48226
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 0.4× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Great Lakes
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

7,423

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
19,345
Full-time share
22%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$12,062

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
31.56%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$30,624Estimated 4-year total cost
$7,656Average annual net price (after aid)
$12,4484-year in-state tuition
$16,2684-year out-of-state tuition
$7,618Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$2,500Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$13,230Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$52,920Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Wayne County Community College District.

Financial Aid by Income Level

31.56% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
7.73% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Wayne County Community College District was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Wayne County Community College District in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$2,716$3,700$5,255
2014$2,808$3,772$5,729
2015$2,813$3,807$5,438
2016$2,838$3,842$5,506
2017$2,838$3,842$5,596
2018$2,886$3,842$5,139
2019$3,042$3,998$5,060
2020$3,042$3,998$4,757
2021$3,042$3,998$3,607
2022$3,042$3,998$4,816
2023$3,112$4,067$5,762

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Wayne County Community College District reported total enrollment of about 7,423 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 36% male and 64% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (63.7%), White (22.6%), and Two or More Races (6.9%). About 31.56% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 53.6% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

22.4% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Wayne County Community College District in 2024 is 7,423 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 19,345 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

54.4%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

63.7%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American63.7%
  • White or Caucasian22.6%
  • Two or More Races6.9%
  • Hispanic or Latino2.3%
  • Non-Resident Alien2.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.6%
  • Asian0.7%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

11.06% 100% Completion Time

22.11% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 11.06% of students graduating from Wayne County Community College District completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 29% male / 71% female
  • Truck and Bus Driver/Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor: 76% male / 24% female
  • Automobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/Technician: 88% male / 12% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,310Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American1,310
  • White or Caucasian372
  • Two or More Races98
  • Hispanic or Latino45
  • Asian18
  • American Indian or Alaska Native4
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander2

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Wayne County Community College District graduates earn a median of $29,079 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Wayne County Community College District.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $29,079. Median federal loan debt: $12,062. Average net price used in cost models: $7,656.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Wayne County Community College District graduates report median earnings of $29,079 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

850%Modeled return on investment
$12,062Median student debt
$29,079Median annual earnings (10 years)
41.48%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.1 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Wayne County Community College District.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (53 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Building/Property Maintenance 56
  2. Cyber/Computer Forensics and Counterterrorism 47

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Wayne County Community College District.

Employment Outcomes

$29,079Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$21,336Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$25,501Median earnings (8 years after entry)
78.46%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Wayne County Community College District graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Wayne County Community College District—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 13.5%
    • Michigan median 50.6 pp below median (64.1%)
    • Great Lakes median 44.6 pp below median (58.1%)
    • U.S. median 44.5 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $9,455
    • Michigan median 1.1× the median ($8,917)
    • Great Lakes median 1.2× the median ($8,046)
    • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $7,858
    • Michigan median 1.1× the median ($7,240)
    • Great Lakes median near the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Wayne County Community College District at a glance

Institution snapshot

Wayne County Community College District

Detroit, MI 48226 · Public · Great Lakes

Wayne County Community College District is a public institution in Detroit, MI, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Nontraditional.

Tuition$3,112
Avg. net price$7,656
Enrollment7,423
Completion (150%)22.11%
Pell Grant share31.56%
First-generation53.6%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesTruck and Bus Driver/Commercial Vehicle Operator and InstructorAutomobile/Automotive Mechanics Technology/Technician
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American63.7%
White or Caucasian22.6%
Two or More Races6.9%
Nearby

Schools near Wayne County Community College District

Other campuses in Detroit, MI when available, plus nearby institutions in Michigan.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within Michigan, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Wayne County Community College District located?

Wayne County Community College District is located in Detroit, MI.

What is Wayne County Community College District's tuition?

Wayne County Community College District tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $3,112 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $7,656 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Wayne County Community College District cost?

Reported tuition is $3,112 and average net price is $7,656 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $7,618 annually.

What explains Wayne County Community College District's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($7,656), completion (22.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($29,079). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Wayne County Community College District?

Wayne County Community College District reports undergraduate enrollment of about 19,345 students, Black or African American (63.7%), White (22.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Wayne County Community College District?

About 53.6% of students at Wayne County Community College District are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Wayne County Community College District earn?

Median earnings are $21,336 six years after entry and $29,079 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Wayne County Community College District?

The 150%-time completion rate is 22.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Wayne County Community College District students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $12,062.

Is Wayne County Community College District public or private?

Wayne County Community College District is a public institution located in Detroit, MI.

Is Wayne County Community College District an HBCU?

No. Wayne County Community College District is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Wayne County Community College District a tribal college?

No. Wayne County Community College District is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.