Chamberlain University-Illinois
Addison, IL 60101
About Chamberlain University-Illinois
Chamberlain University-Illinois is a private for-profit university in Addison, Illinois, with about 14,027 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 82.64% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $92,405 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Chamberlain University-Illinois charges 29% above the national private for-profit median tuition ($21,536).
- Versus the Illinois median, sticker tuition is 63% above.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 41.67%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $92,405.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Chamberlain University-Illinois is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 626% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chamberlain University-Illinois | $21,536 | $31,837 | 1 |
| Private For-profit (national median) | $16,637 | — | 477 |
| Illinois (state median) | $13,248 | $7,399 | 131 |
| Rural (locale median) | $14,160 | $18,700 | 1,649 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Chamberlain University-Illinois really?
Key findings
- Chamberlain University-Illinois charges 29% above the national private for-profit median tuition ($21,536).
- Versus the Illinois median, sticker tuition is 63% above.
Chamberlain University-Illinois tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $21,536
Finding Chamberlain University-Illinois charges 29% above the national private for-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $21,536. That is 29% above the national private for-profit median ($16,637). Versus the Illinois median ($13,248), sticker tuition is 63% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 1.8×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private for-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Chamberlain University-Illinois versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Chamberlain University-Illinois versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Chamberlain University-Illinois is $31,837.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $31,837 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $24,438 above the Illinois median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $13,137 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Chamberlain University-Illinois, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Chamberlain University-Illinois: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Chamberlain University-Illinois—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$21,536
Avg. net price
$31,837
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $30,013 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $30,090 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $34,050 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $32,607 |
| $110,001+ | $40,826 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $86,144. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Chamberlain University-Illinois is known for
Top program completions
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse9,802
- Family Practice Nurse/Nursing2,371
- Nursing Practice588
- 05.1381337
- Adult Health Nurse/Nursing253
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 77% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 868
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Chamberlain University-Illinois a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Chamberlain University-Illinois is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Chamberlain University-Illinois.
Campus
Location
Addison, IL
City / state
- ZIP
- 60101
- NCES locale
- Rural fringe
Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 70% above the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).
Control
Institution type
Private For-profit
Control
- Region
- Great Lakes
- Carnegie
- Special Focus Four-Year: Business and Management
Size
Enrollment
14,027
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 23,768
- Graduate
- 18,903
- Full-time share
- 32%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$20,919
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 33.28%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Chamberlain University-Illinois.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Chamberlain University-Illinois was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Chamberlain University-Illinois in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $17,280 | $17,280 | $22,021 |
| 2014 | $17,280 | $17,280 | $28,915 |
| 2015 | $18,000 | $18,000 | $22,432 |
| 2016 | $19,230 | $19,230 | $26,529 |
| 2017 | $19,375 | $19,375 | $22,359 |
| 2018 | $19,375 | $19,375 | $23,041 |
| 2019 | $19,900 | $19,900 | $25,598 |
| 2020 | $20,381 | $20,381 | $28,605 |
| 2021 | $20,250 | $20,250 | $23,638 |
| 2022 | $20,410 | $20,410 | $26,362 |
| 2023 | $20,604 | $20,604 | $26,933 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 868 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Chamberlain University-Illinois reported total enrollment of about 14,027 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 10% male and 90% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (41.5%), Black or African American (27.0%), and Hispanic or Latino (16.4%). About 33.28% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 47.3% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
32.3% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Chamberlain University-Illinois in 2024 is 14,027 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 23,768 students. Graduate enrollment is about 18,903 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
72.7%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
41.67% 100% Completion Time
41.67% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 41.67% of students graduating from Chamberlain University-Illinois completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 11% male / 89% female
- Family Practice Nurse/Nursing: 8% male / 92% female
- Nursing Practice: 10% male / 90% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Chamberlain University-Illinois graduates earn a median of $92,405 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Chamberlain University-Illinois.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $92,405. Median federal loan debt: $20,919. Average net price used in cost models: $31,837.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Chamberlain University-Illinois graduates report median earnings of $92,405 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Chamberlain University-Illinois.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (12 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Chamberlain University-Illinois.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Chamberlain University-Illinois graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Chamberlain University-Illinois—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 10.9%
- Illinois median 39.9 pp below median (50.8%)
- Great Lakes median 47.2 pp below median (58.1%)
- U.S. median 47.1 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,912
- Illinois median 0.92× the median ($8,563)
- Great Lakes median near the median ($8,046)
- U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,772
- Illinois median 0.37× the median ($7,575)
- Great Lakes median 0.36× the median ($7,690)
- U.S. median 0.38× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Chamberlain University-Illinois at a glance
Chamberlain University-Illinois
Chamberlain University-Illinois is a private for-profit institution in Addison, IL, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Business and Management.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Registered Nursing/Registered NurseFamily Practice Nurse/NursingNursing Practice
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian41.5%Black or African American27.0%Hispanic or Latino16.4%
- Opportunity College (2025)
- Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Schools near Chamberlain University-Illinois
Other campuses in Addison, IL when available, plus nearby institutions in Illinois.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Illinois, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Chamberlain University-Illinois located?
Chamberlain University-Illinois is located in Addison, IL.
What is Chamberlain University-Illinois's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Chamberlain University-Illinois is 82.6% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 70 applicants and 62 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Chamberlain University-Illinois's tuition?
Chamberlain University-Illinois tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $21,536 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $31,837 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Chamberlain University-Illinois cost?
Reported tuition is $21,536 and average net price is $31,837 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $15,448 annually.
What explains Chamberlain University-Illinois's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($31,837), completion (41.7% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($92,405). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Chamberlain University-Illinois?
Chamberlain University-Illinois reports undergraduate enrollment of about 23,768 students, White (41.5%), Black or African American (27.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Chamberlain University-Illinois?
About 47.3% of students at Chamberlain University-Illinois are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for Chamberlain University-Illinois?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Chamberlain University-Illinois reports midpoint SAT about 868.
What do graduates of Chamberlain University-Illinois earn?
Median earnings are $84,533 six years after entry and $92,405 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Chamberlain University-Illinois?
The 150%-time completion rate is 41.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Chamberlain University-Illinois students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $20,919.
Is Chamberlain University-Illinois public or private?
Chamberlain University-Illinois is a private for-profit institution located in Addison, IL.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.