Charles H McCann Technical School
North Adams, MA 01247-3999
About Charles H McCann Technical School
Charles H McCann Technical School is a public certificate and vocational school in North Adams, Massachusetts, enrolling about 41 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 100.00% at 150% of normal time. Student demographics in federal data include White (95.1%) and Black or African American (4.9%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Charles H McCann Technical School | — | $14,998 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Massachusetts (state median) | $34,256 | $12,244 | 93 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Charles H McCann Technical School really?
Evidence: average net price at Charles H McCann Technical School versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Charles H McCann Technical School is $14,998.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $14,998 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $2,754 above the Massachusetts median net price.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Charles H McCann Technical School: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Charles H McCann Technical School—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.
Financial profile
Avg. net price
$14,998
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $14,998 |
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Charles H McCann Technical School is known for
Top program completions
- Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training24
- Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General12
- Dental Assisting/Assistant5
- Medical/Clinical Assistant3
- Surgical Technology/Technologist1
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Charles H McCann Technical School a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Charles H McCann Technical School is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Charles H McCann Technical School.
Campus
Location
North Adams, MA
City / state
- ZIP
- 01247-3999
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- New England
Size
Enrollment
41
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 67
- Full-time share
- 100%
Student aid
Debt & aid
- Pell grant share
- 50.00%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Charles H McCann Technical School.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Charles H McCann Technical School was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Charles H McCann Technical School in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | — | — | $7,915 |
| 2014 | — | — | $7,939 |
| 2015 | — | — | $7,673 |
| 2016 | — | — | $7,680 |
| 2018 | — | — | $3,897 |
| 2019 | — | — | $8,042 |
| 2020 | — | — | $7,162 |
| 2021 | — | — | $8,276 |
| 2022 | — | — | $5,342 |
| 2023 | — | — | $9,909 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Charles H McCann Technical School reported total enrollment of about 41 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 7% male and 93% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (95.1%), Black or African American (4.9%), and Hispanic or Latino (0.0%). About 50.00% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
100.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Charles H McCann Technical School in 2024 is 41 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 67 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
100.0%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
100.00% 100% Completion Time
100.00% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 100.00% of students graduating from Charles H McCann Technical School completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training: 0% male / 100% female
- Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General: 0% male / 100% female
- Dental Assisting/Assistant: 20% male / 80% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
What do Charles H McCann Technical School graduates earn—and in which programs?
Financial value and program completions for Charles H McCann Technical School from College Scorecard and IPEDS extracts.
Return on Investment
ROI data is not available for this institution.
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Charles H McCann Technical School.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 5 programs by IPEDS completions (6 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Charles H McCann Technical School.
Employment Outcomes
Employment outcome data is not available for this institution.
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Charles H McCann Technical School graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Charles H McCann Technical School—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $18,505
- Massachusetts median 1.7× the median ($11,192)
- New England median 1.8× the median ($10,182)
- U.S. median 2.5× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Charles H McCann Technical School at a glance
Charles H McCann Technical School
Charles H McCann Technical School is a public institution in North Adams, MA.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse TrainingCosmetology/Cosmetologist, GeneralDental Assisting/Assistant
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian95.1%Black or African American4.9%Hispanic or Latino0.0%
Schools near Charles H McCann Technical School
Other campuses in North Adams, MA when available, plus nearby institutions in Massachusetts.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within Massachusetts, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Charles H McCann Technical School located?
Charles H McCann Technical School is located in North Adams, MA.
How much does Charles H McCann Technical School cost?
Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $14,998 in the latest College Scorecard data.
What is the student body demographics at Charles H McCann Technical School?
Charles H McCann Technical School reports undergraduate enrollment of about 67 students, White (95.1%), Black or African American (4.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.
What is the graduation rate at Charles H McCann Technical School?
The 150%-time completion rate is 100.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
Is Charles H McCann Technical School public or private?
Charles H McCann Technical School is a public institution located in North Adams, MA.
Is Charles H McCann Technical School an HBCU?
No. Charles H McCann Technical School is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Charles H McCann Technical School a tribal college?
No. Charles H McCann Technical School is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is Charles H McCann Technical School a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Charles H McCann Technical School does not meet that proxy (reported share 0.0%).
Is Charles H McCann Technical School religiously affiliated?
No religious affiliation is reported for Charles H McCann Technical School in IPEDS institutional characteristics.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- Massachusetts college profile
- Massachusetts college costs
- Massachusetts colleges by ROI
- Massachusetts trade schools profile
- North Adams, Massachusetts city profile
- New England regional profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in Massachusetts
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.