Active Report Report ID: EDU-154934-2026

Colby Community College

Colby, KS 67701

Tuition$4,140Published sticker
Avg. net price$7,886After aid
Graduation rate55.26%150% time
Median salary$41,88910yr post-entry
ROI1,228%10yr vs net cost

About Colby Community College

Colby Community College is a public community college in Colby, Kansas, enrolling about 838 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $7,886 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $4,140. Student demographics in federal data include White (72.2%) and Non-Resident Alien (8.1%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Colby Community College charges 25% below the national public median tuition ($4,140).
  • Versus the Kansas median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the Kansas median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 55.26%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $41,889.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Colby Community College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1228% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Colby Community College$4,140$7,8861
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Kansas (state median)$9,282$9,90560
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Colby Community College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Colby Community College charges 25% below the national public median tuition ($4,140).
  • Versus the Kansas median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the Kansas median net price.
Published sticker

Colby Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $4,140

Finding Colby Community College charges 25% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $4,140. That is 25% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Kansas median ($9,282), sticker tuition is about 0.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.3×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Colby Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Colby Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Colby Community College is $7,886.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $7,886 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $2,019 below the Kansas median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $7,085 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Colby Community College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Colby Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Colby Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$4,140

Out-of-state tuition

$5,830

Avg. net price

$7,886

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$7,707
$30,001–$48,000$13,160
$48,001–$75,000$13,160

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $16,560. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention65.7%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$38,878Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Colby Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Colby Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Colby Community College.

Campus

Location

Colby, KS

City / state

ZIP
67701
NCES locale
Town remote

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 0.5× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Plains
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

838

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
2,272
Full-time share
64%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$8,908

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
22.11%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$31,544Estimated 4-year total cost
$7,886Average annual net price (after aid)
$16,5604-year in-state tuition
$23,3204-year out-of-state tuition
$8,562Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,064Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$13,766Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$55,064Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Colby Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

22.11% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
17.96% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Colby Community College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Colby Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$3,136$4,864$6,050
2014$3,110$4,640$7,822
2015$3,150$4,920$8,489
2016$3,150$4,920$7,386
2017$3,450$5,130$7,866
2018$3,608$5,298$9,546
2019$3,698$5,385$9,905
2020$3,784$5,474$9,504
2021$3,863$5,553$9,673
2022$3,964$5,654$6,222
2023$4,046$5,736$8,021

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Colby Community College reported total enrollment of about 838 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 31% male and 69% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (72.2%), Non-Resident Alien (8.1%), and Black or African American (6.7%). About 22.11% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 40.3% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

63.8% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Colby Community College in 2024 is 838 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,272 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

65.7%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

72.2%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian72.2%
  • Non-Resident Alien8.1%
  • Black or African American6.7%
  • Hispanic or Latino5.5%
  • Two or More Races4.7%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.9%
  • Asian0.5%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.5%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

50.00% 100% Completion Time

55.26% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 50.00% of students graduating from Colby Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 37% male / 63% female
  • Veterinary Office Management/Administration: 3% male / 97% female
  • Nursing Assistant/Aide and Patient Care Assistant/Aide: 9% male / 91% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

364White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian364
  • Two or More Races34
  • Hispanic or Latino15
  • Black or African American8
  • American Indian or Alaska Native8
  • Asian4
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander2

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Colby Community College graduates earn a median of $41,889 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Colby Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $41,889. Median federal loan debt: $8,908. Average net price used in cost models: $7,886.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Colby Community College graduates report median earnings of $41,889 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,228%Modeled return on investment
$8,908Median student debt
$41,889Median annual earnings (10 years)
21.27%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.1 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Colby Community College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (21 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Veterinary Office Management/Administration 59
  2. Solar Energy Technology/Technician 49
  3. Telecommunications Technology/Technician 24

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Colby Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$41,889Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$38,878Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$38,582Median earnings (8 years after entry)
89.16%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Colby Community College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Colby Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$7.9M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $7.4M

Year change: $443,756

  • Kansas median 0.58× the median ($13.6M)
  • Plains median 0.33× the median ($24.1M)
  • U.S. median 0.30× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $7,844

  • Kansas median 0.51× the median ($15,453)
  • Plains median 0.52× the median ($15,020)
  • U.S. median 0.65× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 93.9%
    • Kansas median 28.7 pp above median (65.2%)
    • Plains median 29.2 pp above median (64.7%)
    • U.S. median 35.9 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,017
    • Kansas median 0.94× the median ($6,380)
    • Plains median 0.84× the median ($7,194)
    • U.S. median 0.79× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,116
    • Kansas median 0.78× the median ($6,600)
    • Plains median 0.63× the median ($8,150)
    • U.S. median 0.70× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Colby Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Colby Community College

Colby, KS 67701 · Public · Plains

Colby Community College is a public institution in Colby, KS, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional.

Tuition$4,140
Avg. net price$7,886
Enrollment838
Completion (150%)55.26%
Pell Grant share22.11%
First-generation40.3%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesVeterinary Office Management/AdministrationNursing Assistant/Aide and Patient Care Assistant/Aide
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian72.2%
Non-Resident Alien8.1%
Black or African American6.7%
Nearby

Schools near Colby Community College

Other campuses in Colby, KS when available, plus nearby institutions in Kansas.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Kansas, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Colby Community College located?

Colby Community College is located in Colby, KS.

What is Colby Community College's tuition?

Colby Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $4,140 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $7,886 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Colby Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $4,140 and average net price is $7,886 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $8,562 annually.

What explains Colby Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($7,886), completion (55.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($41,889). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Colby Community College?

Colby Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,272 students, White (72.2%), Non-Resident Alien (8.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Colby Community College?

About 40.3% of students at Colby Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Colby Community College earn?

Median earnings are $38,878 six years after entry and $41,889 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Colby Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 55.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Colby Community College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $8,908.

Is Colby Community College public or private?

Colby Community College is a public institution located in Colby, KS.

Is Colby Community College an HBCU?

No. Colby Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Colby Community College a tribal college?

No. Colby Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.