Active Report Report ID: EDU-155159-2026

Hays Academy of Hair Design

Hays, KS 67601

Avg. net price$14,612After aid
Graduation rate77.36%150% time
Median salary$23,71210yr post-entry
ROI306%10yr vs net cost

About Hays Academy of Hair Design

Hays Academy of Hair Design is a private for-profit trade school in Hays, Kansas, enrolling about 83 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 77.36% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $23,712 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $23,712.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Hays Academy of Hair Design is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 306% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Hays Academy of Hair Design$14,6121
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
Kansas (state median)$9,282$9,90560
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Hays Academy of Hair Design really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at Hays Academy of Hair Design versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Hays Academy of Hair Design is $14,612.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $14,612 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,707 above the Kansas median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $359 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Hays Academy of Hair Design: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Hays Academy of Hair Design—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$14,612

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$13,947
$30,001–$48,000$12,665
$48,001–$75,000$15,409
$75,001–$110,000$18,323
$110,001+$18,381

Student outcomes

First-year retention80.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$24,139Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Hays Academy of Hair Design a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Hays Academy of Hair Design is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Hays Academy of Hair Design.

Campus

Location

Hays, KS

City / state

ZIP
67601
NCES locale
Town remote

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 2% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Plains

Size

Enrollment

83

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
134
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$9,833

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
48.46%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$58,448Estimated 4-year total cost
$14,612Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Hays Academy of Hair Design.

Financial Aid by Income Level

48.46% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
45.38% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Hays Academy of Hair Design was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Hays Academy of Hair Design in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$12,943
2014$14,127
2015$14,124
2016$14,946
2017$14,629
2018$13,608
2019$13,149
2020$12,641
2021$14,044
2022$15,145
2023$14,744

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Hays Academy of Hair Design reported total enrollment of about 83 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 4% male and 96% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (74.7%), Hispanic or Latino (16.9%), and Two or More Races (4.8%). About 48.46% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 43.5% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Hays Academy of Hair Design in 2024 is 83 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 134 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

80.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

74.7%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian74.7%
  • Hispanic or Latino16.9%
  • Two or More Races4.8%
  • Black or African American1.2%
  • Asian1.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

41.51% 100% Completion Time

77.36% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 41.51% of students graduating from Hays Academy of Hair Design completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General: 0% male / 100% female
  • Real Estate Development: 0% male / 100% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

42White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian42
  • Hispanic or Latino13
  • Two or More Races2
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Black or African American0
  • Asian0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Hays Academy of Hair Design graduates earn a median of $23,712 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Hays Academy of Hair Design.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $23,712. Median federal loan debt: $9,833. Average net price used in cost models: $14,612.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Hays Academy of Hair Design graduates report median earnings of $23,712 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

306%Modeled return on investment
$9,833Median student debt
$23,712Median annual earnings (10 years)
41.47%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.1 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Hays Academy of Hair Design.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 2 programs by IPEDS completions (3 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Real Estate Development 16

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Hays Academy of Hair Design.

Employment Outcomes

$23,712Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$24,139Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$24,891Median earnings (8 years after entry)
85.33%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Hays Academy of Hair Design graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Hays Academy of Hair Design—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $4,315
    • Kansas median 0.65× the median ($6,600)
    • Plains median 0.53× the median ($8,150)
    • U.S. median 0.59× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Hays Academy of Hair Design at a glance

Institution snapshot

Hays Academy of Hair Design

Hays, KS 67601 · Private For-profit · Plains

Hays Academy of Hair Design is a private for-profit institution in Hays, KS.

Avg. net price$14,612
Enrollment83
Completion (150%)77.36%
Pell Grant share48.46%
First-generation43.5%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, GeneralReal Estate Development
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian74.7%
Hispanic or Latino16.9%
Two or More Races4.8%
Nearby

Schools near Hays Academy of Hair Design

Other campuses in Hays, KS when available, plus nearby institutions in Kansas.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Kansas, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Hays Academy of Hair Design located?

Hays Academy of Hair Design is located in Hays, KS.

How much does Hays Academy of Hair Design cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $14,612 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What explains Hays Academy of Hair Design's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($14,612), completion (77.4% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($23,712). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Hays Academy of Hair Design?

Hays Academy of Hair Design reports undergraduate enrollment of about 134 students, White (74.7%), Hispanic or Latino (16.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Hays Academy of Hair Design?

About 43.5% of students at Hays Academy of Hair Design are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Hays Academy of Hair Design earn?

Median earnings are $24,139 six years after entry and $23,712 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Hays Academy of Hair Design?

The 150%-time completion rate is 77.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Hays Academy of Hair Design students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $9,833.

Is Hays Academy of Hair Design public or private?

Hays Academy of Hair Design is a private for-profit institution located in Hays, KS.

Is Hays Academy of Hair Design an HBCU?

No. Hays Academy of Hair Design is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Hays Academy of Hair Design a tribal college?

No. Hays Academy of Hair Design is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Hays Academy of Hair Design a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Hays Academy of Hair Design does not meet that proxy (reported share 16.9%).

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.