Concordia University Texas
Austin, TX 78726
About Concordia University Texas
Concordia University Texas is a private research university in Austin, Texas, enrolling about 1,185 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 91.25% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $60,883 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Concordia University Texas charges 20% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($23,500).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 2.4×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 44.60%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $60,883.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Concordia University Texas is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 558% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Concordia University Texas | $23,500 | $23,131 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| Texas (state median) | $9,940 | $8,031 | 184 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 2% below published tuition at Concordia University Texas
Key findings
- Concordia University Texas's average net price ($23,131) is 2% below published tuition ($23,500).
- Concordia University Texas charges 20% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($23,500).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 2.4×.
Concordia University Texas tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $23,500
Finding Concordia University Texas charges 20% below the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $23,500. That is 20% below the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Texas median ($9,940), sticker tuition is about 2.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 2.0×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Concordia University Texas versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Concordia University Texas versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Concordia University Texas is $23,131.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $23,131 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $15,100 above the Texas median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $3,078 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway Concordia University Texas’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 2% lower after grants and scholarships.
Concordia University Texas: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Concordia University Texas—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$23,500
Avg. net price
$23,131
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $18,764 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $18,394 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $22,118 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $23,977 |
| $110,001+ | $32,280 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $94,000. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Concordia University Texas is known for
Top program completions
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse203
- Business Administration and Management, General93
- Education, General59
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies21
- Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods, Other20
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 12% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 988
- Midpoint ACT: 20
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Concordia University Texas a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Concordia University Texas is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Concordia University Texas.
Campus
Location
Austin, TX
City / state
- ZIP
- 78726
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 15% above the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Southwest
- Carnegie
- Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs
Size
Enrollment
1,185
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 1,479
- Graduate
- 208
- Full-time share
- 86%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$21,852
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 41.42%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Concordia University Texas.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Concordia University Texas was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Concordia University Texas in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $25,880 | $25,880 | $23,257 |
| 2014 | $26,960 | $26,960 | $21,195 |
| 2015 | $28,160 | $28,160 | $20,208 |
| 2016 | $29,260 | $29,260 | $20,323 |
| 2017 | $30,600 | $30,600 | $23,030 |
| 2018 | $31,810 | $31,810 | $22,858 |
| 2019 | $32,860 | $32,860 | $23,444 |
| 2020 | $33,800 | $33,800 | $25,079 |
| 2021 | $34,500 | $34,500 | $25,673 |
| 2022 | $35,620 | $35,620 | $23,883 |
| 2023 | $36,690 | $36,690 | $22,240 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 988 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 20 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Concordia University Texas reported total enrollment of about 1,185 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 36% male and 64% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (38.0%), White (36.2%), and Black or African American (13.4%). About 41.42% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 37.7% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
86.1% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Concordia University Texas in 2024 is 1,185 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,479 students. Graduate enrollment is about 208 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
58.3%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
30.05% 100% Completion Time
44.60% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 30.05% of students graduating from Concordia University Texas completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 12% male / 88% female
- Business Administration and Management, General: 44% male / 56% female
- Education, General: 36% male / 64% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Concordia University Texas graduates earn a median of $60,883 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Concordia University Texas.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $60,883. Median federal loan debt: $21,852. Average net price used in cost models: $23,131.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Concordia University Texas graduates report median earnings of $60,883 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Concordia University Texas.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (30 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Concordia University Texas.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Concordia University Texas graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Concordia University Texas—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$28.4M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Texas median 0.79× the median ($35.8M)
- Southwest median 1.2× the median ($23.2M)
- U.S. median 1.1× the median ($26.4M)
- Texas median 1.2× the median ($13,085)
- Southwest median 1.6× the median ($10,113)
- U.S. median 1.3× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
- Texas median 39.9 pp above median (60.1%)
- Southwest median 40.3 pp above median (59.7%)
- U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,271
- Texas median 0.88× the median ($7,150)
- Southwest median 0.89× the median ($7,078)
- U.S. median 0.82× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $7,086
- Texas median 1.4× the median ($5,060)
- Southwest median 1.2× the median ($5,699)
- U.S. median near the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Concordia University Texas at a glance
Concordia University Texas
Concordia University Texas is a private non-profit institution in Austin, TX, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Registered Nursing/Registered NurseBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralEducation, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino38.0%White or Caucasian36.2%Black or African American13.4%
- Opportunity College (2025)
- Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Schools near Concordia University Texas
Other campuses in Austin, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Concordia University Texas located?
Concordia University Texas is located in Austin, TX.
What is Concordia University Texas's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Concordia University Texas is 91.2% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 2,170 applicants and 1,976 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Concordia University Texas's tuition?
Concordia University Texas tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $23,500 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $23,131 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Concordia University Texas cost?
Reported tuition is $23,500 and average net price is $23,131 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $13,460 annually.
Why is Concordia University Texas's net price so much lower than tuition?
At Concordia University Texas, published tuition is $23,500 while average net price is $23,131—about 2% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains Concordia University Texas's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($23,131), completion (44.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($60,883). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Concordia University Texas?
Concordia University Texas reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,479 students, Hispanic or Latino (38.0%), White (36.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Concordia University Texas?
About 37.7% of students at Concordia University Texas are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for Concordia University Texas?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Concordia University Texas reports midpoint SAT about 988 and midpoint ACT about 20.
What do graduates of Concordia University Texas earn?
Median earnings are $48,058 six years after entry and $60,883 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Concordia University Texas?
The 150%-time completion rate is 44.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Concordia University Texas students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $21,852.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.