Coppin State University
Baltimore, MD 21216-3698
About Coppin State University
Coppin State University is a public research university in Baltimore, Maryland, enrolling about 1,844 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 45.83% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $46,490 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Coppin State University charges 29% above the national public median tuition ($7,100).
- Versus the Maryland median, sticker tuition is 32% below.
- Average net price runs below the Maryland median net price.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 26.22%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $46,490.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Coppin State University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 1065% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coppin State University | $7,100 | $9,977 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Maryland (state median) | $10,410 | $10,555 | 48 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Coppin State University really?
Key findings
- Coppin State University charges 29% above the national public median tuition ($7,100).
- Versus the Maryland median, sticker tuition is 32% below.
- Average net price runs below the Maryland median net price.
Coppin State University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $7,100
Finding Coppin State University charges 29% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $7,100. That is 29% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Maryland median ($10,410), sticker tuition is 32% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.6×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Coppin State University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Coppin State University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Coppin State University is $9,977.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $9,977 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $578 below the Maryland median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $10,076 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Coppin State University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Coppin State University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Coppin State University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$7,100
Out-of-state tuition
$14,024
Avg. net price
$9,977
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $7,714 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $9,135 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $12,636 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $17,141 |
| $110,001+ | $15,578 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $28,400. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Coppin State University is known for
Top program completions
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse49
- Criminal Justice/Safety Studies36
- Social Work26
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies24
- Psychology, General24
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
- Yield: 17% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 975
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Coppin State University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Coppin State University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Coppin State University.
Campus
Location
Baltimore, MD
City / state
- ZIP
- 21216-3698
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 0.5× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Mid East
- Carnegie
- Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus
Size
Enrollment
1,844
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 2,168
- Graduate
- 303
- Full-time share
- 84%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$25,000
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 53.92%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Coppin State University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Coppin State University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Coppin State University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $6,252 | $11,186 | $10,328 |
| 2014 | $6,624 | $11,885 | $9,363 |
| 2015 | $7,346 | $12,870 | $9,055 |
| 2016 | $7,438 | $13,168 | $9,346 |
| 2017 | $7,474 | $13,622 | $10,675 |
| 2018 | $8,873 | $15,144 | $10,422 |
| 2019 | $8,964 | $15,361 | $11,686 |
| 2020 | $6,716 | $13,113 | $10,105 |
| 2021 | $6,809 | $13,334 | $6,010 |
| 2022 | $6,904 | $13,560 | $7,865 |
| 2023 | $7,001 | $13,789 | $6,007 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 975 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Coppin State University reported total enrollment of about 1,844 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 26% male and 74% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (85.1%), Hispanic or Latino (4.7%), and Non-Resident Alien (4.2%). About 53.92% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 47.2% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
84.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Coppin State University in 2024 is 1,844 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,168 students. Graduate enrollment is about 303 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
66.2%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
10.54% 100% Completion Time
26.22% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 10.54% of students graduating from Coppin State University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 6% male / 94% female
- Criminal Justice/Safety Studies: 17% male / 83% female
- Social Work: 19% male / 81% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Coppin State University graduates earn a median of $46,490 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Coppin State University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $46,490. Median federal loan debt: $25,000. Average net price used in cost models: $9,977.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Coppin State University graduates report median earnings of $46,490 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Coppin State University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (37 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Coppin State University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Coppin State University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Coppin State University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$16.3M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Maryland median 0.36× the median ($44.9M)
- Mid East median 0.38× the median ($42.6M)
- U.S. median 0.62× the median ($26.4M)
- Maryland median 0.74× the median ($13,247)
- Mid East median 0.60× the median ($16,427)
- U.S. median 0.82× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 55.6%
- Maryland median 5.6 pp above median (50.0%)
- Mid East median 1.3 pp below median (56.9%)
- U.S. median 2.4 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,091
- Maryland median 1.1× the median ($8,806)
- Mid East median 1.2× the median ($8,119)
- U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $16,220
- Maryland median 1.6× the median ($10,120)
- Mid East median 1.8× the median ($9,164)
- U.S. median 2.2× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Coppin State University at a glance
Coppin State University
Coppin State University is a public institution in Baltimore, MD, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Registered Nursing/Registered NurseCriminal Justice/Safety StudiesSocial Work
- Largest enrollment groups
- Black or African American85.1%Hispanic or Latino4.7%Non-Resident Alien4.2%
Schools near Coppin State University
Other campuses in Baltimore, MD when available, plus nearby institutions in Maryland.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Maryland, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Coppin State University located?
Coppin State University is located in Baltimore, MD.
What is Coppin State University's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Coppin State University is 45.8% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 4,703 applicants and 2,331 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Coppin State University's tuition?
Coppin State University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $7,100 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $9,977 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Coppin State University cost?
Reported tuition is $7,100 and average net price is $9,977 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,006 annually.
What explains Coppin State University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($9,977), completion (26.2% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($46,490). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Coppin State University?
Coppin State University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,168 students, Black or African American (85.1%), Hispanic or Latino (4.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Coppin State University?
About 47.2% of students at Coppin State University are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for Coppin State University?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Coppin State University reports midpoint SAT about 975.
What do graduates of Coppin State University earn?
Median earnings are $42,243 six years after entry and $46,490 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Coppin State University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 26.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Coppin State University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $25,000.
Is Coppin State University public or private?
Coppin State University is a public institution located in Baltimore, MD.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.