Active Report Report ID: EDU-492096-2026

D&S School of Cosmetology

Waterford, MI 48328

Avg. net price$9,386After aid
Graduation rate81.82%150% time
Enrollment6Total students

About D&S School of Cosmetology

D&S School of Cosmetology is a private for-profit trade school in Waterford, Michigan, enrolling about 6 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 81.82% at 150% of normal time. Student demographics in federal data include Black or African American (66.7%) and White (16.7%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
D&S School of Cosmetology$9,3861
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
Michigan (state median)$15,221$7,36896
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is D&S School of Cosmetology really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at D&S School of Cosmetology versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at D&S School of Cosmetology is $9,386.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $9,386 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $2,018 above the Michigan median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $9,314 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

D&S School of Cosmetology: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for D&S School of Cosmetology—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$9,386

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$9,386

Student outcomes

First-year retention100.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is D&S School of Cosmetology a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

D&S School of Cosmetology is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completion
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for D&S School of Cosmetology.

Campus

Location

Waterford, MI

City / state

ZIP
48328
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is about 0.5× the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Great Lakes

Size

Enrollment

6

Total enrollment

Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
60.00%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$37,544Estimated 4-year total cost
$9,386Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for D&S School of Cosmetology.

Financial Aid by Income Level

60.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
50.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at D&S School of Cosmetology was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for D&S School of Cosmetology in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20192023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2019$9,582
2020$6,435
2021$13,950
2022$10,788
2023$10,082

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

D&S School of Cosmetology reported total enrollment of about 6 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 0% male and 100% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (66.7%), White (16.7%), and Asian (16.7%). About 60.00% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at D&S School of Cosmetology in 2024 is 6 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

100.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

66.7%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American66.7%
  • White or Caucasian16.7%
  • Asian16.7%
  • Hispanic or Latino0.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Two or More Races0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

18.18% 100% Completion Time

81.82% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 18.18% of students graduating from D&S School of Cosmetology completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General: 0% male / 100% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian1
  • Two or More Races1
  • Black or African American0
  • Hispanic or Latino0
  • Asian0
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

What do D&S School of Cosmetology graduates earn—and in which programs?

Financial value and program completions for D&S School of Cosmetology from College Scorecard and IPEDS extracts.

Return on Investment

ROI data is not available for this institution.

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for D&S School of Cosmetology.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 1 programs by IPEDS completions (2 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at D&S School of Cosmetology.

Employment Outcomes

Employment outcome data is not available for this institution.

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for D&S School of Cosmetology graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for D&S School of Cosmetology—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $1,395
    • Michigan median 0.19× the median ($7,240)
    • Great Lakes median 0.18× the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median 0.19× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

D&S School of Cosmetology at a glance

Institution snapshot

D&S School of Cosmetology

Waterford, MI 48328 · Private For-profit · Great Lakes

D&S School of Cosmetology is a private for-profit institution in Waterford, MI.

Avg. net price$9,386
Enrollment6
Completion (150%)81.82%
Pell Grant share60.00%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American66.7%
White or Caucasian16.7%
Asian16.7%
Nearby

Schools near D&S School of Cosmetology

Other campuses in Waterford, MI when available, plus nearby institutions in Michigan.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within Michigan, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is D&S School of Cosmetology located?

D&S School of Cosmetology is located in Waterford, MI.

How much does D&S School of Cosmetology cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $9,386 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What is the student body demographics at D&S School of Cosmetology?

D&S School of Cosmetology reports total enrollment of about 6 students, Black or African American (66.7%), White (16.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.

What is the graduation rate at D&S School of Cosmetology?

The 150%-time completion rate is 81.8% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is D&S School of Cosmetology public or private?

D&S School of Cosmetology is a private for-profit institution located in Waterford, MI.

Is D&S School of Cosmetology an HBCU?

No. D&S School of Cosmetology is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is D&S School of Cosmetology a tribal college?

No. D&S School of Cosmetology is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is D&S School of Cosmetology religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for D&S School of Cosmetology in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.