Active Report Report ID: EDU-187648-2026

Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus

Portales, NM 88130

Acceptance rate91.66%Broad access
Tuition$7,194Published sticker
Avg. net price$4,904After aid
Graduation rate45.09%150% time
Median salary$38,55010yr post-entry

About Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus

Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus is a public research university in Portales, New Mexico, serving roughly 3,357 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 91.66% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $38,550 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus charges 31% above the national public median tuition ($7,194).
  • Versus the New Mexico median, sticker tuition is about 3.1×.
  • Average net price runs below the New Mexico median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 45.09%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $38,550.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1865% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus$7,194$4,9041
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
New Mexico (state median)$2,289$5,90830
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 32% below published tuition at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus's average net price ($4,904) is 32% below published tuition ($7,194).
  • Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus charges 31% above the national public median tuition ($7,194).
  • Versus the New Mexico median, sticker tuition is about 3.1×.
  • Average net price runs below the New Mexico median net price.
Published sticker

Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $7,194

Finding Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus charges 31% above the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $7,194. That is 31% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the New Mexico median ($2,289), sticker tuition is about 3.1×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 40% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus is $4,904.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $4,904 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $1,004 below the New Mexico median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $10,067 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 32% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$7,194

Out-of-state tuition

$9,174

Avg. net price

$4,904

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$3,663
$30,001–$48,000$3,080
$48,001–$75,000$5,960
$75,001–$110,000$8,388
$110,001+$9,996

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $28,776. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention62.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$33,619Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 43% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 964
  • Midpoint ACT: 19

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus.

Campus

Location

Portales, NM

City / state

ZIP
88130
NCES locale
Town remote

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 0.3× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southwest
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs

Size

Enrollment

3,357

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
5,567
Graduate
1,486
Full-time share
72%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$16,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
35.71%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$19,616Estimated 4-year total cost
$4,904Average annual net price (after aid)
$28,7764-year in-state tuition
$36,6964-year out-of-state tuition
$8,446Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$950Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$16,590Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$66,360Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus.

Financial Aid by Income Level

35.71% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
18.91% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$4,558$10,069$9,410
2014$4,858$10,633$10,090
2015$4,858$10,633$9,938
2016$5,618$11,393$9,503
2017$6,013$11,788$8,801
2018$6,326$8,247$10,325
2019$6,450$8,448$9,516
2020$6,648$8,688$8,961
2021$6,648$8,688$4,994
2022$6,863$8,843$7,669
2023$6,863$8,843$6,199

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

91.66%Acceptance rate
2,085Total applicants
1,145Students admitted
490First-time students enrolled
42.79%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

964SAT average
19ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus reported total enrollment of about 3,357 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 37% male and 63% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (45.6%), White (35.8%), and Black or African American (5.8%). About 35.71% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 45.6% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

71.8% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus in 2024 is 3,357 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 5,567 students. Graduate enrollment is about 1,486 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

62.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

45.6%Hispanic or Latino
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Hispanic or Latino45.6%
  • White or Caucasian35.8%
  • Black or African American5.8%
  • Non-Resident Alien2.9%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.9%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2.7%
  • Two or More Races2.4%
  • Asian1.3%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.6%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

25.14% 100% Completion Time

45.09% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 25.14% of students graduating from Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 39% male / 61% female
  • Business Administration and Management, General: 39% male / 61% female
  • Audiology/Audiologist and Speech-Language Pathology/Pathologist: 12% male / 88% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

584Hispanic or Latino
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Hispanic or Latino584
  • White or Caucasian579
  • Black or African American59
  • Two or More Races46
  • American Indian or Alaska Native26
  • Asian20
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander8

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus graduates earn a median of $38,550 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $38,550. Median federal loan debt: $16,500. Average net price used in cost models: $4,904.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus graduates report median earnings of $38,550 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,865%Modeled return on investment
$16,500Median student debt
$38,550Median annual earnings (10 years)
42.80%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.3 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (49 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus.

Employment Outcomes

$38,550Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$33,619Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$36,430Median earnings (8 years after entry)
81.49%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$43.6M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $37.9M

Year change: $5.7M

  • New Mexico median 3.5× the median ($12.4M)
  • Southwest median 1.9× the median ($23.2M)
  • U.S. median 1.7× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $12,151

  • New Mexico median 1.7× the median ($6,968)
  • Southwest median 1.2× the median ($10,113)
  • U.S. median near the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 63.1%
    • New Mexico median 11.6 pp above median (51.4%)
    • Southwest median 3.3 pp above median (59.7%)
    • U.S. median 5.1 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,343
    • New Mexico median 1.2× the median ($7,218)
    • Southwest median 1.2× the median ($7,078)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $7,348
    • New Mexico median 0.74× the median ($9,936)
    • Southwest median 1.3× the median ($5,699)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus at a glance

Institution snapshot

Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus

Portales, NM 88130 · Public · Southwest

Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus is a public institution in Portales, NM, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.

Tuition$7,194
Avg. net price$4,904
Enrollment3,357
Acceptance rate91.66%
Completion (150%)45.09%
Average SAT964
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralAudiology/Audiologist and Speech-Language Pathology/Pathologist
Largest enrollment groups
Hispanic or Latino45.6%
White or Caucasian35.8%
Black or African American5.8%
Nearby

Schools near Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus

Other campuses in Portales, NM when available, plus nearby institutions in New Mexico.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within New Mexico, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus located?

Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus is located in Portales, NM.

What is Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus is 91.7% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 2,085 applicants and 1,145 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus's tuition?

Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $7,194 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $4,904 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus cost?

Reported tuition is $7,194 and average net price is $4,904 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $8,446 annually.

Why is Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus, published tuition is $7,194 while average net price is $4,904—about 32% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($4,904), completion (45.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($38,550). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus?

Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus reports undergraduate enrollment of about 5,567 students, Hispanic or Latino (45.6%), White (35.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus?

About 45.6% of students at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus reports midpoint SAT about 964 and midpoint ACT about 19.

What do graduates of Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus earn?

Median earnings are $33,619 six years after entry and $38,550 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus?

The 150%-time completion rate is 45.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Eastern New Mexico University-Main Campus students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $16,500.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.