Active Report Report ID: EDU-218025-2026

Florence-Darlington Technical College

Florence, SC 29501-0548

Tuition$4,636Published sticker
Avg. net price$2,004After aid
Graduation rate33.69%150% time
Median salary$32,74810yr post-entry
ROI3,985%10yr vs net cost

About Florence-Darlington Technical College

Florence-Darlington Technical College is a public community college in Florence, South Carolina, serving roughly 3,055 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $2,004 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $4,636. Student demographics in federal data include Black or African American (49.5%) and White (38.7%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Florence-Darlington Technical College charges 16% below the national public median tuition ($4,636).
  • Versus the South Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the South Carolina median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 33.69%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $32,748.

Research findings

01

Finding

Average net price at Florence-Darlington Technical College is about 57% below published tuition.

Published tuition is $4,636; average net price is $2,004 in the latest Scorecard extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.

Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.

02

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Florence-Darlington Technical College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 3985% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Florence-Darlington Technical College$4,636$2,0041
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
South Carolina (state median)$12,978$11,37663
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 57% below published tuition at Florence-Darlington Technical College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Florence-Darlington Technical College's average net price ($2,004) is 57% below published tuition ($4,636).
  • Florence-Darlington Technical College charges 16% below the national public median tuition ($4,636).
  • Versus the South Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the South Carolina median net price.
Published sticker

Florence-Darlington Technical College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $4,636

Finding Florence-Darlington Technical College charges 16% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $4,636. That is 16% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the South Carolina median ($12,978), sticker tuition is about 0.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Florence-Darlington Technical College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Florence-Darlington Technical College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Florence-Darlington Technical College is $2,004.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $2,004 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $9,372 below the South Carolina median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Florence-Darlington Technical College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 57% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Florence-Darlington Technical College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Florence-Darlington Technical College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Completion, earnings, and net price together describe a campus where sticker price overstates typical undergraduate cost while outcomes remain at the high end of Scorecard distributions.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$4,636

Out-of-state tuition

$6,772

Avg. net price

$2,004

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$1,589
$30,001–$48,000$1,913
$48,001–$75,000$2,414
$75,001–$110,000$3,783
$110,001+$6,708

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $18,544. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention58.2%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$27,042Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Florence-Darlington Technical College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Florence-Darlington Technical College is a good school for those looking for strong completion and solid mid-career earnings—especially where average net price sits well below published tuition (about 57% lower in this extract).

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomesNet price well below sticker
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Florence-Darlington Technical College.

Campus

Location

Florence, SC

City / state

ZIP
29501-0548

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Traditional

Size

Enrollment

3,055

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
4,844
Full-time share
39%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$12,250

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
46.86%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$8,016Estimated 4-year total cost
$2,004Average annual net price (after aid)
$18,5444-year in-state tuition
$27,0884-year out-of-state tuition
$14,058Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,488Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$20,182Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$80,728Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Florence-Darlington Technical College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

46.86% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
11.36% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Florence-Darlington Technical College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Florence-Darlington Technical College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$3,838$5,934$5,894
2014$3,934$6,022$7,065
2015$4,078$6,166$4,718
2016$4,174$6,262$3,066
2017$4,270$6,406$3,185
2018$4,462$6,598$7,740
2019$4,772$6,908$3,725
2020$4,766$6,902$1,958
2021$4,606$6,742$2,702
2022$4,636$6,772$2,362
2023$4,636$6,772$598

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Florence-Darlington Technical College reported total enrollment of about 3,055 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 33% male and 67% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (49.5%), White (38.7%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (6.6%). About 46.86% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 48.3% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

38.7% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Florence-Darlington Technical College in 2024 is 3,055 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,844 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

58.2%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

49.5%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American49.5%
  • White or Caucasian38.7%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown6.6%
  • Two or More Races2.3%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1.3%
  • Asian0.9%
  • Hispanic or Latino0.7%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

25.34% 100% Completion Time

33.69% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 25.34% of students graduating from Florence-Darlington Technical College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 13% male / 87% female
  • Welding Technology/Welder: 88% male / 12% female
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 50% male / 50% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

389White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian389
  • Black or African American239
  • Hispanic or Latino14
  • American Indian or Alaska Native13
  • Two or More Races11
  • Asian7
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Florence-Darlington Technical College graduates earn a median of $32,748 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Florence-Darlington Technical College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $32,748. Median federal loan debt: $12,250. Average net price used in cost models: $2,004.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Florence-Darlington Technical College graduates report median earnings of $32,748 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

3,985%Modeled return on investment
$12,250Median student debt
$32,748Median annual earnings (10 years)
37.41%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.7 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Florence-Darlington Technical College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (35 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services, Other 29

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Florence-Darlington Technical College.

Employment Outcomes

$32,748Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$27,042Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$28,766Median earnings (8 years after entry)
81.30%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Florence-Darlington Technical College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Florence-Darlington Technical College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$2.7M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $2.5M

Year change: $251,019

  • South Carolina median 0.21× the median ($12.8M)
  • Southeast median 0.14× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.10× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $1,282

  • South Carolina median 0.18× the median ($7,041)
  • Southeast median 0.14× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.11× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 44.0%
    • South Carolina median 16.7 pp below median (60.7%)
    • Southeast median 15.4 pp below median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 14.0 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,458
    • South Carolina median 0.95× the median ($6,831)
    • Southeast median 0.95× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.85× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $7,917
    • South Carolina median near the median ($8,125)
    • Southeast median 1.2× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Florence-Darlington Technical College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Florence-Darlington Technical College

Florence, SC 29501-0548 · Public · Southeast

Florence-Darlington Technical College is a public institution in Florence, SC, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Traditional.

Tuition$4,636
Avg. net price$2,004
Enrollment3,055
Completion (150%)33.69%
Pell Grant share46.86%
First-generation48.3%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Registered Nursing/Registered NurseWelding Technology/WelderLiberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American49.5%
White or Caucasian38.7%
Race/ethnicity unknown6.6%
Nearby

Schools near Florence-Darlington Technical College

Other campuses in Florence, SC when available, plus nearby institutions in South Carolina.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within South Carolina, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Florence-Darlington Technical College located?

Florence-Darlington Technical College is located in Florence, SC.

What is Florence-Darlington Technical College's tuition?

Florence-Darlington Technical College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $4,636 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $2,004 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Florence-Darlington Technical College cost?

Reported tuition is $4,636 and average net price is $2,004 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $14,058 annually.

Why is Florence-Darlington Technical College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Florence-Darlington Technical College, published tuition is $4,636 while average net price is $2,004—about 57% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Florence-Darlington Technical College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($2,004), completion (33.7% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($32,748). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Florence-Darlington Technical College?

Florence-Darlington Technical College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4,844 students, Black or African American (49.5%), White (38.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Florence-Darlington Technical College?

About 48.3% of students at Florence-Darlington Technical College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Florence-Darlington Technical College earn?

Median earnings are $27,042 six years after entry and $32,748 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Florence-Darlington Technical College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 33.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Florence-Darlington Technical College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $12,250.

Is Florence-Darlington Technical College public or private?

Florence-Darlington Technical College is a public institution located in Florence, SC.

Is Florence-Darlington Technical College an HBCU?

No. Florence-Darlington Technical College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.