Active Report Report ID: EDU-456542-2026

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine

Scranton, PA 18509

Tuition$16,203Published sticker
Avg. net price$31,675After aid
Median salary$84,62110yr post-entry
ROI568%10yr vs net cost

About Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine is a private research university in Scranton, Pennsylvania, enrolling about 88 students. Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Published tuition for full-time study is about $16,203 per year before aid; net price varies by family income. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $84,621 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine charges about 0.5× the national private non-profit median tuition ($16,203).
  • Versus the Pennsylvania median, sticker tuition is 19% below.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $84,621.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 568% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine$16,203$31,6751
Private Non-profit (national median)$30,216—1,451
Pennsylvania (state median)$19,975$13,558183
Town (locale median)$9,824$15,7451,516
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine charges about 0.5× the national private non-profit median tuition ($16,203).
  • Versus the Pennsylvania median, sticker tuition is 19% below.
Published sticker

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $16,203

Finding Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine charges about 0.5× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $16,203. That is about 0.5× the national private non-profit median ($30,216). Versus the Pennsylvania median ($19,975), sticker tuition is 19% below. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is 33% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine is $31,675.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $31,675 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $18,118 above the Pennsylvania median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $15,930 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Median earnings should be read with net price, debt, and completion—not as a standalone quality score.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$16,203

Avg. net price

$31,675

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$30,001–$48,000$28,090
$48,001–$75,000$28,607
$75,001–$110,000$32,286
$110,001+$34,235

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $64,812. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

$76,592Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine is a good school for those looking for strong graduate earnings outcomes in College Scorecard data.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine.

Campus

Location

Scranton, PA

City / state

ZIP
18509
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 2.0× the median for Town campuses ($15,745 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Mid East
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Medical Schools and Centers

Size

Enrollment

88

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
108
Graduate
577
Full-time share
39%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$10,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
38.64%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$126,700Estimated 4-year total cost
$31,675Average annual net price (after aid)
$64,8124-year tuition
$12,784Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,150Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$30,137Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$120,548Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine.

Financial Aid by Income Level

38.64% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
70.45% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2023–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2023$11,131$11,131—

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine reported total enrollment of about 88 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 12% male and 88% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (93.2%), Black or African American (3.4%), and Asian (2.3%). About 38.64% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

38.6% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine in 2024 is 88 students.

Over a full year, about 108 undergraduates enroll. Graduate enrollment is about 577 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

93.2%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian93.2%
  • Black or African American3.4%
  • Asian2.3%
  • Two or More Races1.1%
  • Hispanic or Latino0.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

N/A 100% Completion Time

N/A 150% Completion Time

In 2024, N/A of students graduating from Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Medicine: 48% male / 52% female
  • Biomedical Sciences, General: 30% male / 70% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 10% male / 90% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

120White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian120
  • Asian41
  • Black or African American25
  • Hispanic or Latino23
  • Two or More Races6
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine graduates earn a median of $84,621 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $84,621. Median federal loan debt: $10,500. Average net price used in cost models: $31,675.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine graduates report median earnings of $84,621 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

568%Modeled return on investment
$10,500Median student debt
$84,621Median annual earnings (10 years)
12.41%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.2 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 3 programs by IPEDS completions (4 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Medicine 115

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine.

Employment Outcomes

$84,621Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$82,886Median earnings for graduates (5 years after graduation)
$76,592Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$93,484Median earnings (8 years after entry)
100.00%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$5.1M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $5.8M

Year change: -$632,000

  • Pennsylvania median 0.11× the median ($47.9M)
  • Mid East median 0.12× the median ($42.6M)
  • U.S. median 0.20× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $7,885

  • Pennsylvania median 0.32× the median ($24,897)
  • Mid East median 0.48× the median ($16,427)
  • U.S. median 0.65× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Pennsylvania median 36.9 pp above median (63.1%)
    • Mid East median 43.1 pp above median (56.9%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,862
    • Pennsylvania median near the median ($8,003)
    • Mid East median near the median ($8,119)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $33,092
    • Pennsylvania median 3.8× the median ($8,615)
    • Mid East median 3.6× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 4.5× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine at a glance

Institution snapshot

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine

Scranton, PA 18509 · Private Non-profit · Mid East

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine is a private non-profit institution in Scranton, PA, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Medical Schools and Centers.

Tuition$16,203
Avg. net price$31,675
Enrollment88
Pell Grant share38.64%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
MedicineBiomedical Sciences, GeneralRegistered Nursing/Registered Nurse
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian93.2%
Black or African American3.4%
Asian2.3%
Nearby

Schools near Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine

Other campuses in Scranton, PA when available, plus nearby institutions in Pennsylvania.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within Pennsylvania, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine located?

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine is located in Scranton, PA.

What is Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine's tuition?

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $16,203 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $31,675 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine cost?

Reported tuition is $16,203 and average net price is $31,675 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,784 annually.

What is the student body demographics at Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine?

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine reports undergraduate enrollment of about 108 students, White (93.2%), Black or African American (3.4%) in federal College Scorecard data.

What do graduates of Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine earn?

Median earnings are $76,592 six years after entry and $84,621 ten years after entry.

How much debt do Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $10,500.

Is Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine public or private?

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine is a private nonprofit institution located in Scranton, PA.

Is Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine an HBCU?

No. Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine a tribal college?

No. Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.