Active Report Report ID: EDU-101286-2026

George C Wallace Community College-Dothan

Dothan, AL 36303-9234

Tuition$5,400Published sticker
Avg. net price$772After aid
Graduation rate36.03%150% time
Median salary$36,88810yr post-entry
ROI11,846%10yr vs net cost

About George C Wallace Community College-Dothan

George C Wallace Community College-Dothan is a public community college in Dothan, Alabama, serving roughly 3,017 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $772 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $5,400. Student demographics in federal data include White (51.2%) and Black or African American (33.5%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • George C Wallace Community College-Dothan charges 5% below the national public median tuition ($5,400).
  • Versus the Alabama median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
  • Average net price runs below the Alabama median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 36.03%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $36,888.

Research findings

01

Finding

Average net price at George C Wallace Community College-Dothan is about 86% below published tuition.

Published tuition is $5,400; average net price is $772 in the latest Scorecard extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.

Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.

02

Finding

Modeled return on investment at George C Wallace Community College-Dothan is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 11846% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
George C Wallace Community College-Dothan$5,400$7721
Public (national median)$5,700—1,692
Alabama (state median)$10,476$8,93161
Town (locale median)$9,824$15,7451,516
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 86% below published tuition at George C Wallace Community College-Dothan

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • George C Wallace Community College-Dothan's average net price ($772) is 86% below published tuition ($5,400).
  • George C Wallace Community College-Dothan charges 5% below the national public median tuition ($5,400).
  • Versus the Alabama median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
  • Average net price runs below the Alabama median net price.
Published sticker

George C Wallace Community College-Dothan tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $5,400

Finding George C Wallace Community College-Dothan charges 5% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $5,400. That is 5% below the national public median ($5,700). Versus the Alabama median ($10,476), sticker tuition is about 0.5×. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is about 0.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at George C Wallace Community College-Dothan versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at George C Wallace Community College-Dothan versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at George C Wallace Community College-Dothan is $772.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $772 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $8,159 below the Alabama median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $14,973 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway George C Wallace Community College-Dothan’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 86% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

George C Wallace Community College-Dothan: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for George C Wallace Community College-Dothan—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Completion, earnings, and net price together describe a campus where sticker price overstates typical undergraduate cost while outcomes remain at the high end of Scorecard distributions.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$5,400

Out-of-state tuition

$9,330

Avg. net price

$772

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$1,097
$48,001–$75,000$98
$75,001–$110,000$2,135

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $21,600. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention62.5%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$32,948Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is George C Wallace Community College-Dothan a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

George C Wallace Community College-Dothan is a good school for those looking for strong completion and solid mid-career earnings—especially where average net price sits well below published tuition (about 86% lower in this extract).

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomesNet price well below sticker
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for George C Wallace Community College-Dothan.

Campus

Location

Dothan, AL

City / state

ZIP
36303-9234
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 0.0× the median for Town campuses ($15,745 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Career & Technical-High Traditional

Size

Enrollment

3,017

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
5,533
Full-time share
39%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
49.04%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$3,088Estimated 4-year total cost
$772Average annual net price (after aid)
$21,6004-year in-state tuition
$37,3204-year out-of-state tuition
$9,450Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,200Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$16,050Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$64,200Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for George C Wallace Community College-Dothan.

Financial Aid by Income Level

49.04% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
2.72% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

Not reported 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at George C Wallace Community College-Dothan was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for George C Wallace Community College-Dothan in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$3,900$7,230$2,681
2014$3,960$7,350$3,115
2015$4,260$7,710$3,067
2016$4,320$7,830$3,321
2017$4,380$7,950$2,664
2018$4,680$8,550$1,277
2019$4,740$8,670$1,790
2020$4,800$8,790$1,384
2021$4,800$8,790$1,520
2022$4,860$8,610$1,493
2023$4,920$8,730$2,697

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

George C Wallace Community College-Dothan reported total enrollment of about 3,017 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 28% male and 72% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (51.2%), Black or African American (33.5%), and Hispanic or Latino (8.0%). About 49.04% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 48.5% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

39.2% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at George C Wallace Community College-Dothan in 2024 is 3,017 students.

Over a full year, about 5,533 undergraduates enroll.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

62.5%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

51.2%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian51.2%
  • Black or African American33.5%
  • Hispanic or Latino8.0%
  • Two or More Races5.7%
  • Asian0.9%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.2%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

21.46% 100% Completion Time

36.03% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 21.46% of students graduating from George C Wallace Community College-Dothan completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • General Studies: 37% male / 63% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 9% male / 91% female
  • Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General: 0% male / 100% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

683White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian683
  • Black or African American315
  • Two or More Races84
  • Hispanic or Latino27
  • Asian16
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander3
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

George C Wallace Community College-Dothan graduates earn a median of $36,888 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of George C Wallace Community College-Dothan.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $36,888. Average net price used in cost models: $772.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway George C Wallace Community College-Dothan graduates report median earnings of $36,888 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

11,846%Modeled return on investment
$36,888Median annual earnings (10 years)

Employment Outcomes

$36,888Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$46,843Median earnings for graduates (5 years after graduation)
$32,948Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$34,461Median earnings (8 years after entry)
86.17%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for George C Wallace Community College-Dothan graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for George C Wallace Community College-Dothan—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$173,420

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $160,538

Year change: $12,882

  • Alabama median 0.01× the median ($14.3M)
  • Southeast median 0.01× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.01× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $65

  • Alabama median 0.01× the median ($8,561)
  • Southeast median 0.01× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.01× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 78.8%
    • Alabama median 29.5 pp above median (49.2%)
    • Southeast median 19.3 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 20.8 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,406
    • Alabama median near the median ($7,502)
    • Southeast median 1.1× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $7,846
    • Alabama median 1.1× the median ($7,192)
    • Southeast median 1.2× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

George C Wallace Community College-Dothan at a glance

Institution snapshot

George C Wallace Community College-Dothan

Dothan, AL 36303-9234 · Public · Southeast

George C Wallace Community College-Dothan is a public institution in Dothan, AL, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Career & Technical-High Traditional.

Tuition$5,400
Avg. net price$772
Enrollment3,017
Completion (150%)36.03%
Pell Grant share49.04%
First-generation48.5%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
General StudiesRegistered Nursing/Registered NurseCosmetology/Cosmetologist, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian51.2%
Black or African American33.5%
Hispanic or Latino8.0%
Nearby

Schools near George C Wallace Community College-Dothan

Other campuses in Dothan, AL when available, plus nearby institutions in Alabama.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Alabama, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is George C Wallace Community College-Dothan located?

George C Wallace Community College-Dothan is located in Dothan, AL.

What is George C Wallace Community College-Dothan's tuition?

George C Wallace Community College-Dothan tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $5,400 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $772 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does George C Wallace Community College-Dothan cost?

Reported tuition is $5,400 and average net price is $772 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,450 annually.

Why is George C Wallace Community College-Dothan's net price so much lower than tuition?

At George C Wallace Community College-Dothan, published tuition is $5,400 while average net price is $772—about 86% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains George C Wallace Community College-Dothan's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($772), completion (36.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($36,888). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at George C Wallace Community College-Dothan?

George C Wallace Community College-Dothan reports undergraduate enrollment of about 5,533 students, White (51.2%), Black or African American (33.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend George C Wallace Community College-Dothan?

About 48.5% of students at George C Wallace Community College-Dothan are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of George C Wallace Community College-Dothan earn?

Median earnings are $32,948 six years after entry and $36,888 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at George C Wallace Community College-Dothan?

The 150%-time completion rate is 36.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is George C Wallace Community College-Dothan public or private?

George C Wallace Community College-Dothan is a public institution located in Dothan, AL.

Is George C Wallace Community College-Dothan an HBCU?

No. George C Wallace Community College-Dothan is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is George C Wallace Community College-Dothan a tribal college?

No. George C Wallace Community College-Dothan is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.