Active Report Report ID: EDU-487524-2026

Husson University

Bangor, ME 04401-2929

Acceptance rate80.95%Broad access
Tuition$23,304Published sticker
Avg. net price$21,005After aid
Graduation rate59.35%150% time
Median salary$45,02510yr post-entry

About Husson University

Husson University is a private research university in Bangor, Maine, serving roughly 2,618 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 80.95% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $45,025 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Husson University charges 21% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($23,304).
  • Versus the Maine median, sticker tuition is about 1.8×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 59.35%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $45,025.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Husson University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 436% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

Husson University awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 64 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Husson University$23,304$21,0051
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Maine (state median)$12,983$8,20528
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 10% below published tuition at Husson University

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Husson University's average net price ($21,005) is 10% below published tuition ($23,304).
  • Husson University charges 21% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($23,304).
  • Versus the Maine median, sticker tuition is about 1.8×.
Published sticker

Husson University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $23,304

Finding Husson University charges 21% below the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $23,304. That is 21% below the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Maine median ($12,983), sticker tuition is about 1.8×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 2.0×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Husson University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Husson University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Husson University is $21,005.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $21,005 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $12,800 above the Maine median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $6,034 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Husson University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 10% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Husson University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Husson University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$23,304

Avg. net price

$21,005

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$16,606
$30,001–$48,000$16,898
$48,001–$75,000$17,496
$75,001–$110,000$21,273
$110,001+$25,262

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $93,216. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention75.3%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$41,554Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 27% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1180

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Husson University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Husson University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Husson University.

Campus

Location

Bangor, ME

City / state

ZIP
04401-2929
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 40% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
New England
Carnegie
Doctoral/Professional Universities

Size

Enrollment

2,618

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
3,731
Graduate
604
Full-time share
73%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$27,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
38.81%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$84,020Estimated 4-year total cost
$21,005Average annual net price (after aid)
$93,2164-year tuition
$12,682Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,150Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$37,136Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$148,544Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Husson University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

38.81% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
71.68% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Husson University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Husson University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20152023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2015$16,582$16,582$18,559
2016$17,035$17,035$19,584
2017$17,561$17,561$19,280
2018$18,170$18,170$18,358
2019$18,940$18,940$18,286
2020$19,772$19,772$19,122
2021$20,430$20,430$19,688
2022$21,090$21,090$19,517
2023$22,194$22,194$20,798

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

80.95%Acceptance rate
2,543Total applicants
2,198Students admitted
586First-time students enrolled
26.66%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1180SAT average

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Husson University reported total enrollment of about 2,618 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 35% male and 65% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (79.5%), Two or More Races (5.8%), and Black or African American (5.8%). About 38.81% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 32.2% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

72.5% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Husson University in 2024 is 2,618 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 3,731 students. Graduate enrollment is about 604 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

75.3%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

79.5%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian79.5%
  • Two or More Races5.8%
  • Black or African American5.8%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown3.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien2.8%
  • Asian1.6%
  • Hispanic or Latino0.7%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

43.94% 100% Completion Time

59.35% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 43.94% of students graduating from Husson University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business Administration and Management, General: 53% male / 47% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 14% male / 86% female
  • Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration: 56% male / 44% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

765White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian765
  • Two or More Races35
  • Black or African American30
  • Hispanic or Latino11
  • Asian11
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Husson University graduates earn a median of $45,025 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Husson University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $45,025. Median federal loan debt: $27,000. Average net price used in cost models: $21,005.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Husson University graduates report median earnings of $45,025 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

436%Modeled return on investment
$27,000Median student debt
$45,025Median annual earnings (10 years)
59.97%Debt-to-earnings ratio
6.0 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Husson University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (64 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Recording Arts Technology/Technician 35
  2. 05.1381 28

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Husson University.

Employment Outcomes

$45,025Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$41,554Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$44,467Median earnings (8 years after entry)
10.52%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Husson University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Husson University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$28.2M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $24.2M

Year change: $3.9M

  • Maine median 1.8× the median ($15.4M)
  • New England median 0.66× the median ($42.9M)
  • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $9,918

  • Maine median 0.82× the median ($12,087)
  • New England median 0.43× the median ($23,268)
  • U.S. median 0.82× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 98.3%
    • Maine median 45.2 pp above median (53.1%)
    • New England median 45.0 pp above median (53.3%)
    • U.S. median 40.3 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,935
    • Maine median near the median ($7,625)
    • New England median 0.86× the median ($9,262)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,867
    • Maine median 0.71× the median ($9,650)
    • New England median 0.67× the median ($10,182)
    • U.S. median 0.94× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Husson University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Husson University

Bangor, ME 04401-2929 · Private Non-profit · New England

Husson University is a private non-profit institution in Bangor, ME, classified as Doctoral/Professional Universities.

Tuition$23,304
Avg. net price$21,005
Enrollment2,618
Acceptance rate80.95%
Completion (150%)59.35%
Average SAT1180
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business Administration and Management, GeneralRegistered Nursing/Registered NurseCriminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian79.5%
Two or More Races5.8%
Black or African American5.8%
Nearby

Schools near Husson University

Other campuses in Bangor, ME when available, plus nearby institutions in Maine.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Maine, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Husson University located?

Husson University is located in Bangor, ME.

What is Husson University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Husson University is 81.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 2,543 applicants and 2,198 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Husson University's tuition?

Husson University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $23,304 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $21,005 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Husson University cost?

Reported tuition is $23,304 and average net price is $21,005 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,682 annually.

Why is Husson University's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Husson University, published tuition is $23,304 while average net price is $21,005—about 10% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Husson University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($21,005), completion (59.4% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($45,025). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Husson University?

Husson University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 3,731 students, White (79.5%), Two or More Races (5.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Husson University?

About 32.2% of students at Husson University are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Husson University?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Husson University reports midpoint SAT about 1180.

What do graduates of Husson University earn?

Median earnings are $41,554 six years after entry and $45,025 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Husson University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 59.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Husson University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $27,000.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.