Active Report Report ID: EDU-101602-2026

Lurleen B Wallace Community College

Andalusia, AL 36420-1224

Tuition$5,190Published sticker
Avg. net price$2,792After aid
Graduation rate40.99%150% time
Median salary$32,30710yr post-entry
ROI2,793%10yr vs net cost

About Lurleen B Wallace Community College

Lurleen B Wallace Community College is a public community college in Andalusia, Alabama, enrolling about 1,097 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $2,792 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $5,190. Student demographics in federal data include White (67.3%) and Black or African American (22.6%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Lurleen B Wallace Community College charges 6% below the national public median tuition ($5,190).
  • Versus the Alabama median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
  • Average net price runs below the Alabama median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 40.99%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $32,307.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Lurleen B Wallace Community College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 2793% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Lurleen B Wallace Community College$5,190$2,7921
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Alabama (state median)$10,024$10,72163
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 46% below published tuition at Lurleen B Wallace Community College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Lurleen B Wallace Community College's average net price ($2,792) is 46% below published tuition ($5,190).
  • Lurleen B Wallace Community College charges 6% below the national public median tuition ($5,190).
  • Versus the Alabama median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
  • Average net price runs below the Alabama median net price.
Published sticker

Lurleen B Wallace Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $5,190

Finding Lurleen B Wallace Community College charges 6% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $5,190. That is 6% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Alabama median ($10,024), sticker tuition is about 0.5×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Lurleen B Wallace Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Lurleen B Wallace Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Lurleen B Wallace Community College is $2,792.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $2,792 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $7,929 below the Alabama median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Lurleen B Wallace Community College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 46% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Lurleen B Wallace Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Lurleen B Wallace Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$5,190

Out-of-state tuition

$9,060

Avg. net price

$2,792

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$2,054
$30,001–$48,000$2,420
$48,001–$75,000$4,570
$75,001–$110,000$8,263
$110,001+$3,445

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $20,760. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention63.5%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$30,010Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Lurleen B Wallace Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Lurleen B Wallace Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Lurleen B Wallace Community College.

Campus

Location

Andalusia, AL

City / state

ZIP
36420-1224

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

1,097

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
2,824
Full-time share
66%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
31.83%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$11,168Estimated 4-year total cost
$2,792Average annual net price (after aid)
$20,7604-year in-state tuition
$36,2404-year out-of-state tuition
$6,986Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,810Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$13,986Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$55,944Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Lurleen B Wallace Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

31.83% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
0.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

Not reported 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Lurleen B Wallace Community College was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Lurleen B Wallace Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$4,170$7,500$8,041
2014$4,230$7,620$7,748
2015$4,320$7,770$7,003
2016$4,380$7,890$8,004
2017$4,440$8,010$7,941
2018$4,740$8,610$7,800
2019$4,800$8,730$8,165
2020$4,860$8,850$6,997
2021$4,620$8,310$7,116
2022$4,920$8,670$2,992
2023$4,980$8,790$3,041

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Lurleen B Wallace Community College reported total enrollment of about 1,097 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 35% male and 65% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (67.3%), Black or African American (22.6%), and Two or More Races (5.6%). About 31.83% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 52.0% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

66.4% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Lurleen B Wallace Community College in 2024 is 1,097 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,824 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

63.5%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

67.3%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian67.3%
  • Black or African American22.6%
  • Two or More Races5.6%
  • Hispanic or Latino3.1%
  • Asian0.5%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.5%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.3%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

30.81% 100% Completion Time

40.99% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 30.81% of students graduating from Lurleen B Wallace Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • General Studies: 31% male / 69% female
  • Welding Technology/Welder: 87% male / 13% female
  • Industrial Electronics Technology/Technician: 100% male / 0% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

424White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian424
  • Black or African American88
  • Two or More Races48
  • Asian5
  • Hispanic or Latino3
  • American Indian or Alaska Native3
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Lurleen B Wallace Community College graduates earn a median of $32,307 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Lurleen B Wallace Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $32,307. Average net price used in cost models: $2,792.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Lurleen B Wallace Community College graduates report median earnings of $32,307 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

2,793%Modeled return on investment
$32,307Median annual earnings (10 years)

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Lurleen B Wallace Community College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (19 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Industrial Electronics Technology/Technician 80

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Lurleen B Wallace Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$32,307Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$30,010Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$32,036Median earnings (8 years after entry)
86.23%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Lurleen B Wallace Community College graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Lurleen B Wallace Community College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 64.4%
    • Alabama median 15.1 pp above median (49.2%)
    • Southeast median 4.9 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 6.4 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,630
    • Alabama median near the median ($7,502)
    • Southeast median 1.1× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,435
    • Alabama median 0.89× the median ($7,192)
    • Southeast median near the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 0.88× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Lurleen B Wallace Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Lurleen B Wallace Community College

Andalusia, AL 36420-1224 · Public · Southeast

Lurleen B Wallace Community College is a public institution in Andalusia, AL, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-Mixed Traditional/Nontraditional.

Tuition$5,190
Avg. net price$2,792
Enrollment1,097
Completion (150%)40.99%
Pell Grant share31.83%
First-generation52.0%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
General StudiesWelding Technology/WelderIndustrial Electronics Technology/Technician
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian67.3%
Black or African American22.6%
Two or More Races5.6%
Nearby

Schools near Lurleen B Wallace Community College

Other campuses in Andalusia, AL when available, plus nearby institutions in Alabama.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Alabama, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Lurleen B Wallace Community College located?

Lurleen B Wallace Community College is located in Andalusia, AL.

What is Lurleen B Wallace Community College's tuition?

Lurleen B Wallace Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $5,190 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $2,792 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Lurleen B Wallace Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $5,190 and average net price is $2,792 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $6,986 annually.

Why is Lurleen B Wallace Community College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Lurleen B Wallace Community College, published tuition is $5,190 while average net price is $2,792—about 46% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Lurleen B Wallace Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($2,792), completion (41.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($32,307). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Lurleen B Wallace Community College?

Lurleen B Wallace Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,824 students, White (67.3%), Black or African American (22.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Lurleen B Wallace Community College?

About 52.0% of students at Lurleen B Wallace Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Lurleen B Wallace Community College earn?

Median earnings are $30,010 six years after entry and $32,307 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Lurleen B Wallace Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 41.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is Lurleen B Wallace Community College public or private?

Lurleen B Wallace Community College is a public institution located in Andalusia, AL.

Is Lurleen B Wallace Community College an HBCU?

No. Lurleen B Wallace Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Lurleen B Wallace Community College a tribal college?

No. Lurleen B Wallace Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.