Active Report Report ID: EDU-185572-2026

Monmouth University

West Long Branch, NJ 07764-1898

Acceptance rate89.02%Broad access
Tuition$46,552Published sticker
Avg. net price$30,988After aid
Graduation rate71.90%150% time
Median salary$67,99110yr post-entry

About Monmouth University

Monmouth University is a private research university in West Long Branch, New Jersey, serving roughly 3,684 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 89.02% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $67,991 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Monmouth University charges 59% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($46,552).
  • Versus the New Jersey median, sticker tuition is about 3.6×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 71.90%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $67,991.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Monmouth University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 449% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

Monmouth University awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 51 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Monmouth University$46,552$30,9881
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
New Jersey (state median)$12,950$11,02484
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 33% below published tuition at Monmouth University

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Monmouth University's average net price ($30,988) is 33% below published tuition ($46,552).
  • Monmouth University charges 59% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($46,552).
  • Versus the New Jersey median, sticker tuition is about 3.6×.
Published sticker

Monmouth University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $46,552

Finding Monmouth University charges 59% above the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $46,552. That is 59% above the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the New Jersey median ($12,950), sticker tuition is about 3.6×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 3.9×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Monmouth University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Monmouth University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Monmouth University is $30,988.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $30,988 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $19,964 above the New Jersey median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $12,288 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Monmouth University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 33% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Monmouth University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Monmouth University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$46,552

Avg. net price

$30,988

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$18,924
$30,001–$48,000$19,404
$48,001–$75,000$25,331
$75,001–$110,000$33,773
$110,001+$39,015

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $186,208. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention79.9%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$55,825Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 13% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1223
  • Midpoint ACT: 24

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Monmouth University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Monmouth University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Monmouth University.

Campus

Location

West Long Branch, NJ

City / state

ZIP
07764-1898
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 66% above the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Mid East
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs

Size

Enrollment

3,684

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
3,933
Graduate
1,057
Full-time share
98%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$27,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
30.45%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$123,952Estimated 4-year total cost
$30,988Average annual net price (after aid)
$186,2084-year tuition
$17,698Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,000Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$65,250Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$261,000Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Monmouth University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

30.45% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
60.72% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Monmouth University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Monmouth University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$31,018$31,018$27,649
2014$32,310$32,310$26,235
2015$33,729$33,729$28,093
2016$35,364$35,364$29,086
2017$36,732$36,732$30,273
2018$38,138$38,138$29,632
2019$39,592$39,592$29,548
2020$40,680$40,680$29,877
2021$41,680$41,680$25,324
2022$43,216$43,216$30,005
2023$44,850$44,850$31,650

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

89.02%Acceptance rate
8,410Total applicants
7,530Students admitted
975First-time students enrolled
12.95%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1223SAT average
24ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.40Estimated median GPA
3.3–3.5Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Monmouth University reported total enrollment of about 3,684 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 37% male and 63% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (67.5%), Hispanic or Latino (18.1%), and Black or African American (5.4%). About 30.45% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 32.3% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

97.5% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Monmouth University in 2024 is 3,684 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 3,933 students. Graduate enrollment is about 1,057 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

79.9%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

67.5%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian67.5%
  • Hispanic or Latino18.1%
  • Black or African American5.4%
  • Two or More Races2.7%
  • Asian2.2%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.2%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.8%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

64.57% 100% Completion Time

71.90% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 64.57% of students graduating from Monmouth University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business Administration and Management, General: 55% male / 45% female
  • Health Professions and Related Programs: 16% male / 84% female
  • Education, General: 18% male / 82% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,048White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian1,048
  • Hispanic or Latino245
  • Black or African American70
  • Asian35
  • Two or More Races33
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Monmouth University graduates earn a median of $67,991 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Monmouth University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $67,991. Median federal loan debt: $27,000. Average net price used in cost models: $30,988.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Monmouth University graduates report median earnings of $67,991 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

449%Modeled return on investment
$27,000Median student debt
$67,991Median annual earnings (10 years)
39.71%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.0 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Monmouth University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (51 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Health Professions and Related Programs 91
  2. Social Work 82
  3. English Language and Literature, General 44

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Monmouth University.

Employment Outcomes

$67,991Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$55,825Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$61,303Median earnings (8 years after entry)
85.69%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Monmouth University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Monmouth University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$153.2M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $129.4M

Year change: $23.8M

  • New Jersey median 9.9× the median ($15.5M)
  • Mid East median 3.6× the median ($42.6M)
  • U.S. median 5.8× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $32,129

  • New Jersey median 6.3× the median ($5,117)
  • Mid East median 2.0× the median ($16,427)
  • U.S. median 2.7× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • New Jersey median 21.4 pp above median (78.6%)
    • Mid East median 43.1 pp above median (56.9%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,388
    • New Jersey median 1.4× the median ($7,582)
    • Mid East median 1.3× the median ($8,119)
    • U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $12,830
    • New Jersey median 1.8× the median ($7,319)
    • Mid East median 1.4× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 1.8× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Monmouth University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Monmouth University

West Long Branch, NJ 07764-1898 · Private Non-profit · Mid East

Monmouth University is a private non-profit institution in West Long Branch, NJ, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.

Tuition$46,552
Avg. net price$30,988
Enrollment3,684
Acceptance rate89.02%
Completion (150%)71.90%
Average SAT1223
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business Administration and Management, GeneralHealth Professions and Related ProgramsEducation, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian67.5%
Hispanic or Latino18.1%
Black or African American5.4%
Nearby

Schools near Monmouth University

Other campuses in West Long Branch, NJ when available, plus nearby institutions in New Jersey.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within New Jersey, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Monmouth University located?

Monmouth University is located in West Long Branch, NJ.

What is Monmouth University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Monmouth University is 89.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 8,410 applicants and 7,530 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Monmouth University's tuition?

Monmouth University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $46,552 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $30,988 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Monmouth University cost?

Reported tuition is $46,552 and average net price is $30,988 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $17,698 annually.

Why is Monmouth University's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Monmouth University, published tuition is $46,552 while average net price is $30,988—about 33% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Monmouth University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($30,988), completion (71.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($67,991). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Monmouth University?

Monmouth University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 3,933 students, White (67.5%), Hispanic or Latino (18.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Monmouth University?

About 32.3% of students at Monmouth University are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Monmouth University?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Monmouth University reports midpoint SAT about 1223 and midpoint ACT about 24.

What do graduates of Monmouth University earn?

Median earnings are $55,825 six years after entry and $67,991 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Monmouth University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 71.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Monmouth University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $27,000.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.