Montana Technological University
Butte, MT 59701-8997
About Montana Technological University
Montana Technological University is a public research university in Butte, Montana, enrolling about 1,480 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 91.05% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $54,329 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Montana Technological University charges 51% above the national public median tuition ($8,340).
- Versus the Montana median, sticker tuition is 68% above.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 58.24%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $54,329.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Montana Technological University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 724% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Montana Technological University | $8,340 | $16,481 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Montana (state median) | $4,961 | $12,030 | 24 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Montana Technological University really?
Key findings
- Montana Technological University charges 51% above the national public median tuition ($8,340).
- Versus the Montana median, sticker tuition is 68% above.
Montana Technological University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $8,340
Finding Montana Technological University charges 51% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $8,340. That is 51% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Montana median ($4,961), sticker tuition is 68% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 30% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Montana Technological University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Montana Technological University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Montana Technological University is $16,481.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $16,481 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,450 above the Montana median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $1,510 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Montana Technological University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Montana Technological University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Montana Technological University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$8,340
Out-of-state tuition
$26,150
Avg. net price
$16,481
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $11,914 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $13,733 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $15,187 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $18,843 |
| $110,001+ | $19,595 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $33,360. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Montana Technological University is known for
Top program completions
- Occupational Health and Industrial Hygiene53
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse45
- Mechanical Engineering43
- Management Information Systems and Services, Other34
- Civil Engineering, General30
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 20% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1126
- Midpoint ACT: 24
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Montana Technological University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Montana Technological University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Montana Technological University.
Campus
Location
Butte, MT
City / state
- ZIP
- 59701-8997
- NCES locale
- Town remote
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 10% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Rocky Mountains
- Carnegie
- Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus
Size
Enrollment
1,480
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 1,604
- Graduate
- 205
- Full-time share
- 95%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$18,750
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 23.76%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Montana Technological University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Montana Technological University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Montana Technological University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $6,464 | $18,606 | $11,619 |
| 2014 | $6,494 | $19,147 | $11,826 |
| 2015 | $6,539 | $19,571 | $12,626 |
| 2016 | $6,561 | $19,984 | $12,875 |
| 2017 | $7,125 | $21,956 | $12,993 |
| 2018 | $7,412 | $22,575 | $13,886 |
| 2019 | $7,440 | $22,600 | $15,023 |
| 2020 | $7,390 | $22,540 | $15,814 |
| 2021 | $7,400 | $22,570 | $15,789 |
| 2022 | $7,580 | $23,210 | $16,598 |
| 2023 | $8,050 | $24,730 | $16,240 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1126 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 24 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Montana Technological University reported total enrollment of about 1,480 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 63% male and 37% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (77.3%), Race/ethnicity unknown (7.2%), and Two or More Races (5.1%). About 23.76% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 33.7% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
94.6% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Montana Technological University in 2024 is 1,480 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,604 students. Graduate enrollment is about 205 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
76.7%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
34.43% 100% Completion Time
58.24% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 34.43% of students graduating from Montana Technological University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Occupational Health and Industrial Hygiene: 58% male / 42% female
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 20% male / 80% female
- Mechanical Engineering: 79% male / 21% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Montana Technological University graduates earn a median of $54,329 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Montana Technological University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $54,329. Median federal loan debt: $18,750. Average net price used in cost models: $16,481.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Montana Technological University graduates report median earnings of $54,329 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Montana Technological University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (32 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Montana Technological University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Montana Technological University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Montana Technological University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$69M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Montana median 9.1× the median ($7.6M)
- Rocky Mountains median 3.5× the median ($19.5M)
- U.S. median 2.6× the median ($26.4M)
- Montana median 2.8× the median ($13,979)
- Rocky Mountains median 3.8× the median ($10,274)
- U.S. median 3.2× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 76.6%
- Montana median 7.0 pp above median (69.6%)
- Rocky Mountains median 3.3 pp above median (73.3%)
- U.S. median 18.6 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,585
- Montana median 1.3× the median ($6,543)
- Rocky Mountains median 1.2× the median ($7,458)
- U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $10,441
- Montana median 1.1× the median ($9,613)
- Rocky Mountains median 1.5× the median ($6,852)
- U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Montana Technological University at a glance
Montana Technological University
Montana Technological University is a public institution in Butte, MT, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Occupational Health and Industrial HygieneRegistered Nursing/Registered NurseMechanical Engineering
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian77.3%Race/ethnicity unknown7.2%Two or More Races5.1%
Schools near Montana Technological University
Other campuses in Butte, MT when available, plus nearby institutions in Montana.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Montana, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Montana Technological University located?
Montana Technological University is located in Butte, MT.
What is Montana Technological University's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Montana Technological University is 91.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1,623 applicants and 1,459 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Montana Technological University's tuition?
Montana Technological University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $8,340 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $16,481 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Montana Technological University cost?
Reported tuition is $8,340 and average net price is $16,481 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,120 annually.
What explains Montana Technological University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($16,481), completion (58.2% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($54,329). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Montana Technological University?
Montana Technological University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,604 students, White (77.3%), Race/ethnicity unknown (7.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Montana Technological University?
About 33.7% of students at Montana Technological University are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for Montana Technological University?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Montana Technological University reports midpoint SAT about 1126 and midpoint ACT about 24.
What do graduates of Montana Technological University earn?
Median earnings are $48,356 six years after entry and $54,329 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Montana Technological University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 58.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Montana Technological University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $18,750.
Is Montana Technological University public or private?
Montana Technological University is a public institution located in Butte, MT.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.