Northwest Indian College
Bellingham, WA 98226-9217
About Northwest Indian College
Northwest Indian College is a public community college in Bellingham, Washington, enrolling about 629 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $3,136 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $4,365. Student demographics in federal data include American Indian or Alaska Native (73.5%) and Two or More Races (11.9%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Northwest Indian College charges 21% below the national public median tuition ($4,365).
- Versus the Washington median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
- Average net price runs below the Washington median net price.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 18.06%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $35,447.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Northwest Indian College is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 2726% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Northwest Indian College | $4,365 | $3,136 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Washington (state median) | $8,256 | $9,863 | 70 |
| Rural (locale median) | $14,160 | $18,700 | 1,649 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 28% below published tuition at Northwest Indian College
Key findings
- Northwest Indian College's average net price ($3,136) is 28% below published tuition ($4,365).
- Northwest Indian College charges 21% below the national public median tuition ($4,365).
- Versus the Washington median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
- Average net price runs below the Washington median net price.
Northwest Indian College tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $4,365
Finding Northwest Indian College charges 21% below the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $4,365. That is 21% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Washington median ($8,256), sticker tuition is about 0.5×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.4×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Northwest Indian College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Northwest Indian College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Northwest Indian College is $3,136.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $3,136 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $6,727 below the Washington median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $15,564 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway Northwest Indian College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 28% lower after grants and scholarships.
Northwest Indian College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Northwest Indian College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$4,365
Avg. net price
$3,136
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $2,630 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $2,952 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $3,709 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $8,610 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $17,460. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Northwest Indian College is known for
Top program completions
- Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, Other75
- Business Administration and Management, General31
- Public Administration and Social Service30
- Substance Abuse/Addiction Counseling9
- Entrepreneurship/Entrepreneurial Studies9
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Northwest Indian College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Northwest Indian College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Northwest Indian College.
Campus
Location
Bellingham, WA
City / state
- ZIP
- 98226-9217
- NCES locale
- Rural distant
Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is about 0.2× the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Far West
- Carnegie
- Not classified (other)
Size
Enrollment
629
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 1,023
- Full-time share
- 70%
Student aid
Debt & aid
- Pell grant share
- 52.30%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Northwest Indian College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Northwest Indian College was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Northwest Indian College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $4,155 | $4,155 | $5,790 |
| 2014 | $4,407 | $4,407 | $6,607 |
| 2015 | $4,407 | $4,407 | $5,580 |
| 2016 | $4,407 | $4,407 | $3,005 |
| 2017 | $4,437 | $4,437 | $8,679 |
| 2018 | $4,437 | $4,437 | $6,235 |
| 2019 | $4,840 | $4,840 | $8,578 |
| 2020 | $6,787 | $6,787 | $6,009 |
| 2021 | $3,969 | $3,969 | $4,952 |
| 2022 | $3,969 | $3,969 | $1,216 |
| 2023 | $3,969 | $3,969 | $7,625 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Northwest Indian College reported total enrollment of about 629 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 26% male and 74% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes American Indian or Alaska Native (73.5%), Two or More Races (11.9%), and Hispanic or Latino (10.8%). About 52.30% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 46.7% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
69.6% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Northwest Indian College in 2024 is 629 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,023 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
55.0%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
8.70% 100% Completion Time
18.06% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 8.70% of students graduating from Northwest Indian College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, Other: 25% male / 75% female
- Business Administration and Management, General: 32% male / 68% female
- Public Administration and Social Service: 10% male / 90% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Northwest Indian College graduates earn a median of $35,447 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Northwest Indian College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $35,447. Average net price used in cost models: $3,136.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Northwest Indian College graduates report median earnings of $35,447 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Northwest Indian College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (13 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Northwest Indian College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Northwest Indian College graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Northwest Indian College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 49.1%
- Washington median 45.8 pp below median (94.9%)
- Far West median 3.4 pp above median (45.7%)
- U.S. median 8.9 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,422
- Washington median 0.67× the median ($9,588)
- Far West median 0.67× the median ($9,635)
- U.S. median 0.84× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $12,510
- Washington median 1.5× the median ($8,580)
- Far West median 1.8× the median ($7,030)
- U.S. median 1.7× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Northwest Indian College at a glance
Northwest Indian College
Northwest Indian College is a public institution in Bellingham, WA, classified as Not classified (other).
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, OtherBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralPublic Administration and Social Service
- Largest enrollment groups
- American Indian or Alaska Native73.5%Two or More Races11.9%Hispanic or Latino10.8%
Schools near Northwest Indian College
Other campuses in Bellingham, WA when available, plus nearby institutions in Washington.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within Washington, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Northwest Indian College located?
Northwest Indian College is located in Bellingham, WA.
What is Northwest Indian College's tuition?
Northwest Indian College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $4,365 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $3,136 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Northwest Indian College cost?
Reported tuition is $4,365 and average net price is $3,136 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $5,500 annually.
Why is Northwest Indian College's net price so much lower than tuition?
At Northwest Indian College, published tuition is $4,365 while average net price is $3,136—about 28% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains Northwest Indian College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($3,136), completion (18.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($35,447). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Northwest Indian College?
Northwest Indian College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,023 students, American Indian or Alaska Native (73.5%), Two or More Races (11.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Northwest Indian College?
About 46.7% of students at Northwest Indian College are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Northwest Indian College earn?
Median earnings are $29,768 six years after entry and $35,447 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Northwest Indian College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 18.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
Is Northwest Indian College public or private?
Northwest Indian College is a public institution located in Bellingham, WA.
Is Northwest Indian College an HBCU?
No. Northwest Indian College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Northwest Indian College a tribal college?
Yes. Northwest Indian College is flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS (TRIBAL = Yes).
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- Washington college profile
- Washington college costs
- Washington colleges by ROI
- Washington trade schools profile
- Bellingham, Washington city profile
- Far West regional profile
- Rural college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in Washington
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.