Active Report Report ID: EDU-204839-2026

Ohio University-Southern Campus

Ironton, OH 45638

Tuition$6,362Published sticker
Avg. net price$5,993After aid
Graduation rate21.03%150% time
Median salary$52,58110yr post-entry
ROI2,093%10yr vs net cost

About Ohio University-Southern Campus

Ohio University-Southern Campus is a public community college in Ironton, Ohio, enrolling about 415 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $5,993 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $6,362. Student demographics in federal data include White (85.8%) and Two or More Races (4.3%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Ohio University-Southern Campus charges 15% above the national public median tuition ($6,362).
  • Versus the Ohio median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the Ohio median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 21.03%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $52,581.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Ohio University-Southern Campus is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 2093% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Ohio University-Southern Campus$6,362$5,9931
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Ohio (state median)$15,202$12,090154
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 6% below published tuition at Ohio University-Southern Campus

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Ohio University-Southern Campus's average net price ($5,993) is 6% below published tuition ($6,362).
  • Ohio University-Southern Campus charges 15% above the national public median tuition ($6,362).
  • Versus the Ohio median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
  • Average net price runs below the Ohio median net price.
Published sticker

Ohio University-Southern Campus tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $6,362

Finding Ohio University-Southern Campus charges 15% above the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $6,362. That is 15% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Ohio median ($15,202), sticker tuition is about 0.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.5×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Ohio University-Southern Campus versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Ohio University-Southern Campus versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Ohio University-Southern Campus is $5,993.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $5,993 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $6,096 below the Ohio median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $12,707 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Ohio University-Southern Campus’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 6% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Ohio University-Southern Campus: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Ohio University-Southern Campus—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$6,362

Out-of-state tuition

$9,444

Avg. net price

$5,993

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$4,649
$30,001–$48,000$4,943
$48,001–$75,000$5,297
$75,001–$110,000$8,332
$110,001+$8,753

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $25,448. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention53.6%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$48,991Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Ohio University-Southern Campus a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Ohio University-Southern Campus is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Ohio University-Southern Campus.

Campus

Location

Ironton, OH

City / state

ZIP
45638
NCES locale
Rural distant

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is about 0.3× the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Great Lakes
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

415

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
3,502
Full-time share
80%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$21,056

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
12.93%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$23,972Estimated 4-year total cost
$5,993Average annual net price (after aid)
$25,4484-year in-state tuition
$37,7764-year out-of-state tuition
$6,856Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$868Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$14,086Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$56,344Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Ohio University-Southern Campus.

Financial Aid by Income Level

12.93% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
12.26% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Ohio University-Southern Campus was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Ohio University-Southern Campus in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$4,778$6,624$9,501
2014$4,872$6,718$10,830
2015$4,872$6,718$9,583
2016$4,872$6,718$9,973
2017$4,806$6,718$7,840
2018$5,490$8,482$7,069
2019$5,674$8,666$7,599
2020$5,674$8,666$8,211
2021$5,774$8,766$6,947
2022$6,004$8,996$8,667
2023$6,178$9,170$5,328

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Ohio University-Southern Campus reported total enrollment of about 415 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 29% male and 71% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (85.8%), Two or More Races (4.3%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (3.9%). About 12.93% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 33.9% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

80.2% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Ohio University-Southern Campus in 2024 is 415 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 3,502 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

53.6%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

85.8%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian85.8%
  • Two or More Races4.3%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown3.9%
  • Hispanic or Latino2.9%
  • Black or African American1.7%
  • Asian0.7%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.7%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

14.40% 100% Completion Time

21.03% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 14.40% of students graduating from Ohio University-Southern Campus completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 26% male / 74% female
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 20% male / 80% female
  • Social Work: 27% male / 73% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

88White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian88
  • Two or More Races4
  • Black or African American3
  • Hispanic or Latino2
  • Asian0
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Ohio University-Southern Campus graduates earn a median of $52,581 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Ohio University-Southern Campus.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $52,581. Median federal loan debt: $21,056. Average net price used in cost models: $5,993.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Ohio University-Southern Campus graduates report median earnings of $52,581 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

2,093%Modeled return on investment
$21,056Median student debt
$52,581Median annual earnings (10 years)
40.04%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.0 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Ohio University-Southern Campus.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (15 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Social Work 11
  2. Radio and Television Broadcasting Technology/Technician 4
  3. Public Administration and Social Service 3

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Ohio University-Southern Campus.

Employment Outcomes

$52,581Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$48,991Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$52,244Median earnings (8 years after entry)
91.00%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Ohio University-Southern Campus graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Ohio University-Southern Campus—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 45.3%
    • Ohio median 9.6 pp below median (54.9%)
    • Great Lakes median 12.8 pp below median (58.1%)
    • U.S. median 12.7 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,947
    • Ohio median 1.1× the median ($7,463)
    • Great Lakes median near the median ($8,046)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,942
    • Ohio median 0.91× the median ($7,640)
    • Great Lakes median 0.90× the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Ohio University-Southern Campus at a glance

Institution snapshot

Ohio University-Southern Campus

Ironton, OH 45638 · Public · Great Lakes

Ohio University-Southern Campus is a public institution in Ironton, OH, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional.

Tuition$6,362
Avg. net price$5,993
Enrollment415
Completion (150%)21.03%
Pell Grant share12.93%
First-generation33.9%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Registered Nursing/Registered NurseLiberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesSocial Work
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian85.8%
Two or More Races4.3%
Race/ethnicity unknown3.9%
Opportunity College (2025)
Higher access & higher earnings · Browse OCU directory
Nearby

Schools near Ohio University-Southern Campus

Other campuses in Ironton, OH when available, plus nearby institutions in Ohio.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Ohio, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Ohio University-Southern Campus located?

Ohio University-Southern Campus is located in Ironton, OH.

What is Ohio University-Southern Campus's tuition?

Ohio University-Southern Campus tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $6,362 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $5,993 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Ohio University-Southern Campus cost?

Reported tuition is $6,362 and average net price is $5,993 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $6,856 annually.

Why is Ohio University-Southern Campus's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Ohio University-Southern Campus, published tuition is $6,362 while average net price is $5,993—about 6% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Ohio University-Southern Campus's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($5,993), completion (21.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($52,581). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Ohio University-Southern Campus?

Ohio University-Southern Campus reports undergraduate enrollment of about 3,502 students, White (85.8%), Two or More Races (4.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Ohio University-Southern Campus?

About 33.9% of students at Ohio University-Southern Campus are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Ohio University-Southern Campus earn?

Median earnings are $48,991 six years after entry and $52,581 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Ohio University-Southern Campus?

The 150%-time completion rate is 21.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Ohio University-Southern Campus students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $21,056.

Is Ohio University-Southern Campus public or private?

Ohio University-Southern Campus is a public institution located in Ironton, OH.

Is Ohio University-Southern Campus an HBCU?

No. Ohio University-Southern Campus is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.