Active Report Report ID: EDU-417840-2026

Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia

Philadelphia, PA 19152

Avg. net price$31,969After aid
Graduation rate60.92%150% time
Median salary$42,55710yr post-entry
ROI233%10yr vs net cost

About Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia

Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia is a private for-profit trade school in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, enrolling about 468 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 60.92% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $42,557 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $42,557.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 233% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia—$31,9691
Private For-profit (national median)$16,757—494
Pennsylvania (state median)$19,975$13,558183
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,860$20,6601,347
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Evidence: average net price at Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia is $31,969.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $31,969 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $18,412 above the Pennsylvania median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $11,310 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$31,969

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$31,689
$30,001–$48,000$31,842
$48,001–$75,000$31,993
$75,001–$110,000$34,446
$110,001+$34,904

Student outcomes

First-year retention94.4%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$49,737Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Yield: 52% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia.

Campus

Location

Philadelphia, PA

City / state

ZIP
19152
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 55% above the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,660 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Mid East

Size

Enrollment

468

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
717
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$17,200

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
77.82%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$127,876Estimated 4-year total cost
$31,969Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia.

Financial Aid by Income Level

77.82% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
76.15% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013——$21,875
2014——$25,215
2015——$24,694
2016——$25,304
2017——$26,833
2018——$26,890
2019——$27,419
2020——$26,982
2021——$27,305
2022——$28,380
2023——$27,173

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

69Total applicants
69Students admitted
36First-time students enrolled
52.17%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia reported total enrollment of about 468 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 6% male and 94% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (71.2%), Hispanic or Latino (12.2%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (10.0%). About 77.82% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 61.0% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia in 2024 is 468 students.

Over a full year, about 717 undergraduates enroll.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

94.4%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

71.2%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American71.2%
  • Hispanic or Latino12.2%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown10.0%
  • White or Caucasian3.6%
  • Two or More Races1.5%
  • Asian1.3%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

35.63% 100% Completion Time

60.92% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 35.63% of students graduating from Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, Other: 4% male / 96% female
  • Medical/Clinical Assistant: 0% male / 100% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

121Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American121
  • Hispanic or Latino16
  • White or Caucasian6
  • Asian6
  • Two or More Races2
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia graduates earn a median of $42,557 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $42,557. Median federal loan debt: $17,200. Average net price used in cost models: $31,969.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia graduates report median earnings of $42,557 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

233%Modeled return on investment
$17,200Median student debt
$42,557Median annual earnings (10 years)
40.42%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.0 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 2 programs by IPEDS completions (3 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, Other 144

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia.

Employment Outcomes

$42,557Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$56,792Median earnings for graduates (5 years after graduation)
$49,737Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$49,238Median earnings (8 years after entry)
92.98%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $4,148
    • Pennsylvania median 0.48× the median ($8,615)
    • Mid East median 0.45× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 0.57× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia at a glance

Institution snapshot

Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia

Philadelphia, PA 19152 · Private For-profit · Mid East

Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia is a private for-profit institution in Philadelphia, PA.

Avg. net price$31,969
Enrollment468
Completion (150%)60.92%
Pell Grant share77.82%
First-generation61.0%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, OtherMedical/Clinical Assistant
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American71.2%
Hispanic or Latino12.2%
Race/ethnicity unknown10.0%
Nearby

Schools near Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia

Other campuses in Philadelphia, PA when available, plus nearby institutions in Pennsylvania.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Pennsylvania, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia located?

Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia is located in Philadelphia, PA.

How much does Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $31,969 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What explains Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($31,969), completion (60.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($42,557). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia?

Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia reports undergraduate enrollment of about 717 students, Black or African American (71.2%), Hispanic or Latino (12.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia?

About 61.0% of students at Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia earn?

Median earnings are $49,737 six years after entry and $42,557 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia?

The 150%-time completion rate is 60.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $17,200.

Is Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia public or private?

Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia is a private for-profit institution located in Philadelphia, PA.

Is Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia an HBCU?

No. Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia a tribal college?

No. Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Prism Career Institute-Philadelphia in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.