Ridge Technical College
Winter Haven, FL 33881-9518
About Ridge Technical College
Ridge Technical College is a public community college in Winter Haven, Florida, enrolling about 407 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $23,170 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $3,930. Student demographics in federal data include Hispanic or Latino (42.3%) and White (34.9%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Ridge Technical College charges 29% below the national public median tuition ($3,930).
- Versus the Florida median, sticker tuition is about 0.2×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 98.94%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $33,484.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Ridge Technical College is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 261% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ridge Technical College | $3,930 | $23,170 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Florida (state median) | $16,838 | $7,247 | 176 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Ridge Technical College really?
Key findings
- Ridge Technical College charges 29% below the national public median tuition ($3,930).
- Versus the Florida median, sticker tuition is about 0.2×.
Ridge Technical College tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $3,930
Finding Ridge Technical College charges 29% below the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $3,930. That is 29% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Florida median ($16,838), sticker tuition is about 0.2×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.3×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Ridge Technical College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Ridge Technical College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Ridge Technical College is $23,170.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $23,170 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $15,923 above the Florida median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $8,199 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Ridge Technical College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Ridge Technical College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Ridge Technical College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$3,930
Out-of-state tuition
$10,530
Avg. net price
$23,170
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $23,170 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $15,720. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Ridge Technical College is known for
Top program completions
- Fire Science/Fire-fighting53
- Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General48
- Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training40
- Electrician38
- Real Estate Development28
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Ridge Technical College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Ridge Technical College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Ridge Technical College.
Campus
Location
Winter Haven, FL
City / state
- ZIP
- 33881-9518
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 55% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Southeast
Size
Enrollment
407
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 823
- Full-time share
- 84%
Student aid
Debt & aid
- Pell grant share
- 56.53%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Ridge Technical College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Ridge Technical College was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Ridge Technical College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $3,030 | $7,530 | $16,715 |
| 2014 | $3,630 | $9,030 | $18,692 |
| 2015 | $3,630 | $9,030 | $20,255 |
| 2016 | $3,919 | $10,398 | $22,359 |
| 2017 | $3,918 | $10,398 | $24,711 |
| 2018 | $3,919 | $10,398 | $24,248 |
| 2019 | $3,918 | $10,398 | $24,203 |
| 2020 | $3,918 | $10,398 | $24,190 |
| 2021 | $3,918 | $10,398 | $22,744 |
| 2022 | $3,918 | $10,398 | $23,898 |
| 2023 | $3,918 | $10,398 | $22,547 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Ridge Technical College reported total enrollment of about 407 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 51% male and 49% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Hispanic or Latino (42.3%), White (34.9%), and Black or African American (21.9%). About 56.53% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 57.6% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
83.8% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Ridge Technical College in 2024 is 407 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 823 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
0.3%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
98.94% 100% Completion Time
98.94% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 98.94% of students graduating from Ridge Technical College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Fire Science/Fire-fighting: 96% male / 4% female
- Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General: 2% male / 98% female
- Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training: 18% male / 82% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Ridge Technical College graduates earn a median of $33,484 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Ridge Technical College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $33,484. Average net price used in cost models: $23,170.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Ridge Technical College graduates report median earnings of $33,484 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Ridge Technical College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (20 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Ridge Technical College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Ridge Technical College graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Ridge Technical College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $4,390
- Florida median 0.76× the median ($5,803)
- Southeast median 0.66× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 0.60× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Ridge Technical College at a glance
Ridge Technical College
Ridge Technical College is a public institution in Winter Haven, FL.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Fire Science/Fire-fightingCosmetology/Cosmetologist, GeneralLicensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training
- Largest enrollment groups
- Hispanic or Latino42.3%White or Caucasian34.9%Black or African American21.9%
Schools near Ridge Technical College
Other campuses in Winter Haven, FL when available, plus nearby institutions in Florida.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Florida, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Ridge Technical College located?
Ridge Technical College is located in Winter Haven, FL.
What is Ridge Technical College's tuition?
Ridge Technical College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $3,930 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $23,170 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Ridge Technical College cost?
Reported tuition is $3,930 and average net price is $23,170 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,600 annually.
What explains Ridge Technical College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($23,170), completion (98.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($33,484). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Ridge Technical College?
Ridge Technical College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 823 students, Hispanic or Latino (42.3%), White (34.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Ridge Technical College?
About 57.6% of students at Ridge Technical College are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Ridge Technical College earn?
Median earnings are $31,904 six years after entry and $33,484 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Ridge Technical College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 98.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
Is Ridge Technical College public or private?
Ridge Technical College is a public institution located in Winter Haven, FL.
Is Ridge Technical College an HBCU?
No. Ridge Technical College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Ridge Technical College a tribal college?
No. Ridge Technical College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is Ridge Technical College a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
By the common federal eligibility proxy used here (≥25% Hispanic enrollment in College Scorecard), yes—Ridge Technical College reports 42.3% Hispanic enrollment share.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.