Active Report Report ID: EDU-107840-2026

Shorter College

N Little Rock, AR 72114

Tuition$6,246Published sticker
Avg. net price$14,060After aid
Graduation rate12.50%150% time

About Shorter College

Shorter College is a private two-year college in N Little Rock, Arkansas, enrolling about 287 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $14,060 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $6,246. Student demographics in federal data include Black or African American (61.3%) and White (33.1%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Shorter College charges about 0.2× the national private non-profit median tuition ($6,246).
  • Versus the Arkansas median, sticker tuition is 15% below.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 12.50%.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Shorter College$6,246$14,0601
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Arkansas (state median)$7,334$9,14451
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Shorter College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Shorter College charges about 0.2× the national private non-profit median tuition ($6,246).
  • Versus the Arkansas median, sticker tuition is 15% below.
Published sticker

Shorter College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $6,246

Finding Shorter College charges about 0.2× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $6,246. That is about 0.2× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Arkansas median ($7,334), sticker tuition is 15% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.5×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Shorter College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Shorter College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Shorter College is $14,060.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $14,060 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,916 above the Arkansas median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $911 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Shorter College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Shorter College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Shorter College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$6,246

Avg. net price

$14,060

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$13,844
$30,001–$48,000$10,243
$48,001–$75,000$18,089

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $24,984. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention38.7%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$15,710Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Shorter College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Shorter College is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Shorter College.

Campus

Location

N Little Rock, AR

City / state

ZIP
72114
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 6% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Traditional

Size

Enrollment

287

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
420
Full-time share
94%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$29,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
74.83%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$56,240Estimated 4-year total cost
$14,060Average annual net price (after aid)
$24,9844-year tuition
$9,744Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$650Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$16,640Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$66,560Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Shorter College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

74.83% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
60.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Shorter College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Shorter College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$2,100$2,100$4,883
2014$4,200$4,200$12,253
2015$4,904$4,904$16,833
2016$4,904$4,904$15,321
2017$4,904$4,904$15,773
2018$5,500$5,500$16,044
2019$5,596$5,596$13,747
2020$5,596$5,596$15,709
2021$5,596$5,596$13,760
2022$6,246$6,246$13,614
2023$6,246$6,246$12,993

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Shorter College reported total enrollment of about 287 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 44% male and 56% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (61.3%), White (33.1%), and Hispanic or Latino (2.8%). About 74.83% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 55.7% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

94.1% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Shorter College in 2024 is 287 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 420 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

38.7%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

61.3%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American61.3%
  • White or Caucasian33.1%
  • Hispanic or Latino2.8%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.7%
  • Two or More Races0.7%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.7%
  • Asian0.4%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

8.93% 100% Completion Time

12.50% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 8.93% of students graduating from Shorter College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Entrepreneurship/Entrepreneurial Studies: 73% male / 27% female
  • General Studies: 20% male / 80% female
  • Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration: 20% male / 80% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

27Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American27
  • White or Caucasian11
  • Hispanic or Latino2
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Asian0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
  • Two or More Races0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

What do Shorter College graduates earn—and in which programs?

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Shorter College.

Evidence Median federal loan debt: $29,500. Average net price used in cost models: $14,060.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Return on Investment

$29,500Median student debt

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Shorter College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 5 programs by IPEDS completions (6 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Christian Studies 3

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Shorter College.

Employment Outcomes

$14,679Median earnings (8 years after entry)
$15,710Median earnings (6 years after entry)
72.39%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Shorter College graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Shorter College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 15.0%
    • Arkansas median 47.8 pp below median (62.8%)
    • Southeast median 44.4 pp below median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 43.0 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $4,765
    • Arkansas median 0.86× the median ($5,571)
    • Southeast median 0.70× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.63× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $28,161
    • Arkansas median 4.5× the median ($6,294)
    • Southeast median 4.3× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 3.9× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Shorter College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Shorter College

N Little Rock, AR 72114 · Private Non-profit · Southeast

Shorter College is a private non-profit institution in N Little Rock, AR, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Traditional.

Tuition$6,246
Avg. net price$14,060
Enrollment287
Completion (150%)12.50%
Pell Grant share74.83%
First-generation55.7%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Entrepreneurship/Entrepreneurial StudiesGeneral StudiesCriminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American61.3%
White or Caucasian33.1%
Hispanic or Latino2.8%
Nearby

Schools near Shorter College

Other campuses in N Little Rock, AR when available, plus nearby institutions in Arkansas.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within Arkansas, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Shorter College located?

Shorter College is located in N Little Rock, AR.

What is Shorter College's tuition?

Shorter College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $6,246 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $14,060 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Shorter College cost?

Reported tuition is $6,246 and average net price is $14,060 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,744 annually.

What is the student body demographics at Shorter College?

Shorter College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 420 students, Black or African American (61.3%), White (33.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Shorter College?

About 55.7% of students at Shorter College are first-generation college students.

What is the graduation rate at Shorter College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 12.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Shorter College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $29,500.

Is Shorter College public or private?

Shorter College is a private nonprofit institution located in N Little Rock, AR.

Is Shorter College an HBCU?

Yes. Shorter College is flagged as a historically Black college or university (HBCU) in IPEDS.

Is Shorter College a tribal college?

No. Shorter College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Shorter College a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Shorter College does not meet that proxy (reported share 2.8%).

Is Shorter College religiously affiliated?

Yes. IPEDS reports a religious affiliation for Shorter College: African Methodist Episcopal.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.