Southeastern Louisiana University
Hammond, LA 70402
About Southeastern Louisiana University
Southeastern Louisiana University is a public research university in Hammond, Louisiana, serving roughly 9,514 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 99.31% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $46,482 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Southeastern Louisiana University charges 52% above the national public median tuition ($8,373).
- Versus the Louisiana median, sticker tuition is 9% below.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 45.41%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $46,482.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Southeastern Louisiana University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 783% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
Southeastern Louisiana University awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 56 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Southeastern Louisiana University | $8,373 | $13,154 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Louisiana (state median) | $9,181 | $11,456 | 48 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Southeastern Louisiana University really?
Key findings
- Southeastern Louisiana University charges 52% above the national public median tuition ($8,373).
- Versus the Louisiana median, sticker tuition is 9% below.
Southeastern Louisiana University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $8,373
Finding Southeastern Louisiana University charges 52% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $8,373. That is 52% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Louisiana median ($9,181), sticker tuition is 9% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 30% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Southeastern Louisiana University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Southeastern Louisiana University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Southeastern Louisiana University is $13,154.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $13,154 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $1,698 above the Louisiana median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $1,817 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Southeastern Louisiana University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Southeastern Louisiana University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Southeastern Louisiana University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$8,373
Out-of-state tuition
$20,851
Avg. net price
$13,154
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $10,507 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $10,309 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $12,380 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $16,672 |
| $110,001+ | $18,184 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $33,492. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Southeastern Louisiana University is known for
Top program completions
- Business Administration and Management, General267
- General Studies223
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse193
- Psychology, General113
- Biology/Biological Sciences, General108
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 45% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1090
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Southeastern Louisiana University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Southeastern Louisiana University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Southeastern Louisiana University.
Campus
Location
Hammond, LA
City / state
- ZIP
- 70402
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 12% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Southeast
- Carnegie
- Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs
Size
Enrollment
9,514
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 16,271
- Graduate
- 1,234
- Full-time share
- 84%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$22,113
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 33.26%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Southeastern Louisiana University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Southeastern Louisiana University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Southeastern Louisiana University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $5,715 | $17,734 | $9,493 |
| 2014 | $6,547 | $19,111 | $10,022 |
| 2015 | $7,280 | $19,758 | $10,254 |
| 2016 | $7,773 | $20,251 | $11,222 |
| 2017 | $8,153 | $20,631 | $12,739 |
| 2018 | $8,165 | $20,643 | $11,910 |
| 2019 | $8,329 | $20,807 | $12,171 |
| 2020 | $8,289 | $20,767 | $12,336 |
| 2021 | $8,289 | $20,767 | $13,269 |
| 2022 | $8,373 | $20,851 | $12,387 |
| 2023 | $8,373 | $20,851 | $12,174 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1090 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Southeastern Louisiana University reported total enrollment of about 9,514 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 39% male and 61% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (65.1%), Black or African American (20.1%), and Hispanic or Latino (6.6%). About 33.26% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 39.9% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
84.2% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Southeastern Louisiana University in 2024 is 9,514 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 16,271 students. Graduate enrollment is about 1,234 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
72.5%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
26.27% 100% Completion Time
45.41% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 26.27% of students graduating from Southeastern Louisiana University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Business Administration and Management, General: 51% male / 49% female
- General Studies: 34% male / 66% female
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 12% male / 88% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Southeastern Louisiana University graduates earn a median of $46,482 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Southeastern Louisiana University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $46,482. Median federal loan debt: $22,113. Average net price used in cost models: $13,154.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Southeastern Louisiana University graduates report median earnings of $46,482 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Southeastern Louisiana University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (56 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Southeastern Louisiana University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Southeastern Louisiana University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Southeastern Louisiana University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$21.7M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Louisiana median 1.3× the median ($16.9M)
- Southeast median 1.1× the median ($19.4M)
- U.S. median 0.82× the median ($26.4M)
- Louisiana median 0.63× the median ($3,294)
- Southeast median 0.22× the median ($9,308)
- U.S. median 0.17× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 80.2%
- Louisiana median 17.0 pp above median (63.2%)
- Southeast median 20.8 pp above median (59.4%)
- U.S. median 22.3 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,315
- Louisiana median 1.1× the median ($6,824)
- Southeast median 1.1× the median ($6,825)
- U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,646
- Louisiana median 1.2× the median ($5,480)
- Southeast median near the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 0.91× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Southeastern Louisiana University at a glance
Southeastern Louisiana University
Southeastern Louisiana University is a public institution in Hammond, LA, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Business Administration and Management, GeneralGeneral StudiesRegistered Nursing/Registered Nurse
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian65.1%Black or African American20.1%Hispanic or Latino6.6%
Schools near Southeastern Louisiana University
Other campuses in Hammond, LA when available, plus nearby institutions in Louisiana.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Louisiana, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Southeastern Louisiana University located?
Southeastern Louisiana University is located in Hammond, LA.
What is Southeastern Louisiana University's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Southeastern Louisiana University is 99.3% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 5,485 applicants and 5,171 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Southeastern Louisiana University's tuition?
Southeastern Louisiana University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $8,373 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $13,154 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Southeastern Louisiana University cost?
Reported tuition is $8,373 and average net price is $13,154 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $10,240 annually.
What explains Southeastern Louisiana University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($13,154), completion (45.4% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($46,482). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Southeastern Louisiana University?
Southeastern Louisiana University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 16,271 students, White (65.1%), Black or African American (20.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Southeastern Louisiana University?
About 39.9% of students at Southeastern Louisiana University are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for Southeastern Louisiana University?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Southeastern Louisiana University reports midpoint SAT about 1090.
What do graduates of Southeastern Louisiana University earn?
Median earnings are $37,124 six years after entry and $46,482 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Southeastern Louisiana University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 45.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Southeastern Louisiana University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $22,113.
Is Southeastern Louisiana University public or private?
Southeastern Louisiana University is a public institution located in Hammond, LA.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.