University of Louisiana at Monroe
Monroe, LA 71209-0000
About University of Louisiana at Monroe
University of Louisiana at Monroe is a public research university in Monroe, Louisiana, serving roughly 5,022 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 84.75% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $46,769 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- University of Louisiana at Monroe charges 67% above the national public median tuition ($9,190).
- Versus the Louisiana median, sticker tuition is at.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 54.20%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $46,769.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at University of Louisiana at Monroe is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 768% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
University of Louisiana at Monroe awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 52 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Louisiana at Monroe | $9,190 | $13,466 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Louisiana (state median) | $9,181 | $11,456 | 48 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is University of Louisiana at Monroe really?
Key findings
- University of Louisiana at Monroe charges 67% above the national public median tuition ($9,190).
- Versus the Louisiana median, sticker tuition is at.
University of Louisiana at Monroe tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $9,190
Finding University of Louisiana at Monroe charges 67% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $9,190. That is 67% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Louisiana median ($9,181), sticker tuition is at. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 23% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at University of Louisiana at Monroe versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at University of Louisiana at Monroe versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at University of Louisiana at Monroe is $13,466.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $13,466 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $2,010 above the Louisiana median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $1,505 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At University of Louisiana at Monroe, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
University of Louisiana at Monroe: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Louisiana at Monroe—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$9,190
Out-of-state tuition
$21,290
Avg. net price
$13,466
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $11,490 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $11,553 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $12,647 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $17,003 |
| $110,001+ | $18,642 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $36,760. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What University of Louisiana at Monroe is known for
Top program completions
- Psychology, General209
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse134
- Exercise Science and Kinesiology99
- Business Administration and Management, General99
- General Studies80
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 29% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1116
- Midpoint ACT: 22
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is University of Louisiana at Monroe a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
University of Louisiana at Monroe is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Louisiana at Monroe.
Campus
Location
Monroe, LA
City / state
- ZIP
- 71209-0000
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 10% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Southeast
- Carnegie
- Doctoral/Professional Universities
Size
Enrollment
5,022
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 7,527
- Graduate
- 1,840
- Full-time share
- 82%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$21,500
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 34.77%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Louisiana at Monroe.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Louisiana at Monroe was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Louisiana at Monroe in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $6,318 | $16,890 | $7,568 |
| 2014 | $6,963 | $19,121 | $8,920 |
| 2015 | $7,658 | $19,758 | $7,859 |
| 2016 | $8,284 | $20,384 | $8,846 |
| 2017 | $8,470 | $20,570 | $11,316 |
| 2018 | $8,554 | $20,654 | $9,361 |
| 2019 | $8,974 | $21,074 | $10,453 |
| 2020 | $9,070 | $21,170 | $10,846 |
| 2021 | $9,058 | $21,158 | $10,950 |
| 2022 | $9,082 | $21,182 | $11,813 |
| 2023 | $9,190 | $21,290 | $11,633 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1116 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 22 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
University of Louisiana at Monroe reported total enrollment of about 5,022 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 36% male and 64% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (55.0%), Black or African American (24.2%), and Non-Resident Alien (8.6%). About 34.77% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 38.0% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
82.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at University of Louisiana at Monroe in 2024 is 5,022 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 7,527 students. Graduate enrollment is about 1,840 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
72.8%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
32.53% 100% Completion Time
54.20% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 32.53% of students graduating from University of Louisiana at Monroe completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Psychology, General: 17% male / 83% female
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 10% male / 90% female
- Exercise Science and Kinesiology: 55% male / 45% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
University of Louisiana at Monroe graduates earn a median of $46,769 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Louisiana at Monroe.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $46,769. Median federal loan debt: $21,500. Average net price used in cost models: $13,466.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway University of Louisiana at Monroe graduates report median earnings of $46,769 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Louisiana at Monroe.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (52 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Louisiana at Monroe.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Louisiana at Monroe graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Louisiana at Monroe—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$38.3M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Louisiana median 2.3× the median ($16.9M)
- Southeast median 2.0× the median ($19.4M)
- U.S. median 1.4× the median ($26.4M)
- Louisiana median 1.8× the median ($3,294)
- Southeast median 0.62× the median ($9,308)
- U.S. median 0.48× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 74.1%
- Louisiana median 10.9 pp above median (63.2%)
- Southeast median 14.7 pp above median (59.4%)
- U.S. median 16.1 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,719
- Louisiana median 1.1× the median ($6,824)
- Southeast median 1.1× the median ($6,825)
- U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $7,459
- Louisiana median 1.4× the median ($5,480)
- Southeast median 1.1× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median near the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
University of Louisiana at Monroe at a glance
University of Louisiana at Monroe
University of Louisiana at Monroe is a public institution in Monroe, LA, classified as Doctoral/Professional Universities.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Psychology, GeneralRegistered Nursing/Registered NurseExercise Science and Kinesiology
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian55.0%Black or African American24.2%Non-Resident Alien8.6%
Schools near University of Louisiana at Monroe
Other campuses in Monroe, LA when available, plus nearby institutions in Louisiana.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Louisiana, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is University of Louisiana at Monroe located?
University of Louisiana at Monroe is located in Monroe, LA.
What is University of Louisiana at Monroe's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at University of Louisiana at Monroe is 84.8% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 4,878 applicants and 3,637 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is University of Louisiana at Monroe's tuition?
University of Louisiana at Monroe tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $9,190 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $13,466 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does University of Louisiana at Monroe cost?
Reported tuition is $9,190 and average net price is $13,466 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $10,554 annually.
What explains University of Louisiana at Monroe's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($13,466), completion (54.2% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($46,769). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at University of Louisiana at Monroe?
University of Louisiana at Monroe reports undergraduate enrollment of about 7,527 students, White (55.0%), Black or African American (24.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend University of Louisiana at Monroe?
About 38.0% of students at University of Louisiana at Monroe are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for University of Louisiana at Monroe?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of Louisiana at Monroe reports midpoint SAT about 1116 and midpoint ACT about 22.
What do graduates of University of Louisiana at Monroe earn?
Median earnings are $40,430 six years after entry and $46,769 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at University of Louisiana at Monroe?
The 150%-time completion rate is 54.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do University of Louisiana at Monroe students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $21,500.
Is University of Louisiana at Monroe public or private?
University of Louisiana at Monroe is a public institution located in Monroe, LA.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.