Active Report Report ID: EDU-160658-2026

University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Lafayette, LA 70503

Acceptance rate87.01%Broad access
Tuition$10,418Published sticker
Avg. net price$13,530After aid
Graduation rate52.63%150% time
Median salary$47,08910yr post-entry

About University of Louisiana at Lafayette

University of Louisiana at Lafayette is a public research university in Lafayette, Louisiana, with about 12,428 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 87.01% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $47,089 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of Louisiana at Lafayette charges about 1.9× the national public median tuition ($10,418).
  • Versus the Louisiana median, sticker tuition is 13% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 52.63%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $47,089.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of Louisiana at Lafayette is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 770% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

University of Louisiana at Lafayette awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 77 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of Louisiana at Lafayette$10,418$13,5301
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Louisiana (state median)$9,181$11,45648
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is University of Louisiana at Lafayette really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of Louisiana at Lafayette charges about 1.9× the national public median tuition ($10,418).
  • Versus the Louisiana median, sticker tuition is 13% above.
Published sticker

University of Louisiana at Lafayette tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $10,418

Finding University of Louisiana at Lafayette charges about 1.9× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $10,418. That is about 1.9× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Louisiana median ($9,181), sticker tuition is 13% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 12% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of Louisiana at Lafayette versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of Louisiana at Lafayette versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of Louisiana at Lafayette is $13,530.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $13,530 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $2,074 above the Louisiana median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $4,518 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At University of Louisiana at Lafayette, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

University of Louisiana at Lafayette: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Louisiana at Lafayette—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$10,418

Out-of-state tuition

$24,146

Avg. net price

$13,530

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$11,157
$30,001–$48,000$11,283
$48,001–$75,000$13,692
$75,001–$110,000$17,079
$110,001+$18,562

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $41,672. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention74.3%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$42,668Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 32% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1219
  • Midpoint ACT: 22

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of Louisiana at Lafayette a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Louisiana at Lafayette is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

Campus

Location

Lafayette, LA

City / state

ZIP
70503
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 25% below the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

12,428

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
14,348
Graduate
2,233
Full-time share
90%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$22,902

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
41.51%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$54,120Estimated 4-year total cost
$13,530Average annual net price (after aid)
$41,6724-year in-state tuition
$96,5844-year out-of-state tuition
$12,108Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,326Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$23,852Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$95,408Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

Financial Aid by Income Level

41.51% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
43.72% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Louisiana at Lafayette was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Louisiana at Lafayette in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$6,192$15,742$8,478
2014$6,872$19,272$8,588
2015$8,256$21,984$9,459
2016$9,450$23,178$10,617
2017$9,888$23,616$12,768
2018$9,912$23,640$11,228
2019$10,382$24,110$12,487
2020$10,358$24,086$13,094
2021$10,346$24,074$12,642
2022$10,382$24,110$13,851
2023$10,418$24,146$14,118

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

87.01%Acceptance rate
10,679Total applicants
9,486Students admitted
3,064First-time students enrolled
32.30%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1219SAT average
22ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.40Estimated median GPA
3.3–3.5Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Louisiana at Lafayette reported total enrollment of about 12,428 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 41% male and 59% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (57.1%), Black or African American (27.3%), and Hispanic or Latino (5.6%). About 41.51% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 38.5% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

90.5% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Louisiana at Lafayette in 2024 is 12,428 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 14,348 students. Graduate enrollment is about 2,233 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

74.3%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

57.1%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian57.1%
  • Black or African American27.3%
  • Hispanic or Latino5.6%
  • Two or More Races4.6%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.1%
  • Asian2.1%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.7%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.4%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

26.85% 100% Completion Time

52.63% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 26.85% of students graduating from University of Louisiana at Lafayette completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business Administration and Management, General: 49% male / 51% female
  • General Studies: 38% male / 62% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 12% male / 88% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,961White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian1,961
  • Black or African American615
  • Hispanic or Latino173
  • Two or More Races90
  • Asian89
  • American Indian or Alaska Native10
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander3

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Louisiana at Lafayette graduates earn a median of $47,089 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $47,089. Median federal loan debt: $22,902. Average net price used in cost models: $13,530.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Louisiana at Lafayette graduates report median earnings of $47,089 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

770%Modeled return on investment
$22,902Median student debt
$47,089Median annual earnings (10 years)
48.64%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.9 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (77 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Physical Education Teaching and Coaching 167
  2. Computer Science 90

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

Employment Outcomes

$47,089Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$42,668Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$44,392Median earnings (8 years after entry)
91.87%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Louisiana at Lafayette graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Louisiana at Lafayette—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$162.7M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $154.7M

Year change: $8M

  • Louisiana median 9.6× the median ($16.9M)
  • Southeast median 8.4× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 6.2× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $12,755

  • Louisiana median 3.9× the median ($3,294)
  • Southeast median 1.4× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 70.6%
    • Louisiana median 7.4 pp above median (63.2%)
    • Southeast median 11.1 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 12.6 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,889
    • Louisiana median 1.3× the median ($6,824)
    • Southeast median 1.3× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,241
    • Louisiana median 1.7× the median ($5,480)
    • Southeast median 1.4× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of Louisiana at Lafayette at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Lafayette, LA 70503 · Public · Southeast

University of Louisiana at Lafayette is a public institution in Lafayette, LA, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.

Tuition$10,418
Avg. net price$13,530
Enrollment12,428
Acceptance rate87.01%
Completion (150%)52.63%
Average SAT1219
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business Administration and Management, GeneralGeneral StudiesRegistered Nursing/Registered Nurse
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian57.1%
Black or African American27.3%
Hispanic or Latino5.6%
Nearby

Schools near University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Other campuses in Lafayette, LA when available, plus nearby institutions in Louisiana.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Louisiana, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Louisiana at Lafayette located?

University of Louisiana at Lafayette is located in Lafayette, LA.

What is University of Louisiana at Lafayette's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of Louisiana at Lafayette is 87.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 10,679 applicants and 9,486 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of Louisiana at Lafayette's tuition?

University of Louisiana at Lafayette tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $10,418 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $13,530 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of Louisiana at Lafayette cost?

Reported tuition is $10,418 and average net price is $13,530 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,108 annually.

What explains University of Louisiana at Lafayette's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($13,530), completion (52.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($47,089). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of Louisiana at Lafayette?

University of Louisiana at Lafayette reports undergraduate enrollment of about 14,348 students, White (57.1%), Black or African American (27.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of Louisiana at Lafayette?

About 38.5% of students at University of Louisiana at Lafayette are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for University of Louisiana at Lafayette?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of Louisiana at Lafayette reports midpoint SAT about 1219 and midpoint ACT about 22.

What do graduates of University of Louisiana at Lafayette earn?

Median earnings are $42,668 six years after entry and $47,089 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Louisiana at Lafayette?

The 150%-time completion rate is 52.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of Louisiana at Lafayette students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $22,902.

Is University of Louisiana at Lafayette public or private?

University of Louisiana at Lafayette is a public institution located in Lafayette, LA.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.