Southern Methodist University
Dallas, TX 75275-0221
About Southern Methodist University
Southern Methodist University is a private research university in Dallas, Texas, serving roughly 7,277 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 63.35% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $78,354 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Southern Methodist University charges about 2.3× the national private non-profit median tuition ($67,040).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 6.7×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 84.27%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $78,354.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Southern Methodist University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 379% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
Southern Methodist University awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 106 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Southern Methodist University | $67,040 | $40,892 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| Texas (state median) | $9,940 | $8,031 | 184 |
| Rural (locale median) | $14,160 | $18,700 | 1,649 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 39% below published tuition at Southern Methodist University
Key findings
- Southern Methodist University's average net price ($40,892) is 39% below published tuition ($67,040).
- Southern Methodist University charges about 2.3× the national private non-profit median tuition ($67,040).
- Versus the Texas median, sticker tuition is about 6.7×.
Southern Methodist University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $67,040
Finding Southern Methodist University charges about 2.3× the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $67,040. That is about 2.3× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Texas median ($9,940), sticker tuition is about 6.7×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 5.6×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Southern Methodist University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Southern Methodist University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Southern Methodist University is $40,892.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $40,892 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $32,861 above the Texas median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $22,192 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway Southern Methodist University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 39% lower after grants and scholarships.
Southern Methodist University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Southern Methodist University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$67,040
Avg. net price
$40,892
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $23,544 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $20,038 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $24,152 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $33,477 |
| $110,001+ | $58,213 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $268,160. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Southern Methodist University is known for
Top program completions
- Management Science551
- Finance, General280
- Law246
- Economics, General180
- Sport and Fitness Administration/Management142
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 17% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1428
- Midpoint ACT: 33
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Southern Methodist University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Southern Methodist University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Southern Methodist University.
Campus
Location
Dallas, TX
City / state
- ZIP
- 75275-0221
- NCES locale
- Rural fringe
Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is about 2.2× the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Southwest
- Carnegie
- Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity
Size
Enrollment
7,277
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 7,692
- Graduate
- 4,831
- Full-time share
- 98%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$19,500
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 12.76%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Southern Methodist University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Southern Methodist University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Southern Methodist University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $43,800 | $43,800 | $30,408 |
| 2014 | $45,940 | $45,940 | $32,128 |
| 2015 | $48,190 | $48,190 | $32,580 |
| 2016 | $50,358 | $50,358 | $32,882 |
| 2017 | $52,498 | $52,498 | $32,190 |
| 2018 | $54,492 | $54,492 | $36,575 |
| 2019 | $56,560 | $56,560 | $36,222 |
| 2020 | $58,540 | $58,540 | $38,208 |
| 2021 | $60,236 | $60,236 | $40,452 |
| 2022 | $61,980 | $61,980 | $40,849 |
| 2023 | $64,460 | $64,460 | $41,778 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1428 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 33 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.80
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Southern Methodist University reported total enrollment of about 7,277 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 49% male and 51% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (56.2%), Hispanic or Latino (17.7%), and Asian (8.3%). About 12.76% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 15.7% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
98.2% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Southern Methodist University in 2024 is 7,277 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 7,692 students. Graduate enrollment is about 4,831 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
90.5%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
76.21% 100% Completion Time
84.27% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 76.21% of students graduating from Southern Methodist University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Management Science: 56% male / 44% female
- Finance, General: 75% male / 25% female
- Law: 43% male / 57% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Southern Methodist University graduates earn a median of $78,354 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Southern Methodist University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $78,354. Median federal loan debt: $19,500. Average net price used in cost models: $40,892.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Southern Methodist University graduates report median earnings of $78,354 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Southern Methodist University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (106 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Southern Methodist University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Southern Methodist University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Southern Methodist University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$2.02B
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Texas median 57× the median ($35.8M)
- Southwest median 87× the median ($23.2M)
- U.S. median 77× the median ($26.4M)
- Texas median 14× the median ($13,085)
- Southwest median 18× the median ($10,113)
- U.S. median 15× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 69.2%
- Texas median 9.1 pp above median (60.1%)
- Southwest median 9.4 pp above median (59.7%)
- U.S. median 11.2 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $14,916
- Texas median 2.1× the median ($7,150)
- Southwest median 2.1× the median ($7,078)
- U.S. median 2.0× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $18,509
- Texas median 3.7× the median ($5,060)
- Southwest median 3.2× the median ($5,699)
- U.S. median 2.5× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Southern Methodist University at a glance
Southern Methodist University
Southern Methodist University is a private non-profit institution in Dallas, TX, classified as Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Management ScienceFinance, GeneralLaw
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian56.2%Hispanic or Latino17.7%Asian8.3%
Schools near Southern Methodist University
Other campuses in Dallas, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Southern Methodist University located?
Southern Methodist University is located in Dallas, TX.
What is Southern Methodist University's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Southern Methodist University is 63.3% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 15,092 applicants and 9,240 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Southern Methodist University's tuition?
Southern Methodist University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $67,040 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $40,892 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Southern Methodist University cost?
Reported tuition is $67,040 and average net price is $40,892 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $19,064 annually.
Why is Southern Methodist University's net price so much lower than tuition?
At Southern Methodist University, published tuition is $67,040 while average net price is $40,892—about 39% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains Southern Methodist University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($40,892), completion (84.3% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($78,354). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Southern Methodist University?
Southern Methodist University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 7,692 students, White (56.2%), Hispanic or Latino (17.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Southern Methodist University?
About 15.7% of students at Southern Methodist University are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for Southern Methodist University?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Southern Methodist University reports midpoint SAT about 1428 and midpoint ACT about 33.
What do graduates of Southern Methodist University earn?
Median earnings are $65,556 six years after entry and $78,354 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Southern Methodist University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 84.3% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Southern Methodist University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $19,500.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.