Active Report Report ID: EDU-102234-2026

Spring Hill College

Mobile, AL 36608-1780

Acceptance rate76.57%Broad access
Tuition$24,054Published sticker
Avg. net price$20,449After aid
Graduation rate52.10%150% time
Median salary$51,50010yr post-entry

About Spring Hill College

Spring Hill College is a private research university in Mobile, Alabama, enrolling about 782 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 76.57% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $51,500 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Spring Hill College charges 18% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($24,054).
  • Versus the Alabama median, sticker tuition is about 2.4×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 52.10%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $51,500.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Spring Hill College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 530% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Spring Hill College$24,054$20,4491
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Alabama (state median)$10,024$10,72163
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 15% below published tuition at Spring Hill College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Spring Hill College's average net price ($20,449) is 15% below published tuition ($24,054).
  • Spring Hill College charges 18% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($24,054).
  • Versus the Alabama median, sticker tuition is about 2.4×.
Published sticker

Spring Hill College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $24,054

Finding Spring Hill College charges 18% below the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $24,054. That is 18% below the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Alabama median ($10,024), sticker tuition is about 2.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 2.0×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Spring Hill College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Spring Hill College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Spring Hill College is $20,449.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $20,449 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $9,728 above the Alabama median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $2,401 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Spring Hill College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 15% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Spring Hill College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Spring Hill College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$24,054

Avg. net price

$20,449

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$15,598
$30,001–$48,000$20,141
$48,001–$75,000$22,317
$75,001–$110,000$20,642
$110,001+$26,240

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $96,216. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention70.2%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$41,358Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 18% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1120
  • Midpoint ACT: 19

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Spring Hill College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Spring Hill College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Spring Hill College.

Campus

Location

Mobile, AL

City / state

ZIP
36608-1780
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 13% above the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions

Size

Enrollment

782

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
848
Graduate
137
Full-time share
97%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$27,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
31.61%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$81,796Estimated 4-year total cost
$20,449Average annual net price (after aid)
$96,2164-year tuition
$13,068Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,300Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$38,422Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$153,688Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Spring Hill College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

31.61% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
43.83% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Spring Hill College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Spring Hill College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$30,924$30,924$18,555
2014$32,468$32,468$19,713
2015$34,092$34,092$9,657
2016$35,794$35,794$5,772
2017$37,584$37,584$21,275
2018$39,464$39,464$19,718
2019$40,648$40,648$22,221
2020$41,868$41,868$22,560
2021$21,100$21,100$20,891
2022$21,732$21,732$19,449
2023$23,270$23,270$19,514

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

76.57%Acceptance rate
2,279Total applicants
1,347Students admitted
249First-time students enrolled
18.49%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1120SAT average
19ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Spring Hill College reported total enrollment of about 782 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 43% male and 57% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (57.0%), Black or African American (13.8%), and Non-Resident Alien (11.1%). About 31.61% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 25.2% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

96.8% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Spring Hill College in 2024 is 782 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 848 students. Graduate enrollment is about 137 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

70.2%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

57.0%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian57.0%
  • Black or African American13.8%
  • Non-Resident Alien11.1%
  • Hispanic or Latino9.7%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown4.7%
  • Two or More Races2.2%
  • Asian0.8%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.6%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

44.66% 100% Completion Time

52.10% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 44.66% of students graduating from Spring Hill College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business Administration and Management, General: 78% male / 22% female
  • Organizational Leadership: 60% male / 40% female
  • Psychology, General: 26% male / 74% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

174White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian174
  • Black or African American37
  • Hispanic or Latino23
  • Asian6
  • Two or More Races3
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Spring Hill College graduates earn a median of $51,500 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Spring Hill College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $51,500. Median federal loan debt: $27,000. Average net price used in cost models: $20,449.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Spring Hill College graduates report median earnings of $51,500 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

530%Modeled return on investment
$27,000Median student debt
$51,500Median annual earnings (10 years)
52.43%Debt-to-earnings ratio
5.2 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Spring Hill College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (34 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Health Professions and Related Programs 19
  2. Communication and Media Studies 12

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Spring Hill College.

Employment Outcomes

$51,500Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$41,358Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$50,757Median earnings (8 years after entry)
92.60%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Spring Hill College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Spring Hill College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$10.9M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $16.6M

Year change: -$5.7M

  • Alabama median 0.76× the median ($14.3M)
  • Southeast median 0.56× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.41× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $10,201

  • Alabama median 1.2× the median ($8,561)
  • Southeast median 1.1× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.84× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 49.2%
    • Alabama median 0.0 pp at median (49.2%)
    • Southeast median 10.2 pp below median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 8.7 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,892
    • Alabama median 1.1× the median ($7,502)
    • Southeast median 1.2× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,493
    • Alabama median 1.3× the median ($7,192)
    • Southeast median 1.4× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Spring Hill College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Spring Hill College

Mobile, AL 36608-1780 · Private Non-profit · Southeast

Spring Hill College is a private non-profit institution in Mobile, AL, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions.

Tuition$24,054
Avg. net price$20,449
Enrollment782
Acceptance rate76.57%
Completion (150%)52.10%
Average SAT1120
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business Administration and Management, GeneralOrganizational LeadershipPsychology, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian57.0%
Black or African American13.8%
Non-Resident Alien11.1%
Nearby

Schools near Spring Hill College

Other campuses in Mobile, AL when available, plus nearby institutions in Alabama.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Alabama, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Spring Hill College located?

Spring Hill College is located in Mobile, AL.

What is Spring Hill College's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Spring Hill College is 76.6% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 2,279 applicants and 1,347 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Spring Hill College's tuition?

Spring Hill College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $24,054 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $20,449 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Spring Hill College cost?

Reported tuition is $24,054 and average net price is $20,449 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $13,068 annually.

Why is Spring Hill College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Spring Hill College, published tuition is $24,054 while average net price is $20,449—about 15% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Spring Hill College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($20,449), completion (52.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($51,500). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Spring Hill College?

Spring Hill College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 848 students, White (57.0%), Black or African American (13.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Spring Hill College?

About 25.2% of students at Spring Hill College are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Spring Hill College?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Spring Hill College reports midpoint SAT about 1120 and midpoint ACT about 19.

What do graduates of Spring Hill College earn?

Median earnings are $41,358 six years after entry and $51,500 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Spring Hill College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 52.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Spring Hill College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $27,000.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.