Active Report Report ID: EDU-101693-2026

University of Mobile

Mobile, AL 36613-2842

Acceptance rate77.89%Broad access
Tuition$26,910Published sticker
Avg. net price$22,382After aid
Graduation rate56.85%150% time
Median salary$43,61110yr post-entry

About University of Mobile

University of Mobile is a private research university in Mobile, Alabama, enrolling about 1,307 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 77.89% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $43,611 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of Mobile charges 8% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($26,910).
  • Versus the Alabama median, sticker tuition is about 2.7×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 56.85%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $43,611.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of Mobile is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 387% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of Mobile$26,910$22,3821
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Alabama (state median)$10,024$10,72163
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 17% below published tuition at University of Mobile

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of Mobile's average net price ($22,382) is 17% below published tuition ($26,910).
  • University of Mobile charges 8% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($26,910).
  • Versus the Alabama median, sticker tuition is about 2.7×.
Published sticker

University of Mobile tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $26,910

Finding University of Mobile charges 8% below the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $26,910. That is 8% below the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Alabama median ($10,024), sticker tuition is about 2.7×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 2.3×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of Mobile versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of Mobile versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of Mobile is $22,382.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $22,382 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $11,661 above the Alabama median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway University of Mobile’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 17% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

University of Mobile: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Mobile—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$26,910

Avg. net price

$22,382

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$17,550
$30,001–$48,000$21,133
$48,001–$75,000$21,633
$75,001–$110,000$24,766
$110,001+$27,447

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $107,640. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention74.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$37,411Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 23% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1220

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of Mobile a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Mobile is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Mobile.

Campus

Location

Mobile, AL

City / state

ZIP
36613-2842

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus

Size

Enrollment

1,307

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,937
Graduate
237
Full-time share
95%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$26,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
25.65%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$89,528Estimated 4-year total cost
$22,382Average annual net price (after aid)
$107,6404-year tuition
$11,328Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,800Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$40,038Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$160,152Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Mobile.

Financial Aid by Income Level

25.65% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
36.79% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Mobile was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Mobile in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$18,690$18,690$17,970
2014$19,475$19,475$19,017
2015$20,470$20,470$19,649
2016$21,400$21,400$18,231
2017$22,210$22,210$19,125
2018$23,230$23,230$14,611
2019$23,860$23,860$17,122
2020$24,310$24,310$23,416
2021$24,855$24,855$18,986
2022$25,880$25,880$18,441
2023$26,120$26,120$19,603

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

77.89%Acceptance rate
1,735Total applicants
1,258Students admitted
288First-time students enrolled
22.89%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1220SAT average

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.40Estimated median GPA
3.3–3.5Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Mobile reported total enrollment of about 1,307 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 39% male and 61% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (53.7%), Race/ethnicity unknown (16.9%), and Black or African American (14.5%). About 25.65% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 32.4% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

95.3% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Mobile in 2024 is 1,307 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,937 students. Graduate enrollment is about 237 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

74.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

53.7%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian53.7%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown16.9%
  • Black or African American14.5%
  • Two or More Races6.0%
  • Hispanic or Latino3.8%
  • Non-Resident Alien2.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1.4%
  • Asian1.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

42.74% 100% Completion Time

56.85% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 42.74% of students graduating from University of Mobile completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business Administration and Management, General: 64% male / 36% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 14% male / 86% female
  • Exercise Science and Kinesiology: 36% male / 64% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

175White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian175
  • Black or African American47
  • Two or More Races9
  • American Indian or Alaska Native8
  • Asian4
  • Hispanic or Latino3
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Mobile graduates earn a median of $43,611 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Mobile.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $43,611. Median federal loan debt: $26,500. Average net price used in cost models: $22,382.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Mobile graduates report median earnings of $43,611 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

387%Modeled return on investment
$26,500Median student debt
$43,611Median annual earnings (10 years)
60.76%Debt-to-earnings ratio
6.1 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Mobile.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (47 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Early Childhood Education & Teaching 15
  2. Religious/Sacred Music 12

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Mobile.

Employment Outcomes

$43,611Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$37,411Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$41,687Median earnings (8 years after entry)
91.54%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Mobile graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Mobile—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$23.8M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $22.1M

Year change: $1.8M

  • Alabama median 1.7× the median ($14.3M)
  • Southeast median 1.2× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.90× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $18,063

  • Alabama median 2.1× the median ($8,561)
  • Southeast median 1.9× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 1.5× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Alabama median 50.8 pp above median (49.2%)
    • Southeast median 40.6 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,674
    • Alabama median 0.76× the median ($7,502)
    • Southeast median 0.83× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.75× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,091
    • Alabama median 1.1× the median ($7,192)
    • Southeast median 1.2× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of Mobile at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Mobile

Mobile, AL 36613-2842 · Private Non-profit · Southeast

University of Mobile is a private non-profit institution in Mobile, AL, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus.

Tuition$26,910
Avg. net price$22,382
Enrollment1,307
Acceptance rate77.89%
Completion (150%)56.85%
Average SAT1220
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business Administration and Management, GeneralRegistered Nursing/Registered NurseExercise Science and Kinesiology
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian53.7%
Race/ethnicity unknown16.9%
Black or African American14.5%
Nearby

Schools near University of Mobile

Other campuses in Mobile, AL when available, plus nearby institutions in Alabama.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Alabama, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Mobile located?

University of Mobile is located in Mobile, AL.

What is University of Mobile's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of Mobile is 77.9% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1,735 applicants and 1,258 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of Mobile's tuition?

University of Mobile tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $26,910 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $22,382 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of Mobile cost?

Reported tuition is $26,910 and average net price is $22,382 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $11,328 annually.

Why is University of Mobile's net price so much lower than tuition?

At University of Mobile, published tuition is $26,910 while average net price is $22,382—about 17% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains University of Mobile's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($22,382), completion (56.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($43,611). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of Mobile?

University of Mobile reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,937 students, White (53.7%), Race/ethnicity unknown (16.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of Mobile?

About 32.4% of students at University of Mobile are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for University of Mobile?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of Mobile reports midpoint SAT about 1220.

What do graduates of University of Mobile earn?

Median earnings are $37,411 six years after entry and $43,611 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Mobile?

The 150%-time completion rate is 56.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of Mobile students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $26,500.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.