Active Report Report ID: EDU-196176-2026

State University of New York at New Paltz

New Paltz, NY 12561-2443

Acceptance rate61.61%Broad access
Tuition$8,572Published sticker
Avg. net price$18,809After aid
Graduation rate71.60%150% time
Median salary$58,07310yr post-entry

About State University of New York at New Paltz

State University of New York at New Paltz is a public research university in New Paltz, New York, serving roughly 6,086 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 61.61% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $58,073 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • State University of New York at New Paltz charges 56% above the national public median tuition ($8,572).
  • Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is 38% below.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 71.60%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $58,073.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at State University of New York at New Paltz is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 672% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

State University of New York at New Paltz awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 80 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
State University of New York at New Paltz$8,572$18,8091
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
New York (state median)$13,810$9,373272
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is State University of New York at New Paltz really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • State University of New York at New Paltz charges 56% above the national public median tuition ($8,572).
  • Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is 38% below.
Published sticker

State University of New York at New Paltz tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $8,572

Finding State University of New York at New Paltz charges 56% above the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $8,572. That is 56% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the New York median ($13,810), sticker tuition is 38% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 28% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at State University of New York at New Paltz versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at State University of New York at New Paltz versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at State University of New York at New Paltz is $18,809.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $18,809 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $9,436 above the New York median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $3,838 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At State University of New York at New Paltz, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

State University of New York at New Paltz: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for State University of New York at New Paltz—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$8,572

Out-of-state tuition

$18,822

Avg. net price

$18,809

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$10,541
$30,001–$48,000$13,969
$48,001–$75,000$20,178
$75,001–$110,000$21,937
$110,001+$26,256

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $34,288. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention85.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$45,555Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 12% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1265
  • Midpoint ACT: 27

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is State University of New York at New Paltz a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

State University of New York at New Paltz is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for State University of New York at New Paltz.

Campus

Location

New Paltz, NY

City / state

ZIP
12561-2443
NCES locale
Town fringe

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 26% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Mid East
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs

Size

Enrollment

6,086

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
7,751
Graduate
1,036
Full-time share
92%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$18,750

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
31.90%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$75,236Estimated 4-year total cost
$18,809Average annual net price (after aid)
$34,2884-year in-state tuition
$75,2884-year out-of-state tuition
$16,684Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,250Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$26,506Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$106,024Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for State University of New York at New Paltz.

Financial Aid by Income Level

31.90% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
42.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at State University of New York at New Paltz was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for State University of New York at New Paltz in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$7,083$16,533$15,457
2014$7,418$17,068$16,353
2015$7,737$17,587$16,599
2016$7,754$17,604$16,333
2017$7,775$17,625$16,192
2018$8,254$18,034$17,111
2019$8,502$18,412$17,171
2020$8,416$18,326$17,123
2021$8,523$18,433$16,664
2022$8,524$18,434$18,358
2023$8,524$18,434$18,481

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

61.61%Acceptance rate
16,249Total applicants
9,538Students admitted
1,119First-time students enrolled
11.73%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1265SAT average
27ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.40Estimated median GPA
3.3–3.5Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

State University of New York at New Paltz reported total enrollment of about 6,086 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 37% male and 63% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (58.2%), Hispanic or Latino (23.6%), and Black or African American (6.8%). About 31.90% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 31.7% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

92.3% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at State University of New York at New Paltz in 2024 is 6,086 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 7,751 students. Graduate enrollment is about 1,036 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

85.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

58.2%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian58.2%
  • Hispanic or Latino23.6%
  • Black or African American6.8%
  • Asian4.6%
  • Two or More Races2.9%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.7%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

58.10% 100% Completion Time

71.60% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 58.10% of students graduating from State University of New York at New Paltz completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Psychology, General: 16% male / 84% female
  • Elementary Education and Teaching: 12% male / 88% female
  • Computer and Information Sciences, General: 64% male / 36% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,227White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian1,227
  • Hispanic or Latino401
  • Black or African American105
  • Asian79
  • Two or More Races61
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

State University of New York at New Paltz graduates earn a median of $58,073 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of State University of New York at New Paltz.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $58,073. Median federal loan debt: $18,750. Average net price used in cost models: $18,809.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway State University of New York at New Paltz graduates report median earnings of $58,073 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

672%Modeled return on investment
$18,750Median student debt
$58,073Median annual earnings (10 years)
32.29%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.2 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for State University of New York at New Paltz.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (80 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. English Language and Literature, General 98
  2. Accounting 59

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at State University of New York at New Paltz.

Employment Outcomes

$58,073Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$45,555Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$53,453Median earnings (8 years after entry)
42.22%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for State University of New York at New Paltz graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for State University of New York at New Paltz—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$33.4M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $30.1M

Year change: $3.4M

  • New York median 0.88× the median ($38.1M)
  • Mid East median 0.78× the median ($42.6M)
  • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $5,027

  • New York median 0.33× the median ($15,424)
  • Mid East median 0.31× the median ($16,427)
  • U.S. median 0.42× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 48.6%
    • New York median 5.2 pp below median (53.8%)
    • Mid East median 8.3 pp below median (56.9%)
    • U.S. median 9.4 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,406
    • New York median near the median ($8,068)
    • Mid East median near the median ($8,119)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $13,655
    • New York median 1.3× the median ($10,822)
    • Mid East median 1.5× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 1.9× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

State University of New York at New Paltz at a glance

Institution snapshot

State University of New York at New Paltz

New Paltz, NY 12561-2443 · Public · Mid East

State University of New York at New Paltz is a public institution in New Paltz, NY, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.

Tuition$8,572
Avg. net price$18,809
Enrollment6,086
Acceptance rate61.61%
Completion (150%)71.60%
Average SAT1265
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Psychology, GeneralElementary Education and TeachingComputer and Information Sciences, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian58.2%
Hispanic or Latino23.6%
Black or African American6.8%
Nearby

Schools near State University of New York at New Paltz

Other campuses in New Paltz, NY when available, plus nearby institutions in New York.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within New York, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is State University of New York at New Paltz located?

State University of New York at New Paltz is located in New Paltz, NY.

What is State University of New York at New Paltz's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at State University of New York at New Paltz is 61.6% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 16,249 applicants and 9,538 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is State University of New York at New Paltz's tuition?

State University of New York at New Paltz tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $8,572 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $18,809 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does State University of New York at New Paltz cost?

Reported tuition is $8,572 and average net price is $18,809 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $16,684 annually.

What explains State University of New York at New Paltz's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($18,809), completion (71.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($58,073). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at State University of New York at New Paltz?

State University of New York at New Paltz reports undergraduate enrollment of about 7,751 students, White (58.2%), Hispanic or Latino (23.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend State University of New York at New Paltz?

About 31.7% of students at State University of New York at New Paltz are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for State University of New York at New Paltz?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, State University of New York at New Paltz reports midpoint SAT about 1265 and midpoint ACT about 27.

What do graduates of State University of New York at New Paltz earn?

Median earnings are $45,555 six years after entry and $58,073 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at State University of New York at New Paltz?

The 150%-time completion rate is 71.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do State University of New York at New Paltz students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $18,750.

Is State University of New York at New Paltz public or private?

State University of New York at New Paltz is a public institution located in New Paltz, NY.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.